We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space a five; street noise a two or three” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Living Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added City Living Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
City Living Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Space a five; street noise a two or three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It's hard to give an overall rating. We had a great corner fourth floor apartment. A bedroom and a living room with kitchen. Immaculately clean. Price was right The furniture and bed very comfortable. We didn't cook but the kitchen was quite adequately outfitted for those who want to do so. The bathroom was up to date, clean and not cramped. The people on the front desk were particularly nice and helpful. All of that would lead to a 5+ rating. The downside was the noise from the street. We were in Tromso during a heat wave. We had to leave the windows open at night. The noise was pretty constant; thus, my 4 rating. The moral of the story: if you don't have to leave the windows open or you are comfortable with ear plugs as I am (it was my wife whom the noise disturbed), City Living is an excellent choice. If not, you may want to give it a second thought...but then you will also have to stay outside the city center which was very convenient. A final note-when I say heat wave, I mean the temp was one of the highest ever recorded in Tromso so I suppose it is unlikely you would experience the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guests from Maryland. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are happy to read that you had a good stay, and we are glad to receive your feedback about the minuses. If we shall have another heat wave like we did this summer, we will definately offer fans for all rooms, so the windows can be closed at night. Thank you again and welcome back! Best, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    135
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
152
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troms, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

All was fine, Kitchen could be better equipped. There should be a coffee maker and a toaster as standard inclusions in every room.
Very helpful and pleasant staff.
Free laundry facilities were very welcome.

Room Tip: Get an inside room or at least not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you for kind feedback! We have got toasters and coffee machines for rooms to borrow, we are sorry you did not get this info. We hope you will return someday! Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed staying in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014 catching the last of the constant sun days of this summer. The place is affordable and the room is nice.

Affordable but they provide no breakfast or clean and tidy your room so not optimal. Otherwise, we were arriving late so the receptionist stayed and waited for us 90 minutes beyond the reception 22h00 closing time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that! City Living offers rooms with low prices on behalf of reduced service, this means that the reception is closed at night and the rooms are cleaned once a week if staying 7 days or more. Towels etc is free of charge and guest can get these whenever they want. We hope you will return to City Living and Tromsø by later occasion :) Best regards, City Living Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had pleasent and very comfortable stay at city living.
Co-operative staff.
Our stay was during FIFA world cup
They had asked to predict for winning teams with exact no.s of goal scores.
We got refund of the said amount ,after coming back from vacation,as my son's prediction was perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest from India. Thank you so much for positive feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Helpful staff, great room and amenities, service, and location. Supermarket one block away.

But ridiculously slow WiFi. Complete all critical time-sensitive online tasks before arriving. I was also unable to darken room in July which affected my sleep cycle. I was told better blackout blinds/drapes are coming. Otherwise, except for the WiFi and daylight in the room all 'night' long, I really like this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 509 was excellent, except for my reservations noted above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller. Thank you for informative feedback, we appreciate your opinion. We have not experienced slow wifi before so we are very sorry you had to experience this during your stay. We will make sure this does not happen again, the wifi shall be stabile and fast. Welcome back if returning to Tromsø! Best regards, City Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Value for money:
- exellent location,
- good service and cleanliness,
- free WI-FI in all area,
- complete set of kitchen implements,
- nice rooms,
- friendly staff.
I would like to recommend this hotel for Tripadvisor visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear traveller from Russia. Thank you very much for positive feedback - we appreciate that! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is indeed a very nice hotel in Tromso, Norway. Location is convenient. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and places to do shopping. Rooms are nice. Staff members are friendly. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Tromso.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear traveller from Bejing. Thank you for kind feedback - we appreciate that :-) Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to City Living Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Hotel & Apartments

Address: Gronnegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. City Living is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Living Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Living Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.