We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tromso!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Living Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added City Living Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Living Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gronnegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Scunthorpe, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Tromso!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When booking our accommodation we were warned about the high prices of food and drink in Norway so went for this option as every apartment has its own kitchen area. And we couldn't have picked a better place!

Booked a junior suite with a separate sleeping area and a very comfortable double sofa bed in the living room. Kitchen has electric cooker and 4 hobs, dishwasher, just enough utensils and crockery and a good sized fridge. Bathroom has a great shower, hair dryer fixed to the wall and plenty of storage space. Lounge area has a table and four comfy chairs, lots of room, double sofa bed, separate comfy chair, lamps, two superb heaters and huge windows offering superb views of the mountains from our room. Enough wardrobe space and hangers for coats, etc., too. Separate bedroom has a double bed too.

Second floor of the holding has spare towels, sheets, tea and coffee which are all free for you to take as and when you fancy, can't say fairer than that!

We were allowed into our apartment two hours early free of charge too, superb service on top of a very warm welcome.

Staff are great, so helpful and friendly and there for you at all times when reception is open. Location is superb, just behind the Main Street with all the cafes, etc., and less than 3 minutes to the harbour. All main attractions are a stones throw away in fact.

We've already found three supermarkets near the building, the closest just 2 minutes walk to he left of us and we've paid just 70 pounds in total to last us both for our entire stay (4 nights and 5 days) so you can't go wrong and if you look carefully at the prices in the supermarkets you can get some great deals!

Flew with norwegian.com, direct from gatwick, and were so impressed with everything about the airline. In total we've paid 800 pound for two people including flights with prebooked seats and luggage and our accommodation at city living hotel so you can't go wrong!

If you'd like any information on what to do, how to get from the airport to the hotel, which tours to go on for the northern lights, which buses to take to get to the cable car, etc., please don't hesitate to get in touch and I'll help you book your visit here on a budget without having to compromise on comfort.

Hope this review has helped you! To summarise, I 100% recommend the city living hotel for a superb stay and cannot thank the staff enough for everything! We're here for another two nights and are so happy we chose to come here! Thank you!

Room Tip: For more privacy, book a suite as it is well worth the money. And don't waste time looking at o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear traveller from Scunthorpe, UK. Thank you so much for your long and informative review, we really enjoy reading about your experience and we are so happy that you had a good time. Thank you again and welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    103
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
118
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent location, very convenient for flybus etc.
great room, bathroom with everything you need. Heating excellent.
Very helpful staff on reception.
Only thing I'd suggest is they put a couple of shelves up in the bathroom to put wash stuff etc on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear traveller from Newcastle. Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate your feedback! We will see what we can do about shelfes in the bathrooms, thanks for letting us know. Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early October. Reception staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Our room on the 5th floor was very quiet (room 507) and clean and had good thermostatically adjustable heating. The apartment was quite spacious with a twin bed, TV, table two chairs, kitchen and ensuite.

There is a hairdryer but no iron in the apartment though one is available from reception. There is a laundry in the basement with 3 washing machines and a dryer as well as a few drying racks. Whilst this is less convenient than having a washer in the apartment, access to the machines was not a problem during our stay.

There is an oven but no microwave. Several of the crockery items were chipped or cracked. There are limited utensils for cooking with and some items lacking, such as no colander or strainer. Hence it required a bit of ingenuity to cook a meal with the utensils provided at times. Also no tea towel was provided. There was no sofa in the apartment ( there would be space for a smallish 2 seater) so you can choose between the kitchen chairs or bed.

Also the shower cubicle is narrow and not well sealed so water spreads onto the bathroom floor. A squeegee is provided to scape the water back into the shower and the bathroom floor dries fairly quickly.

Three grocery stores nearby, Rimi abourt 50m up the road, Eurospar about one block south on Storgata (which sells some hot food if you want a quick meal) and a Coop store about one block north on Stogata. If you have a car, secure parking available for a fee under the hotel or 50m up the road at the tunnel park.

