We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Keeping in mind hotels in Norway are expensive, this is pretty good value for the money. The room was spacious and clean, a bit noisy in the night though but it's in the middle of the city. Location is perfect except that you have to pay for parking and arriving late might mean that you have to look for a parking space somewhere else in the city.
The jacuzzi on the top deck is lovely and the view from the sauna as well!

The breakfast is one of the best!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    117
    41
    23
    10
See reviews for
25
144
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On the internet , they offer free bikes : this is no longer so. They have a central position in Tromso, but: no view offered at all from their rooms. You look on parking spots or worse.. Rooms are clean, but beds are much too soft . Food is regular. Nice wirhlpool on 5th floor, as is the sauna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed there with 9 colleagues for a weekend. It was in general good, as you might expect. They have conference rooms, and even a nice pool outside on the roof. The service at the reception was at time a bit slow (in every way), but it did not ruin our experience. The rooms where clean, it's central and the gym was good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, it's right next to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ended up in this hotel after an earlier reservation was canceled. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast was superb. There was also a laptop in the lobby with internet access we could use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froideville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very nice and friendly hotel with a jacuzzi on the top of the building with some fresh snow to cool down after the sauna. Relaxing, for sure.
Nice clean and large rooms.
Superb breakfast with a lot of fish dishes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed one night and wish I could have stayed more!

Beautiful hotel in a fascinating part of Norway. Great location on the docks facing the bay and mountains overlooking Tromso. Just a min stroll from city center, main strip and restaurants.

Hotel is clean with spacious rooms and quality service.

Beautiful jacuzzi in the top floor if you want to try the experience of bathing at -12'C!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this hotel about a month ago. We lost a full day due to delays in flights on the way there, and then our luggage was lost by the airline and finally we got notified that there were issues with our flight back. Because of this, we needed to spend a lot of time on the front desk phone.
The staff could not have been any more understanding or patient. They helped us in any way they possibly could. I know that I would have been annoyed by our constant needs and requests, and they were always so nice to us. They even helped us out finding restaurants and making reservations, hooked us up with taxis, and loaned us an outlet adapter when ours wasn't working!
There was a particular front desk clerk- I believe she had blond hair, that dealt with us the most and was just so wonderful- I wish I remembered her name. But she was there every day.
The roof hot tub was amazing. The rooms were great..The free breakfast was to die for...The location even better. everything was fabulous!
A trip that started out horrible turned out to be amazing and I definitely think the hotel/staff contributed to the turn-around!
Thank you all so much for your services!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Address: Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.