We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old historic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turisthotelveien 6, Lillehammer 2609, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Rocky Ford, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful old historic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were winding down our two week trip of Norway and wanted a clean, comfortable room to stay in and a good meal. We found both of them at the Radisson Blu. Our room was adequate, with a very updated bathroom. It was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. We ate dinner at their al a carte restaurant, "Salt and Pepper". It was a very good meal as was the breakfast buffet the next morning. It is an old historic hotel, but where we stayed was very nice. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, General Manager at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Linda G
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you loved the hotel as much as we do. Also happy to read that you both enjoyed our a la carte restaurant and the buffet breakfast. Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    85
    42
    19
See reviews for
49
63
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitestone, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I usually associate Radisson Hotels with better quality than I experienced at this one. Although I didn't attend the Olympics 20 years ago in Lillehammer, I suspect that they haven't spent a nickel to update and refurbish the hotel since then. The room was very barebones and dated and I almost needed a map to find the room after walking through so many different corridors and stairs. I understand some of the rooms have been updated, but I wasn't one of the lucky ones to experience that firsthand. I will state that their buffets (both dinner and breakfast) were probably one of the best I had during my two-week trip to Scandinavia on a Globus tour. As with many of the Scandinavian hotels, you'd better bring your own shower cap, body lotion, and conditioner as these amenities aren't provided. I also think they didn't provide a bath mat. I have come to expect these things in American hotels. I also missed air conditioning--again, not usually found in Scandinavian hotels unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room. Reject the first room you get if it is not to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, General Manager at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Soozi13
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed the buffets. As for the rooms - yes, we have refurbished quite a few of the rooms, but not all. We are in dialouge with our owner about this. We have also refurbished som of the ground floor. As for air-conditioning that is very seldom in Scandinavia due to the course that we only have 2 months of summer - heating is more important here.
Hope you have a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill on Sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very much the most American style Radisson hotel I have been to outside the US, I guess that and the grandiose style is because it was earmarked to host the IOC members during the Lillehammer Olympics in 1994. However it is a nice hotel with a good sports bar with a good selection of drinks and food, and outside it is a great terrace overlooking the swimming pool, gardens and the valley. The staff was courteous and helpful from the reception to the room maids. My only complain from this stay is that they where very short staffed for the breakfast, and it was very difficult to find anywhere to sit due to the Norwegian Farming Unions annual meeting held at the hotel. Unfortunately when I went for breakfast at 0730 they where out of milk and cheese just to mention a few.

I guess the hotel could do with a paint and decorate job soon, as it is starting to show its age in the communal areas, although I must say my room was in a tip top condition with great views over the Garden and the Valley. The hotel is located just up from Lillehammer town centre, around a 10-15 min steep walk home and an easy down hill to the town.

All in all a good place to stay when you visit Lillehammer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, ask to get a room facing the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay With us and we hope to see you again sometime later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent one night here with a Globus tour. The older part of the hotel is attractive and nice. We were a long walk down several corridors in a newer section, but the room was comfortable and well-appointed with a very modern bathroom. We had plenty of room and a nice view of the grounds. My husband and I chatted with a very helpful desk clerk and took a long walk on trails up to the Olympics ski jump and then down to the town--in the pouring rain which added a bit of fun to our walk.

We also had dinner with the group and breakfast. Both were good for buffets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay, that the staff were helpfull and that you ejoyed your meals and the area. We hope to see you again some time.
We wish you a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband loves cross-country mountain biking on the trails in Lillehammer, so the hotel location is perfect since the trails start right behind the hotel. So, for us it was location, location, location. Staff is nice and friendly. Hotel is very accommodating to bicycles and sports equipment. There is a large baggage storage room where my husband could store his bicycle each night. We stayed for almost 2 weeks near the end of May. The hotel seems to cater to various guided tour groups too, so during the week, large tour buses would stop for the night. But, the hotel is large and spread out, so it never felt crowded. You may need to navigate a maze of hallways to get to your room because hotel is actually composed of a few separate buildings adjoined side-by-side. The mini-golf course was not setup with greens, so golfing is on cement. Since hotel is located outside the main town, about 700 meters up a fairly steep hill, it may be difficult to walk to/from town for lunch, dinner, or shopping if you have physical limitations or out-of-shape. I found it was easier to ride my bicycle from hotel to/from town via Sigrid Undsets Veg past the Olympic museum/training center, down Fv311. It is longer that way though compared to walking straight down (steep) Bankgata. Taxi cabs are readily available and cost about 110 kr one-way (town to hotel). Food at hotel is very good, but generally, pricier than in town. There is no onsite self-serve laundromat, but they offer laundry services which were too expensive, as always at hotels. As mentioned by other reviewers, hotel looks old/worn. Our standard room, 761, was a good size, about equivalent in size to a U.S. standard hotel room (usually, I find Norwegian/European standard rooms to be tiny in comparison). Also, for U.S. travelers, hotel does NOT have usual 4-star amenities like hand lotion, shampoo (dispenser shower soap doubles as shampoo), conditioner, wash cloths, Kleenex, bath, large shower, etc. Small, efficient fitness room with free weights, tread mill, stepper, weight machine. By the way, there is a Kiwi market about 650 meters north on Sigrid Undsets Veg that has almost anything you need for groceries or supplies.

Pros: Location near hiking/biking trails, quiet neighborhood, delicious breakfast, good size room, clean room, friendly staff

Cons: Steep hill to get to town, old decor, worn appearance

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and all the information. This is very helpfull for other guests. We also enjoyed having you as our guests and hope we see you again soon.

Wishing you a lovely summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I just had the displeasure of staying at this hotel, having first stayed there over 20 years ago for the Olympics - nothing appeared to have changed! The reception, bar areas and restaurants where like going back to the 80's - shocking - and the rooms where terrible, this hotel does not deserve the Radisson Blu above the door. Staff friendly though, food good and hotel was super busy with Asian and Australian tourists. Would I stay there again - not if at all possible, just finished a week long your of Norway and this was the worst hotel by a very long way.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you Nick S for your feedback. We have refurbished 53 rooms and are in a dialouge with our owners about futhers refurbishing. We have also done one of our saloons, changed carpets in the main restaurant and hall during the past year. Glad you enjoyed our food and that the staff gave you the help you needed. I hope you will give us a new chance sometime after we have refurbished. The style will be the same, but with new furniture and curtains the look will be a lot fresher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel was obviously built for the Games of 1994 – and it looks like nothing has been brought up to date since those days. The main lobby, the bar rooms etc. have some charm but the hotel in general is just old and in the need of a refurbishing. Tough I have to say that everything in the hotel is clean.

Same thing with the guest rooms. The beds are really old and the mattresses anything else then cosy. Also the furniture is in an urgent need of renovation – it looks very old, dirty and somewhat run down. Nonetheless the WiFi is very slow and our room quite small. Fortunately the bath rooms had been updated, so u can take a comfortable shower.

Staff at the hotel is friendly and very helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent – I would say the best part about the whole hotel. The Radisson Blu is located a little bit above the city of Lillehammer. The location offers a nice view over the valley and to the shopping area it is a short walk (but for some people maybe a steep one).

All in all it is ok – but not what you expect from a Radisson Blu and for what you get way overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona L, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our hotel was built in 1911 and only the most Southern part for the Olympics. Yes, we need to do some refurbishing and have a dialogoue With Our owners about this. 53 of our rooms were refurbished only 3 years ago. Glad you found the hotel nice and clean, the staff friendly & service minded and enjoyed our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel

Address: Turisthotelveien 6, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Lillehammer town centre, the Radisson Blu is a well-situated home base for outdoor adventure. Visit world-calibre skiing, cycling, hiking and rafting sites, then rejuvenate in the comfort of one of our 303 rooms and suites. This accommodation is also ideal for travellers who'd like to simply relax amidst the hotel's lovely natural surroundings. With a grand ballroom accommodating up to 1,200 guests, the Radisson Blu is a picture-perfect setting for corporate retreats and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Lillehammer
Lillehammer Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.