We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and extremely nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and extremely nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Got a clean, big room - were upgraded to a superior room. The receptionist were very welcoming and informed very well about the hotel.
Large breakfast buffe with everything you need and good strong coffee.
Central location in Tromsø, I will be staying here the next time I am in Tromsø

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    153
    47
    27
    12
See reviews for
48
192
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotels in Tromso seem much of a muchness in terms of price and room quality. Unfortunatly you're not going to get a boutique hotel 400 km north of the Arctic Circle so its a case of the best of an average bunch. The rooms are nothing special but their modern, clean and functional. What sets this hotel apart from its competitors is the roof top facilities. We spent the first night chasing the auora and then explored the town and did the various attractions the next day, by the afternoon we were pretty exhausted, so we headed to the roof and had a suana followed by the hot tub. It was incredible. It was just my wife and I and we spent an hour and a half by our selves just staring at the view, relaxing and enjoying being hot in the cold.

The other special needs to go to the front desk staff. I've been pretty fustrated in general with the quality of hotel staff across scandanavia but the front desk staff we had at the hotel were wonderful, in particular Victoria who went to special efforts to help us try and locate something we'd lost at Oslo Airport. Her boss seemed to think she was spending too long helping us and told her to move on, but we appreciated how genuine and lovely she was.

Don't be decived by their website, based on the location and buildings around only a small number of rooms can physically get a view over the water, so I would say don't expect to get a view but enjoy it over breakfast and from the rooftop.

Location is excellent, right next to everything. Breakfast was also pretty good.

If you're coming to Tromso I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location - right at the harbour of Tromsø - and the quite stylish harbour, and the very, very good breakfast buffet is not matched by the quality of the rooms, which is average and in need of some updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked online for the family room in Clarion Hotel With next door. Because of the ongoing renovation the lift is not operating. We are unable to accept it because my father with weak knee cannot climb 6 floors so many times a day. So the reception lady is very good and help us to secure a room in Clarion Hotel Bryggen, but we got just have a standard room with extra bed. That is fine for us as Bryggen is actually more expensive than With and we still get to pay same price as With. The reception Ms. Rikke is very helpful with our check-in and explaining the facilities of the hotel and our entitled meals etc. She even help us to bring the extra bed to us and brought us the shower towel very fast when we requested for it. Double thumb up for their service. The room is very clean, there are even a kettle in the room where so far we do not get during this holidays trip in Denmark and Norway.

Room Tip: ask for room near to quayside so that you might get better open view . ours is quite near to road so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Room was adequate, nothing special though. The hot tub on the top floor balcony was great. The receptionist when we stayed was very nice and helpful with ideas of where to eat and what to do. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Clarion Bryggen is a 4 star hotel in a nice position close to the small harbour of Tromso.
It is a modern structure not too impressive as design but functional, clean and with a good level of service. It seems more oriented to business customers than tourists.
The rooms are as usual different, the standard ones could be small, we asked for a bigger room given the forced transfer from the near hotel of the same chain (Clarion collection) where we had some problems. So the room was a bit bigger but frankly speaking not so appealing. Simply ok.
Breakfast has been on the expected level. I have appreciated the sauna and gym on the roof with a small outside hydropool looking at the beatiful bay of Tromso.
At the end we found this choice surely ok also if for the level of price we expected something better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

our view wasn't so great but after flying half way around the world it was fine. The beds were comfy, the water pressure in the shower was great as was the temperature. We enjoyed the central location and ease of access to the ferry and other parts of town and breakfast was fine with a wide selection

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Address: Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tromso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#7 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.