We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent WWII history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)

War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)
Kongens gate, Narvik, Norway
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Narvik
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent WWII history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This museum gives a very interesting account of Norway in WWII. There are lots of photos and memorabilia to keep people interested (including my children) for at least 2 hours. There is a very handy folder provided which explains lots of things in English. I would recommend this museum to anyone interested in history generally, not just military history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Opens at 12noon -6pm on Sunday. At the reception they have 4 translated guides; English, polish, german. Takes about an hour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paying my respects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

To my shame, I did not know much about the war history in Narvik and was told some info before I left therefore I thought it was important I went along.
There is a printed guide in English available to follow although I found not all the info was in there. I found it quite hard to follow but the museum was packed with interesting artefacts. I went up in the cable car, it was a beautiful day and hard to imagine the harbour was the scene of so much tragedy. The museum is a bit tired but definitely worth a visit if you are interested in military history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very good review of WWII history in Norway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

You have to reserve at least 2-3 hours for this museum. It's not a particularly large museum, but it's also not worth going to, unless you are prepared to take one of the broschures provided (in several languages) and read through it as you move thorough the exhibits and photos. If you do this and take you time, you'll be rewarded with a very good understanding on what happened in Norway during the War and the occupation.

I highly recommend it, and it's great the Red Cross are keeping this place up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Devastating war story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well told story of the dark days of ww2, Narvik suffered terribly and the whole dramatic story is played out in the excellent collection and many photos. More English captions would be good but I got the idea no problems

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum) also viewed

Narvik, Narvik Municipality
Narvik, Narvik Municipality
 
Narvik, Narvik Municipality
Bardu Municipality, Troms
 

Been to War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.