We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havnegata 3, Harstad 9480, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Narvik, Norway
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We love our stay in this hotel, the family room is big and the personel are so friendly. They are offering a free breakfast and night snacks for free which may not be available in other hotels in Norway but just the usual free breakfast. The location of the hotel is so good with their own parking lots, restaurants are accessible just few blocks away. Outside the hotel you'll see a beautiful scenery overlooking the sea and mountains in Norway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for nice review. Means a lot to us.
All 42 Clarion Collectionhotels around Scandinavia serve light evening supper with a warm meal.
We are happy to hear that this is appreciated.

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
29
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

excellent hotel at waterfront, calm, nice room, very good service and food. multiple leisure options (water cruises, ferryboat), good transport connection to airport - bus stop at backside of the hotel,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for kind words after your stay in Harstad. We really appreciate it.

Hope to see you here again :-)

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Gret hotel with fantastic location at the seaside in Harstad. We were able to watch Hurtigruten come in in the morning, one from the north and one from the south. The buffet offered in the afternoon was perfect, especially when travelling with a group of teenagers, meaning that we did not need to go out to find somewhere to eat.

Some rooms with their window into the atrium, were to warm during these sunny days. Otherwise, very pleasant stay. Great service in the reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Gry,

Thank you for nice comments. Our consept with complimentary supper fits several segments :-)

Welcome back :-)


Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svolvær
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

free coffee, free wifi, free breakfast, free supper, expensive parkinghouse, wall to wall carpet, king size bed is actually two single beds put together.
Near the city center.
We slept well after all.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for review. Its really important to us. Keeps up focus for improvements.
PS: Ask for a doble bed if we are fortune enough to have you as a guest again.

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Good service and nice location in Harstad. The breakfast is good, and on average norwegian hotel standard. The reseption was excellent, and called in advance to check if I wantet evening foot at arrival (after the evening food was closed).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Frode,

Thank you for comments after your stay with ut.
Our goal is that none of our guests have to go to bed hungry. Therfore we offer complimentary light supper with hot dish every evening. If you know you will be late a sandwich can be ordered.
All Clarion Collection Hotels have this arrangement.

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sortland, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hot supper included, smiling personel, fantastic view from my window, very good breakfast. Excellent, central location. I was there together with my daughter, who really enjoyed her stay. Actually I can find nothing to complain about. All together: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for nice review. Will be shared with all personell :-)

Welcome back at any time.

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We only stayed one night in this hotel and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. It's directly on the harbour side, the airport bus stops at the end of the little side street that it's situated on. We were a bit confused at first because the signs said Kulturhuset and the hotel entrance faces the harbour, but once inside we received a fantastic welcome, and were invited to eat in the restaurant that evening free of charge! The room we were allocated faced into the atrium and had we realised for a small extra fee we could have booked a room facing the harbour. The room was spotlessly clean, very cosy and comfortable. My own criticism would be the lack of adequate lighting - it was quite dark and would have made an excellent film-set for the Danish TV series 'The Killing', otherwise no problems. Lovely breakfast - smorgasbord - with plenty of fish dishes which I love. The evening meal was also a smorgasbord - very similar items to the breakfast smorgasbord but with one hot dish which I think was a mutton stew. After our meal we walked into the town (about 10 mins) to ascertain where the Hurtigruten ferry sailed from. General comments: great hotel, friendly and helpful staff, near to the town centre and the airport bus stops close by. Although we only stayed the one night we would recommend it. Definitely worth considering if staying in Harstad.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra and have a room with a harbour view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing a review after your stay. Means a lot to us.
Happy to inform that a brand new sign was hung up at the corner facing the street.

It will now be a lot easyer for our guests to find the main enterance :-)

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Address: Havnegata 3, Harstad 9480, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Harstad
Harstad Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.