We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chinese/oriental restaurant where you'd least expect it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus

Lotus
Sjogata 39, Tromso, Norway
+47 77 65 55 55
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 72 Restaurants in Tromso
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Thames Ditton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Chinese/oriental restaurant where you'd least expect it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

An interesting find for a weary couple who'd just arrived in Tromsø rather late. It was in that odd period between Christmas and New Year when not a lot was open. The food was good, the fish very fresh, the atmosphere OK and the service reasonable. Not cheap, but then Norway never is!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    14
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Best sushi restaurant in norway
Chinese food also excellent
Good wine good service
I will always eat there
Everybody must try

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

You get what you expect: good service, good food, a nice view and an okay atmosphere. However, the decor seems a bit uncharming and borring. The restaurants is divided into two rooms and there's some sort of bar/pay desk in one of the compartments. The price is in the high end too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Chanced upon this restaurant. A delight. Delicious well-cooked food. Attentive service. Reasonably priced. A must if you want to eat well in Tromso.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ate here on the 26th, 27th & 28th September 2013.
The food was excellent and there was plenty of it.
We had the Sushi on the 1st night and I would recommend this to anyone.
The next two nights were freezing cold so we opted for hot food and
this was also very good although not quite Japanese. It was a combination
of Thai and Chinese, no matter as it was excellent and plentiful.
The location is great as you get a wonderful view of the harbor.
The price is not good but then again in Norway nothing is reasonable.
All in all I would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone.
We had on each occasion a waitress who went out of her way to help us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus also viewed

 

Been to Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.