We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a good choice to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Living Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Living Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
City Living Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
1 review
“Really a good choice to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, we wanted to stay only two nights, but the cooking facilities and the room we had was so nice that we stayed for three more days.
We are very happy and it was all very clean.
The people were always friendly and we got a good price.
If we are in Tromso we will definitely come again.

So all highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you very much for kind feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying here :-) Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    106
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
40
127
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

No fuss, easy-in, easy-out place to stay in Tromso.
We had been debating staying at a hotel down by the water or this apartment-style accommodation and were so glad we chose City Living. Clean, well-appointed apartment. Wi-fi worked fine for us. The front desk was super helpful and helped us book a tour after doing the legwork and really trying to give us the best experience possible.
There's 3 different grocery stores near the hotel, so stocking the fridge and cooking our meals was a cinch. And also helped us stay on budget. And also was handy because we were so messed up with jet lag and the winter darkness. And also because many places were closed for winter holidays or had very limited hours. Bottom line: yay for the kitchen!
The hotel is just a short walk around the corner and a block away from where the airport bus drops off. Tromso is so compact that things aren't that really that far away on foot, but fyi, the location is more up the sloping hill the town sits on v. down by the water, if that matters to you. The hotel was full and even with that, it was quiet. We were in an inner room v. street side, so perhaps that makes the difference?
Would stay here again were we to do the coastal cruise. Which we want to now do!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest from San Diego. Thank you very much for kind and informative feedback - we appreciate that! Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It's hard to give an overall rating. We had a great corner fourth floor apartment. A bedroom and a living room with kitchen. Immaculately clean. Price was right The furniture and bed very comfortable. We didn't cook but the kitchen was quite adequately outfitted for those who want to do so. The bathroom was up to date, clean and not cramped. The people on the front desk were particularly nice and helpful. All of that would lead to a 5+ rating. The downside was the noise from the street. We were in Tromso during a heat wave. We had to leave the windows open at night. The noise was pretty constant; thus, my 4 rating. The moral of the story: if you don't have to leave the windows open or you are comfortable with ear plugs as I am (it was my wife whom the noise disturbed), City Living is an excellent choice. If not, you may want to give it a second thought...but then you will also have to stay outside the city center which was very convenient. A final note-when I say heat wave, I mean the temp was one of the highest ever recorded in Tromso so I suppose it is unlikely you would experience the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guests from Maryland. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are happy to read that you had a good stay, and we are glad to receive your feedback about the minuses. If we shall have another heat wave like we did this summer, we will definately offer fans for all rooms, so the windows can be closed at night. Thank you again and welcome back! Best, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troms, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

All was fine, Kitchen could be better equipped. There should be a coffee maker and a toaster as standard inclusions in every room.
Very helpful and pleasant staff.
Free laundry facilities were very welcome.

Room Tip: Get an inside room or at least not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you for kind feedback! We have got toasters and coffee machines for rooms to borrow, we are sorry you did not get this info. We hope you will return someday! Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed staying in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014 catching the last of the constant sun days of this summer. The place is affordable and the room is nice.

Affordable but they provide no breakfast or clean and tidy your room so not optimal. Otherwise, we were arriving late so the receptionist stayed and waited for us 90 minutes beyond the reception 22h00 closing time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that! City Living offers rooms with low prices on behalf of reduced service, this means that the reception is closed at night and the rooms are cleaned once a week if staying 7 days or more. Towels etc is free of charge and guest can get these whenever they want. We hope you will return to City Living and Tromsø by later occasion :) Best regards, City Living Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had pleasent and very comfortable stay at city living.
Co-operative staff.
Our stay was during FIFA world cup
They had asked to predict for winning teams with exact no.s of goal scores.
We got refund of the said amount ,after coming back from vacation,as my son's prediction was perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest from India. Thank you so much for positive feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Helpful staff, great room and amenities, service, and location. Supermarket one block away.

But ridiculously slow WiFi. Complete all critical time-sensitive online tasks before arriving. I was also unable to darken room in July which affected my sleep cycle. I was told better blackout blinds/drapes are coming. Otherwise, except for the WiFi and daylight in the room all 'night' long, I really like this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 509 was excellent, except for my reservations noted above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you for informative feedback, we appreciate your opinion. We have not experienced slow wifi before so we are very sorry you had to experience this during your stay. We will make sure this does not happen again, the wifi shall be stabile and fast. Welcome back if returning to Tromsø! Best regards, City Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Living Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Hotel & Apartments

Address: Gronnegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. City Living is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Living Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Living Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.