We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful extras make this one of the best in the Clarion Collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Grand to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Storgata 3, Bodo 8006, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bodo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Thoughtful extras make this one of the best in the Clarion Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, close to the harbour and right in the center of Bodø. The airport is only 5 or so minutes' drive away.

We found the building itself to be very welcoming, with a large, airy reception and pleasant areas for sitting to relax or to enjoy the complimentary buffets. All staff we encountered, both at reception and in the buffet area, were extremely friendly and helpful. They were a true credit to the Clarion Collection name.

Indoor parking is available and, in line with most city/town centre hotels, must be paid for. The rate was a relatively reasonable one, though, we thought.

One drawback was that the rooms are not so big. Whilst they were long enough, they were also quite little narrow so there isn't much room if you have a large suitcase to place upon the fold-out stand and want to squeeze your way past the end of the bed, plus the gap between the twin beds was pretty small.

There is a nice, comfortable chair in the room - but only one. Strangely, this often seems to be the case in many hotels with twin/double rooms - why isn't there an additional chair to accommodate the second occupant? In this case, there was at least an accompanying footstool upon which they could perch.

The only other quibble we had was that the electricity socket for razors in the bathroom was not near enough to the mirror for my husband to see properly whilst shaving.

I experience back problems and was pleased to discover that the bed was comfortable enough for me to get a decent night's sleep. The blackout lining of the curtains helped to cut down on the light from the midnight sun, much to my husband's relief. Although there was some traffic noise, it wasn't bad for a town centre hotel and did not prevent us from sleeping.

We find the complimentary buffets provided by Clarion Collection to be something of a lifeline when we visit Norway. This certainly helps to cut down on expenditure with Norwegian food and drink prices being so incredibly high.

In our experience, the Grand Hotel in Bodø provided the best Clarion Collection buffets we have ever eaten. The choice of foods is similar in each hotel, as are the meals (breakfast buffet, waffle time, dinner buffet, with water and hot drinks available at all times out of hours), but the Grand provided extra lovely little additions that we haven't seen in the other hotels. For instance, homemade yoghurts, oranges and a squeezer for making your own fresh orange juice, incredibly delicious homemade banana marmalade and hazelnut butter, along with a larger and better choice of desserts in the evening.

There were also other thoughtful touches which elevated this particular hotel above most others in the Clarion Collection range. Pairs of reading glasses were left near the newspapers in the buffet area, interesting historical photo books on Bodø on hand in the relaxing area, complimentary cotton buds, pads and other items in the restroom adjacent to the buffet area.

It may not be absolutely perfect in all respects, but this hotel and the people working in it made us feel relaxed and right at home, thanks to the thought and effort put into it. We would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much munch for your nice feedback:-) I am really happy that our staff "went the extra mile" to help you, and that you found our service to be nice.. We hope you had a safe trip back home, and your cargo arrived safetly at home. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    79
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
60
15
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

There was nothing wrong with Hotel - room was small but functional, well appointed and with good breakfast available in the lounge/diner together with on-tap coffee/tea, mid afternoon snacks and an excellent buffet selection during the evening. We very much enjoyed the Hotel and all it offered, but the cost was just too high to justify the good facilities

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for review, your response is much appreciated. I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay and that our breakfast and eveningbuffet appealed. On behalf of my staff I wish you warmly welcome back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Premium location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, great breakfast and - the big bonus - evening buffet included!

I wish this hotel existed in more places. I would never ever consider anything else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Do not imagine this is a 5 star hotel but it must be the best value in Bodo. The rooms are functional but not large. The bathroom is a good size. The location is perfect. In addition to the usual coffee and water on tap waffles are served complimentary from 3 till 6 and a complimentary dinner/supper/buffet is served from 6.00pm. It is not amazing but it is more than satisfying and it is all included. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The reception staff was exelent,very helpfull.The rooms spacious and comfortable.The breakfast and dinner were very good.The design is very nice.A good value for your money.The location is great,there is a small mall right outside and there some restaurants and nice shops.We were close to the harbour which was very nice

Room Tip: It was a bitt noisy because of a take away restaurant which was open all night,so maybe you should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night during a business trip to Bodø.

This hotel is well suited for business travelers - they offer complimentary evening supper and a great breakfast. I enjoyed both of these and felt really at home, though very far away.

Rooms are nicely decorated and beds fairly comfortable. Service was very friendly.

I would stay here again next time I am in Bodø.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your rewiew, we are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and service! Hope to see you again sooon, in the meantime; have a nice summer:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, Essex, ENGLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family stayed at the hotel on 21 June 2012 and we enjoyed it very much.

Our first enjoyable surprise on arriving was that we were told free dinner is complimentary.
The location is excellent- close to town centre. We had free internet plus free water , tea & coffee.
the Staff were very helpful.
I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

martin

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Address: Storgata 3, Bodo 8006, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bodo
Clarion Collection Grand Bodo
Bodø Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.