Overall this apartment seems reasonably priced for Tromso, is in a good location, warm, quiet and adequate with friendly welcoming reception staff. If it was a bit better appointed I would have given it 4+ stars. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some have complained about noise in other rooms but we had no problems with room 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear traveller from Adelaide. Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate your feedback! We will improve our routines which involves the kitchen tools, and we are sorry that you experienced some tools useless or broken. Thank you again and welcome back if returning to Tromsø. Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed only a single night. Was pleasantly surprised that the room was an apartment with its own kitchen. Beds were comfortable and the complex was relatively quiet too. Hotel is well placed, but then most are in Tromso as everything is relatively close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear traveller from Melbourne, Australia. Thank you for your kind review - we are happy you enjoyed staying here with us :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalwallinu, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

City Living is ideally located in Tromso with an onsite laundry that is available for travellers, just need to supply laundry powder (others had left some behind that we used), very helpful! The staff were also very courteous and efficient. The major downside for us was the size of our bedroom, I could touch the edge of the bed and the wall with my hand span, the bottom of the bed was the same, so if two of you were sharing the bed, one would have to jump in first and hope you didn't need to use the bathroom through the night!! We paid extra for a superior room, but we were put in a corner room with separate sitting room and bedroom, maybe the other rooms are better. The reception is situated next door to the hotel building so you got yourselves and luggage into the reception to find that you had to lug it all out again and into the next building which was frustrating as it was raining at the time. The breakfast was a deal with a restaurant up the road a little and on the other side, so again, you got wet in the rain!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear traveller from Australia! Thank you for your review - we appreciate your feedback! We are sorry that you found the bedroom small and the entrances at reception confusing, we will do what we can to improve these things. We wish you welcome back if returning to Tromsø :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

City Living have a perfect location in the middle of Tromsø, close to restaurants, bars and shopping.
The airport bus stops few meters from the hotel.
Good size apartments with stylish interior and good furnitures.
Greate beds, pillows and blankets. Very clean apartments.
Nice little kitchen with all you need for a light meal. You can buy breakfast deals from the hotel at Egon at kr. 80,-, very good buffet with lots of choices.
Excellent service in reception, they where very kind and helpful.
Can recommend to all travellers all year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have good view over the nightclub, pick a room in the back, quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear traveller from Oslo, Norway. Thank you for your kind review - we are happy you enjoyed staying here with us. Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewers and can only rave about the apartment. It is very centrally located and once you get off from the Airport Bus it is literally 3 minutes walk to the apartment.

There is a shopping mall down the road to buy amenities needed (we badly needed to stock up since Norwegian Air lost my luggage!) Bus stops are very close by and since it is in the city centre there are a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. The reception is located on the same building but different entrance (very easy to spot).

The staffs are very friendly - on my day of arrival she sympathised with me having lost my luggage and help to call the baggage service a few times. The next day's receptionist was equally nice and friendly - she called the baggage service to reconfirm whether my bag has been located or not. The staffs helped us with directions too. Tromso itself is very walkable and although we bought the bus pass we find it very easy to even do a leisure walk to the Arctic cathedral and took the bus to the botanical garden.

We requested for an extra bed and it was kindly provided to us with no extra charge. We bought the room through their official website which was cheaper than most agents at NOK 1000 for a superior room. The room was very large and clean and the bathroom is clean although very basic.

We found that the breakfast option across the hotel is quite expensive so we stocked up on some groceries. On our morning of departure we cooked breakfast and were very pleased to find all kitchen utensils ready.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay a bit longer -- the restaurants in Tromso are not that very cheap and it may be very helpful to cook once in a while!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear travellers from Nottingham, UK. Thank you so much for your long and informative review! We are very happy that you enjoyed staying here with us while visiting Tromsø. Welcome back!! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Living Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Hotel & Apartments

Address: Gronnegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Hotel & Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. City Living is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your City Living Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Living Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.