We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice jacuzzi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Froideville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice jacuzzi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very nice and friendly hotel with a jacuzzi on the top of the building with some fresh snow to cool down after the sauna. Relaxing, for sure.
Nice clean and large rooms.
Superb breakfast with a lot of fish dishes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kromega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed one night and wish I could have stayed more!

Beautiful hotel in a fascinating part of Norway. Great location on the docks facing the bay and mountains overlooking Tromso. Just a min stroll from city center, main strip and restaurants.

Hotel is clean with spacious rooms and quality service.

Beautiful jacuzzi in the top floor if you want to try the experience of bathing at -12'C!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this hotel about a month ago. We lost a full day due to delays in flights on the way there, and then our luggage was lost by the airline and finally we got notified that there were issues with our flight back. Because of this, we needed to spend a lot of time on the front desk phone.
The staff could not have been any more understanding or patient. They helped us in any way they possibly could. I know that I would have been annoyed by our constant needs and requests, and they were always so nice to us. They even helped us out finding restaurants and making reservations, hooked us up with taxis, and loaned us an outlet adapter when ours wasn't working!
There was a particular front desk clerk- I believe she had blond hair, that dealt with us the most and was just so wonderful- I wish I remembered her name. But she was there every day.
The roof hot tub was amazing. The rooms were great..The free breakfast was to die for...The location even better. everything was fabulous!
A trip that started out horrible turned out to be amazing and I definitely think the hotel/staff contributed to the turn-around!
Thank you all so much for your services!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittV4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We originally booked hotel With but when we checked in the staff said hotel was full and transferred us to Bryggen (right next to With). Turned out Bryggen was also a great hotel!

Breakfast at Bryggen was very good. Lots of choices. Great quality. Our crowd was more business people so it was not as crowded and busy like With (our restaurant overlooked hotel With's restaurant). We did enjoy late afternoon pancake at hotel With though. That's a wonderful treat!

Staff at Bryggen were very friendly and helpful. My friend broke her shoe and asked the frontdesk staff where to buy shoes. The staff not only gave her very good tips (like which shops are on sale, etc) he even offered to glue her shoe for her! We were very impressed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We got an upgrade and stayed 3 nights in a wonderfull suite with the harbour just outside the window. Exellent breakfast an helpfull staff. Tromsø is a small town, so the hotell is in walkingdistance srum everything. Shuttlebus to the airport are just 100m from the entrance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finn009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here before and after our ski sail charter with boreal yachting. Chose this location because it has rooms with large decks right on the water. There are only four of these rooms though. So ask for 101, 201, 301, or 401 if you want one. Simply can't beat the view from them. Hot tub is directly above 401 so noise from that could bother some. Nice decor and excellent service. They didn't charge us for a missed night due to connection issue in Oslo. Breakfast was nicely done too. This location really can't get any better for this cute town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPGwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night after disembarking from our Hurtigruten trip, the hotel is a short (300m) walk from the dock and we were made very welcome. The room was comfortable, warm and had both a bath and shower. We opened the window overlooking the street and were amazed to see the Northern lights overhead, hastily got dressed and went out for a walk round, and spent a couple of hours going oooh and aaahh and getting a stiff neck looking up at the sky, very good.
Slept soundly and enjoyed a very good breakfast with excellent coffee before our transfer to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corleyweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for rating us. We are really pleased you enjoyed yor stay and hope to welcome you back next time in Tromsø!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 19 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#7 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#11 of 19 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Address: Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing