We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEXT STOP NORTH POLE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Cape

North Cape
Mageroya, Norway
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NEXT STOP NORTH POLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A truly memorable place to visit. The snow was virgin white, the air crisp and clear and the only thing between us and the North Pole was 1300 miles - not too far considering it's the top of the world! It was in November 2012 when we visited at about 2.00 pm - the North Star highly visible as was the moon - a great trip :o) and a must do if you're in the vicinity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    88
    22
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Further only North Pole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We drove to the North Cape in June 2012. We are so excited this place! Place where two oceans meet! Because of the cape is placed on the island we had to drive under the sea through 7 km tunnel! The sun never sets down in this season. Every people should visit this breathtaking place!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excursion do it yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We've just finished a fantastic cruise with Hurtigruten . One if the excursion was to the north cape cost 796nok per person . We didn't want to pay this amount. You can catch the 330 bus next to tourist information centre it departs and returns at the same time the cruise excursion. The cost was 475nok pp. really enjoyed the north cape

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hutigrutin 12 day Voyage Norway coast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just returned from a 12 day cruise on the Hutigrutin Polarys Ship. The ships interior was very clean and easy to navigate.We had an upgrade cabin "U" on deck 6. The cabins are quite small considering the price one has to pay.The beds were comfortable and the shower more than adequite
The good points..Scenery spectacular.We started in Bergen and did a round trip. The trip back after a day or so became rather boring. The food was buffet style everyday for breakfast and lunch. Dinner was portioned controlled.I asked for no fish and had meat every night. My wife had plenty of fish and said it was good.The seafood night buffet was a joke.The shrimp were gross. Cooked whole with heads etc. They are nothing like what we get in the USA.The crab legs were cut into small pieces. The mob scene with no direction caused some problems as you didn't know where the beginning of the line was. Therefore pushing and shoving was the order of the day.We were forewarned by our Vantage tour leader that this was common.The overall quality of the food was good. Just very little varity. What you had Monday was the same 7 days a week for breakfast. Lunch had a few different choices but boiled potatoes were the order of the day.The breads were excellant. Just did not see much of it at the evening meal.A couple of nights a single piece was on your bread plate with a dab of butter.Coffee was not served at the sitdown dinner meal. You had to go forward to the bar area to get your regular coffee which was brewed. . Decaf was powdered and hot water available as was tea bags.Service in the dining room was friendly and quite good.
The shore excursions offered by the ship were also part of our itinerary but we had our own bus with a very knowledable tour lady. The ship called on 33 ports on our voyage. Some stops 5 minutes and up to 4 hours. Most tour trips were very nice but pricy.
Warning. I purchased a trip in Bodo to see the worlds fastest running whirlpool using what they cal RIB Boats. Stands for rubber inflatible boat.I was expecting a spectacular ride and view . Didn't happen. We arrived on scene at dead slack tide.I made a big complaint and was given a refund. This trip was 896 Kroners which equals $179.00 .The ship and Hutigrutin must know the exact tide table. They never should have offered this trip knowing that we were just getting a very expensive boat ride.In addition a bus tour was also sold. They saw nothing also.Their trip was about 58 kroners or about $12.00.
So the big question..would I recommend this voyage? Yes but go 1 way only.Just keep in mind..this is not an American style cruise ship. It is a water taxi,freighter and a cruise ship to see the sights of coastal Norway and it's tall mountains and tiny villages.The scenery is beautiful Sept. cruising was a bit on the cool side.From 32 low to mid 70's. Dress in layers.bring good walking shoes.We purchased Norwegian money before we left but found it unnecessary. Visa/mastercard no problem. Most items are at least 3 times more expensive in Norway than here in the USA. If you are handicaped. Some ports were very difficult to exit the ship as the tides sometime were very high or very low. Returning just as bad. If you go with an open mind..see how the other half of the world lives and works..you will be fine..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just to say you have been there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went there as the northernmost point on a cruise on Holland-America. We were lucky because it only rained for about a hour, the rest of the time it was just grey. You can see the ocean there, from a high cliff, and of course there is marker commemorting that it is the most northrly point in Europe. There is a restaurant, and a few dioramas illustrating the history. A free film with impressive images but no real story is available at no charge. The lengthy ride there from the harbor (about an hour) goes mostly through tundrsa-like grasslands. We did see some reindeers grazing freely, and there was a stop at a Sami (the modern and politically correct word for Laplander) "camp" consisting of a gift shack, a tent, and an old Sami in traditional garb posing for pictures with a big reindeer. Overall, not much to see or do but you can say that you have been there far north of the arctic circle, about the same as Barrow, Alaska on the North Slope.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Cape also viewed

Nordkapp Municipality, Finnmark
Honningsvag, Nordkapp Municipality
 
Honningsvag, Nordkapp Municipality
Honningsvag, Nordkapp Municipality
 

Been to North Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.