We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Hammerfest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Hammerfest to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Hammerfest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandgata 2-4, Hammerfest 9600, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hammerfest
South Shields, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

The Thon is a typical Norwegian hotel.
Small, but functional rooms.
Reasonable bathroom.
Very good staff.
The one difference is the food - dinner is exquisite.
The menu is small, but nothing more is needed.
This is very northern Norway so the fish is the best you will ever eat.
The service is impeccable.
Thank you to the waitresses and chef!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
11
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel with nice people, and just at the city center. Difficult to beat. Really close to the boat and to the Nissen Centrum mall. Really short walking distance to the tourist office and more local places.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

In the city center of Hammerfest is the Thon hotel the best place to stay! The rooms are not spacious but very clean. Hammerfest is a nice city in summer and winter. Thon hotel is affordable and has an excellent kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Thon Hotels are not my favorite, but the Thon Hotel in hammerfest - exactly on the harbor side was a good experience. Somewhat cold in the room and I miss the opportunity to open a window, but the room I had was facing out towards the main road. Somewhat noisy.

The breakfast was good and plentiful, as most hotels in Norway are, and included in the room. Their menu for people with allergies are good.

Highly recommend this hotel for a short/medium stay in Hammerfest. Most positive is their staff at check in. Very polite and friendly and a good base for enjoying this very special city up north.

No special dinner arrangement tried, but that is average. Plenty of good choices around the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the sea/harbor and not towards the road/main square. Make sure you remove you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stjordal, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I slept here for two nights in October, and I was satisfied.
The room was large and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable.

The negative comments:
* I had a handicap room on first floor, which certainly was big - but also a big window facing the street where everyone out on the street had free sight into my room.
* The TV was placed beside the bed, with no recliner or sofa to sit on to watch TV - so I had to sit sideways in the bed to watch TV.
* The price was a bit expensive for a single room.
* Not free parking.
* Staff in the reseption with not so much knowledge about Hammerfest.

The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I have had at a hotel in Norway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed here for one night when I was in Hammerfest.
Before I got here I had to call the hotel 2 or 3 times because there were issues with my flight and each time they were very friendly and accommodating.
The room itself was very nice. Mine had two twin beds and was pretty big. The lime green back splash behind the bed was actually very nice. The whole room had a very fresh feel that is probably very appealing during the polar nights. My view from my room was interesting, I faced the street so my view was primarily a closed, sketchy old movie theater and a a beautiful mountain.
The location is perfect. Easy to walk to the Polar Bear Museum and local restaurants and the shopping center. Right outside the hotel is a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains and the harbor, including a very nice statue of a ship in some ice. There's also a cute polar bear statue next to the hotel at the town hall.

It may be a bit pricey, but this is a good hotel to give a try.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stayed there two times now. Very friendly staff, located perfect in center and right on the harbour:) The minisuites got a fantastic panorama windows and are very spacy;) to the right is the shopping mall, to the left is the best bar in finnmark, Jernteppet.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thon Hotel Hammerfest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Hammerfest

Address: Strandgata 2-4, Hammerfest 9600, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Hammerfest Municipality > Hammerfest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hammerfest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Hammerfest 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hammerfest city centre just 3 km from the airport, the Thon Hotel Hammerfest provides fantastic harbour views next to the City Hall and parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Hammerfest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Hammerfest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.