We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are better alternatives” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Nordlys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Nordlys to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Nordlys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moloveien 14, Bodo 8003, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bodo
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“there are better alternatives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We found our room small but functional with views of a construction site (luckily we were staying during a week-end, I guess there will be a lot of noise during normal weekdays)
We visited the restaurant for dinner and found a self-service counter with over-priced, dull food. We ordered a pizza, which appeared to be luke-warm, a hamburger, probably heated in the micro.
The same resaturant was used for breakfast which was very disappointing. Empty trays, just one bread to choose from, juice on the floor which went slippery, even worse - nobody seemed to care.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the harbour, the rooms on the other side are facing the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    38
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
29
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is basically just another hotel. Everything works, rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is OK (just), the hotel services effective.

I would call it a safe choice. If you are looking for outstanding foods, outstanding services, top-notch modern furniture, world-class beds - look elsewhere. If you just require a good nights sleep, a central location (airport and shopping street) and a decently priced rooms - this is a good choice!

And very important: I got a room with a view of the fjord/sea. WOW! Just amazing. Midnight sun, mountains, blue sea, fishing boats, ... Try and get one - especially during the spring/summer time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the fjord/sea. There are not that many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The room was comfortable and we were lucky to get one on a high floor with views over the harbour. It is a bit strange in that the window actually faces the reception hall (as tall as the whole building), which in turn has a wall of glass towards the sea. This can sound a bit awkward, but it actually worked well and was quiet (no noise from the reception area seeped in). Some rooms have view towards the harbour, which is of course the best, but there are others that face into the reception hallway or towards a street at the back, where there is currently some building work going on.
Restaurant Egon downstairs is very good in terms of both choice and value (a welcome respite from the very high prices that we’d seen earlier and later in our trip to Norway). Its décor is nice with a theme of old wooden beams and appliances from the early part of the 20th century. This is also where the hotel breakfast is being served, with good choice of food.
Parking was free with a voucher that the hotel gave us on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTBOURNE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed here overnight from Oslo whilst waiting for our connecting ferry to Tromso. Our room was large, very comfortable, clean and had a view over the waterfront. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. There is a Egon restaurant attached to the hotel which was a god send as we were both feeling a little travel weary and didn't fancy going out looking for somewhere to eat. The restaurant is also where breakfast is served , the breakfast buffet had a fairly good choice of hot and cold food. Our experience of our stay here did not raise any concerns or issues.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Nice modern hotel on the waterfront in the middle of the town centre. Parking was on what looked like a building site at the rear of the hotel (but it as free).

We had booked and paid in advance for a twin room for one night whist on route from Tromso to Oslo and checked-in about 2130. Nothing was said when we checked in and when we got to the room it was a double. We returned to reception to get the correct room only to be told the hotel was full. They had given 'our' twin room to someone else.

The double room we were stuck with was small, but nicely decorated. However, at the back of the hotel it overlooked a construction site - which started work at 0715!

Within the hotel is the Egon Restaurant. Dinner is reasonably priced (for Norway!) and excellent quality. Breakfast likewise.

Upon checkout we were given a 50% reduction on our dinner bill as compensation for the room error.

Room Tip: Away from the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Thon Hotel Nordlys has the best locatiotion in Bodø with direct view to the harbour (ask for a room with harbour view). The reception staff is friendly and very helpful. However stay away from the hotel restaurant, Egon, it is expensive junk food served by rude staff. Eat at Bryggerikaia instead.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a decent hotel located near the harbor at the end of the city center. The building looks nice and modern as well as the reception area. The rooms are of a decent size although are a little dated in there furnishings with the exception of the huge flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean and a good size (see photo). The staff at reception were very friendly both during check in and check out, they arranged what a needed with no problems. I do have another favorite hotel in Bodö although I would return here again if my first choice was not available.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Nordlys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Nordlys

Address: Moloveien 14, Bodo 8003, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Nordlys 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Hotel Nordlys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Nordlys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.