We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting, if crowded, museum.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)

War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)
Kongens gate, Narvik, Norway
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Narvik
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An interesting, if crowded, museum.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Some people say there's nothing much to do in Narvik, especially in winter. Unfortunately some of the attractions were closed, including the ski lift. We had missed the early morning bus to Lofoten due to consulting an out of date timetable before leaving home a few weeks earlier, and it turns out we missed it only by a few minutes. I would caution people coming on the wonderful train journey from Sweden - a trip less travelled and an uncommonly beautiful way of entering Norway from Sweden - to check the timetables carefully if catching a bus further after leaving the train at Narvik.

The missed bus meant that we had time to explore this interesting, if very crowded, museum. By crowded I don't, in relation to winter, mean with people: it is crowded with information. It tells a fascinating story of a troubled past and the liability the huge but beautiful fjord has been to the people living on it. It is a pity that it does not appear to have the funding to provide a more interesting and up to date way of displaying the information such as the Lofotr Viking Museum does in Lofoten, because I think some more updating of the way the information is displayed would benefit visitors enormously as it is an interesting story and not well-known to outside visitors. I'm thinking of some computer enhanced displays, videos and the like.

That said, it is an interesting example of how museums presented things for much of the latter half of the 20th century. There was so much information we had to cut our visit a little short due to having to get the late afternoon bus, but a worthwhile visit nonetheless and not just a good time killer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the Narvik War Museum in August 2011. It is a fascinating place with a wealth of maritime and other wartime exhibits.Whilst relatively compact so far as museums go it is brilliantly presented. Certainly good for a full day if one ever has the opportunity. Exhibits range from a piece of armourplate from Tirpitz to weapons and armaments maritime artefacts such as ships bells, builder's plates and other items. These are but a few as there are many other things ranging from torpedos to an enigma machine and bits of aircraft wreckage.

One thing that impressed us was that there was genuinely welcoming chap at the door and not a guard of some sort looking over your shoulder all the time to be seen. It is a war museum and they seem to trust that visitors will behave appropriately which all those that we saw did.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of tousand places I have to see before I die”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The story about the german invation of North Norway 9/4 1940 and further on, in a perspective from the people in Norway, is absolutely a MUST DO of you visit North Norway. The more time you spend, reading and thinking, the more you understand the time, methods and happenings in the world avrund is. How mann people konsert that a lot of volonters from Poland helped Norway to resist the germansk invasjon? How mang kones about the KZ camps in Norway, and the rule Sweden had in its " neutrality" in the WW2? This place is absolutely a spot to use time to understand the past, the presens and the future. Forget everything about interactive amusement, and calculate about three hours of learning and thinking. This is not another amusement ..., but a place to understand and learn! MUST DO!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“For History Buffs, Do Not Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have a strong interest in World War II history because I recently completed the English-language translation of the autobiography of Mitsuo Fuchida, leader of the attack on Pearl Harbor.

This museum has displays and exhibits that explain Germany's invasion and conquest of Norway and subsequent defeat. Several of my Norwegian friends said that all Norwegians could be speaking German today except for a few key incidents that resulted in Allied victory.

The exhibits also explain how neutral Sweden, from which Norway gained independence only in 1905, was not so neutral in 1942. The torture instruments used by Norwegians against fellow Norwegians are stark reminders of what happened only 70 years ago.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Interesting museum about the dramatic local WW2 history. Perfect for a rainy day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum) also viewed

Narvik, Narvik Municipality
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 
Bogen i Ofoten, Evenes Municipality
Narvik, Narvik Municipality
 

Been to War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added War Museum (Nordland Rode Kors Krigsminnemuseum) to your Saves list