We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central and comfortable accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Tromso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Tromso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 50, Tromso 9000, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very central and comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This has more of a hostel feel to it than a hotel. Its basic but very comfortable, warm and has everything you need for a B&B - specially if all you want is a comfortable bed. Its in the heart of Tromso, within 5 mnutes walk to all the meeting points for your excursions. Only downside is it doesnt have tea/coffee facilities within the rooms - but in the lobby. Minor inconvenience - otherwise a very comfortable and warm stay.

Note: I would strongly suggest you check the weather predictions before travelling to see the northern lights - they say you can see it between Sept & March, but its best to check the forecast and the Kp index of solar activity (ranges from 0 -9) anything above 4 is best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    77
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
54
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We made our reservation for five nights at the Thon Hotel Tromso over the internet on the understanding that a free Northern Lights Tour would be included. There was mention of booking by phone or email which we missed but there was no mention that "booking of the tour has to be made before arrival". Naturally we thought that we could just turn up and arrange the tour, afterall we were staying for five nights and we could check the weather first hand. Upon checking in on Friday and all up to Sunday nothing could be done because they had to consult the Manager. On Monday we checked with the receptionist and was told that we had to book beforehand. All this time the Manager was in the office but did not come to talk to us. We are very disappointed with the customer service. We think the hotel could have been courteous and kind to at least "offer to try and ring up to check the availability of a tour". The Management could have done better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us.

On our web page we have different offers, and one of them is a Northern Lights package with an included trip to see the Northern Lights. This package must be ordered directly with the hotel, either by email or telephone.

I can assure that your experience with us is not representative of the general guest experience at Thon Tromsø, and it will be brought up with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is just between average and very good - and I gave it very good because of the location.

Although I only stayed for one night, my experience of the hotel was positive. The staff in polite and the rooms are clean. But it was a tad on the expensive side when I was there, but that might have something to do that all hotels in the city was full and I made a late booking.

To summarize - what you would expect, nothing more, nothing less with a nice location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø, and for taking time to comment on your stay with us.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Thon Hotel Tromsø is centrally located, the rooms are new and nicely furnished and it is clean and comfortable. Unfortunately it does not have the fabulous view that some hotels by the sea have, and the rooms are quite small. However it is fine for spending the night and exploring Tromsø by day. The bathroom and shower were quite nice with enough space, and the breakfast was good as usual for a Thon hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and stayed here from 3/4/14 to 5/4/14. The hotel is very central and getting to and from the airport is a breeze.
Reception is very friendly. There is no concierge and switchboard. The receptionist handles everything.
There is no dining facility this time of year except breakfast. Breakfast starts at 7am. If you have an early flight to catch you have to ask for packed breakfast a day before. We were not told of this when we checked in even when we told the receptionist about our early flight.
No one answered the phone when we called from our room. We had to come to reception to tell them what we wanted.
Room comfortably heated but timber floor was dusty. The maids may not have cleaned the floor before we checked in.
No coffee making facilities in the room.
Very little tourist information from receptionist that checked us in. There was not even a map. Asked us to get it from another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We received a warm welcome from the staff at the front counter both times that we checked in (once was just before midnight). The guys are also very willing to help with directions and information on what to see in town - whipping out maps and giving us easy to understand directions. It was great that they spoke English too. There is also a safe place to store luggage - a facility that we were very thankful for.
The hotel is central and easy to find - one block from the bus that goes to the airport and a 5 minute walk down to the quay (if you're going out on the ships).
We made good use of the free tea & coffee in the lobby in between our visits into town.
The breakfast offered up by Pekka (apologies if the spelling is incorrect) is legendary. You will not go hungry - no matter how fussy you are. I can't remember ever seeing a breakfast spread that good. He also spends time chatting to the guests at breakfast, so there was a nice personal touch and not the impersonal feel of a big hotel.
The room was neat and spotless. The only thing we would have wanted to have in our room, would be a kettle.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear traveler,
We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff.

PS! Your spelling is correct:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Thon Hotel is very central and easy to find when arriving by Airport Bus (get off at the second stop, cross the road, go up the hill & turn right). The Hotel was very clean and the buffet breakfast very good and varied. Free tea & coffee is available in the foyer. Our room was well equipped but the bathroom was basic. This Hotel is reasonably priced for Tromso.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Gronnegata 50, Tromso 9000, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.