We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brutal WW2 History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)

War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)
Kongens gate, Narvik, Norway
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Narvik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brutal WW2 History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This museum brings you face to face with the brutality of the occupation these people in this small, middle of nowhere town, endured during the Second World War. The reason Narvik suffered is due to it's being an ice-free port with limitless iron ore just a train trip over the mountains. The German army ruled with an iron fist for the duration of the war as depicted in these exhibits. A must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WWII museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good exhibits about lesser know but important WWII events. Narvik was (and is) important due to being an ice free port for Swedish coal and iron. This museum is well presented. It could use more information in English, especially since a lot of the material was about activities of the UK during WWII.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent WWII history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This museum gives a very interesting account of Norway in WWII. There are lots of photos and memorabilia to keep people interested (including my children) for at least 2 hours. There is a very handy folder provided which explains lots of things in English. I would recommend this museum to anyone interested in history generally, not just military history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Opens at 12noon -6pm on Sunday. At the reception they have 4 translated guides; English, polish, german. Takes about an hour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paying my respects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

To my shame, I did not know much about the war history in Narvik and was told some info before I left therefore I thought it was important I went along.
There is a printed guide in English available to follow although I found not all the info was in there. I found it quite hard to follow but the museum was packed with interesting artefacts. I went up in the cable car, it was a beautiful day and hard to imagine the harbour was the scene of so much tragedy. The museum is a bit tired but definitely worth a visit if you are interested in military history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum) also viewed

Narvik, Narvik Municipality
Narvik, Narvik Municipality
 
Narvik, Narvik Municipality
Bardu Municipality, Troms
 

Been to War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.