We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot When I Was There” 2 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Breiseth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Breiseth to your Saves list
First Hotel Breiseth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jernbanegaten 1, Lillehammer 2609, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Long Beach California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hot When I Was There”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was there as part of a tour. The room was very small and very basic. Clean. I was on a tour and caught this hotel on a bad night. It was the middle of a historic heatwave so the room was very warm. It was a Saturday night during the summer and it was very noisy out on the street below my window for much of th night. I am sure it is OK to stay here on most nights.

Room Tip: Don't go on a hot day and ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
12
19
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is ok if you have no other choises. The breakfast is good, with a lot of food to select from. The room for breakfast is very simple but I found a great coffee with a beautiful place to enjoy it, special made for that or just for relaxing(it has a fireplace and I think that in the winter has a magical vibe). The Coffee ( the tea also) is not limited so you can drink as much as you want to feel up for a new day and you can do that at anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

nice hotel - as said, rooms a little small, especially for 3 people - service good though - wi/fi available and location nice, Lillehammer is a nice pretty town - free coffee and tea in the morning was nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is a great value with very friendly and helpful staff. It's right across the street from the train and bus station, which is the best transportation to use to get to Lillehammer from Oslo or Trondheim, etc. There's a great free breakfast in the morning with lots of choices. Jan, at the front desk, was incredibly helpful in getting out a map and drawing all over it for me to show me how to get to the various things to see in Lillehammer. The room was comfortable with a nice-sized bathroom, bed and closet. Overall, it was clean, very convenient, and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Got a good deal on this hotel for 2 rooms over Easter. It's a little tired, and could do with a freshen up but the rooms are plenty big enough, the bathroom was clean and supplied toiletries were nice. Breakfast was fantastic value. Service was great -staff were really friendly

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent in Lillehammer 2 weeks. I had tried to be very careful searching the hotel for this vacation as we traveled with a child 6 years old. We were really impressed by two things (it’s besides of hospitality of the stuff on the reception. About it later): the design of the room and breakfasts.
First of all about the room. As far as we understood there are two kinds of rooms –new designed and traditional style . We got the traditional styled room. It was quite big and reminded the second part of the of the 19th century – high ceilings and “fabric” paper walls with old styled furniture. There was one-and-a half safer for a child and a double bed for us, nice paintings (the Scandinavian style).
It looked like we dived in something from the bourgeois past, the pictures we used to watch in movies about 19th century. Besides there was a bathroom with warm floor and normal clean bath (not a douche cabin). I’m quite careful with bathrooms and really hate dirty and rusty bath equipment. But there was everything fine with it there were even the creams and sponges besides usual lotions.The cleaning was daily and thanks to the lady who did it ,as she was very accurate ordering our stuff that was everywhere in the room after early leaving the hotel each morning for skiing. We were really impressed with the breakfast (taking into consideration the price and the quality) – 3 types of cheese, fish (sometimes salmon), fresh croissants ( you can watch them baking ). There is a sauna there as well (it was clean), that was quite helpful after long stay outdoors. By the way the hotel is situated in the center of the town, just near the Art Museum and a wonderful sushi (it’s quite rare to find good sushi in Europe, but this small sushi shop belonged to a Japanese family, is really good. We had evening meal there during the last 4 days). The stuff on the reception was nice. Special thanks to the lady (don't remember her name), she recommended us where to find horse -riding last minute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Dirty room, needs renovation. The dirt hung down from the bathroom roof, caused from lacking ventilation. Poorest room I´ve seen. The beds were clean and breakfast ok. Location is practical- close to the railway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Breiseth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Breiseth

Address: Jernbanegaten 1, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Breiseth 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Breiseth, established in 1898, is one of the oldest hotels in Lillehammer. At the time of its opening, it was considered the most fashionable hotel in town. During its first 40 years of operation the hotel was very popular among a group of artist. Cash was not always forthcoming, and as a result the hotel received a number of paintings still decorating its walls. As a guest at our hotel you will be within walking distance of attractions like Maihaugen, Lillehammer art museum, the pedestrian precinct Gagata, several restaurants and a range of activities. Ski bus to Hafjell departs close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Breiseth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Lillehammer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Breiseth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.