We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean & Well Run Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Tromso

Save Saved
You added Thon Hotel Tromso to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thon Hotel Tromso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 50, Tromso 9000, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Clean & Well Run Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from September 25th to 30th 2013. We found this to be a nice hotel. Typical of most European hotels with small rooms, but the bathroom was very large compared to the main room. Breakfast is excellent with good variety of hot and cold meals. The idea of having a coffee machine in the lobby is a great one and we used this quite a lot. Overall I rank this a 4 star hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again also I would recommend it to others. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were lucky to get a room on the 6th floor with a balcony and a reasonable view. The location is great and within walking distance of everything in Tromso.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with everyone here and we hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
50
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gjovik, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Located just outside the cozy centre of Tromsø (2 minutes walk and you're in the middle of the city), the hotel is just another modern, comfortable hotel. You sleep well, breakfast is OK and it's where you need it. The only thing you see through the windows is the other Thon hotel across the street.

Though there is nothing romantic or special about it, it's cheap, central and clean. Pleasant staff and pleasant city/town. I'll probably staying here again if I'm going here for work, but for waking up to a panorama of the ocean you'll have to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you go during one of the festivals, try to get high up in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. We hope you will consider coming back to Tromsø and Thon Hotel Tromsø in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The lobby of the hotel might seem a bit small, as is the puclic area of the hotel,
but that's just about the only downside I can think of about this hotel.
-Rooms are modern and well equiped.
-Wifi worked perfectly there.
-Two quick elevators.
-Nice restaurant.
-Location right in the centre of Tromsø (OK that's not so hard...)
-Very friendly staff behind the desk and in the restaurant, fluent in English.
-Good breakfast.
A place I can wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

June during the Tromso Marathon will be the 4th time I have stayed at the Thon in Tromso for the race; the rooms are immaculate, the bed is most comfortable, the high-tech elevators are wonderful to use, the staff is ever-helpful and the buffet breakfast is outstanding. A very clean, well-designed and new hotel just two blocks from the start of the Midnight Sun Marathon; it is my top choice for staying in Tromso. I don't know why anyone would need a restaurant in the hotel; there is one directly across the street and several more in the heart of town, along with coffee shops, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your visit to Tromsø and Midnight Sun Maraton.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

See you soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Northern Lights trip organised by Discover the World. The hotel was easy to find (the airport transfer bus stopped close by) and the room was comfortable. Complimentary tea and coffee was available in the lobby and the hotel was close enough to local attractions to be able to pop back for a warm drink (it snowed while we were there). A highlight was the herring selection on the breakfast buffet - lots of different marinades, smoked and un-smoked. Definitely worth trying! We enjoyed our stay at the Thon Hotel and would stay here again if ever back in Tromso. NB There is another Thon Hotel on the opposite side of the road,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service, breakfast and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I travel a lot around Norway in my job, and when you do so, you definately apreciate the hotel being nice, clean and with a good location. Thon Hotel Tromsø has all does things, and it also has a very tasty breakfast with many healthy choices. I can recommend this hotel to everybody that is travelling to Tromsø, for business or pleasure. Single, couple, friends or families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You for Your positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that You enjoyed so many aspects of Your stay, and hope
You will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gail2803
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Situated on one of the main streets, though Tromso is small and easy to get round.
Modern and well finished hotel, though I expected the room to be a little larger as there wasn't much luggage space.
Complimentary coffee in reception and free wifi in your room.
The breakfast was very good - excellent choice, including waffles!
I was tempted initially to book a hotel by the harbour, but as it was snowing, visibility was poor so I wouldn't have benefitted from this and saved money by booking the Thon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast.

We hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thon Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Gronnegata 50, Tromso 9000, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Tromso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;