We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turisthotelveien 6, Lillehammer 2609, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent hotel in a quite peaceful setting. Classic design, close to the olympic park center. This This is grand Norway at it's best, the lawns, gardens, and patios are nothing short of grand. The buffet is wonderful and lacks nothing you could possibly want.

Room Tip: We were in an addition to the hotel. The rooms were excellent, but confusing and a distance from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    85
    42
    19
See reviews for
49
63
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The views of the hotel's expansive lawn, trees, gardens and large pool area spreading out below the flower lined patios was impressive. Although the hotels décor is dated and starting to show years of use, the hotel had a variety of elegantly furnished, wood paneled sitting, library and lobby areas to chose from. It's setting high on a hillside did remind me a little of the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park or the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island.

Our room was clean, nicely furnished and spacious but instead of a view of their beautiful grounds or the Olympic ski slope; our window looked out over a side parking lot where tour busses unloaded luggage and bags of dirty hotel linens were piled.

Instead of a self-serve buffet our group had a wait staff attending us. The meal was substantial with potatoes, gravy, green beans, carrots and parsnips. Although several of our group's palates did not care for the main entrée of sliced roast reindeer; I found it tender, well prepared and not as wild-game tasting as I thought reindeer might be.

Our biggest surprise was to find the hotel had a modern bar with a Route 66 theme. Several electric guitars were hung above the bar, car license plates from several U.S states, Route 66 and Harley-Davidson memorabilia lined the walls, a karaoke stage and even a Harley Davidson motorcycle encased in glass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, the setting is absolutely stunning! But I must admit a bit of updating would not hurt. This could be a five star hotel, I agree, at what cost. This is grand Norway at it's best, the lawns, gardens, and patios are nothing short of grand. The buffet is wonderful and lacks nothing you could possibly want, service from the wait staff is also top notch,plates are picked up immediately. Very full from groups of travelers but they handle it well. This is a must just to experience the class of Lillehammer. A long steep walk into town makes it very difficult to do much shopping, (maybe that is not so bad).very large hotel but very cozy and enjoyable!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel met our needs but as other reviews have stated could use a bit of refurbishment. While the rooms are not air-conditioned (the hallways and public areas are air-conditioned), the room temperature was still comfortable (after opening the windows). The breakfast buffet had a good variety of foods, and my husband really enjoyed having the Norwegian waffles for breakfast. The hotel's restaurant (the "a la carte" section) was excellent in helping us find meal options for a member of our family with food allergies.

The location of the hotel is very close to Maihaugen and a short walk downhill to the trains and buses, as well as the shopping area. We took a taxi to the hotel from the train station since we had our luggage with us, and we also took a taxi back to the train station when we checked-out. To us, the taxi ride seemed expensive for the short distance (but walking with our luggage was not an option). We walked to and from the train station when we took the bus to Hunderfossen and when touring the town.

This hotel also has a playroom and a miniature golf course (which needs a little bit of work -- but it was still enjoyable) to help keep children entertained. My daughter and husband also enjoyed the indoor pool. Our only complaints are the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms and getting our luggage to and from our room was not convenient. The elevators were small, and the hotel was a bit like a maze.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Grand but tired is right - also some small final touches are missing. We were welcomed warmly in our own language (Finnish) and given an overview of both the hotel and Lillehammer itself. Our room was not big but ok and had a shower, no tub. Also, we had to walk the stairs for the last floor. The hotel has a big calm and relaxing park and nice views from the restaurants and most rooms.

The bed was soft and the duvet and pillows felt heavenly. There is a minibar in the room. What is missing is a proper ironing board and iron, kleenexes, tub and maybe some amenities like skin moisturizer. No need for bottled water though, as what comes from the tap here could sell for 10€ a liter in e.g, the U.S.

There is a nice sauna in the hotel together with an indoor and even outside pool. The indoor pool is good for swimming laps. There was no proper equipment for throwing water on the sauna stove, though, and no holders for soap and shampoo in the sauna's showers. A hot tub would also be nice.

Breakfast was ok, although I missed bacon and some pastries as well as grapefruit juice. The public areas and the architecture of the hotel are gorgeous and with such great old furniture some wear and tear don't matter too much.

Parking is free and plentiful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arriving from Helsinki via Toronto and New York we were tired. It was late afternoon and we had been in the air, on the road, on the tracks for 20 hours. First no help with luggage from taxi driver-absolutely none. In fact at the taxi stance he wiggled his finger to indicate where we should walk and pack our luggage. Alright taxi drivers are rude or some are! However at the hotel we struggled up the steps with our luggage-no help. OK service is demeaning , I imagine, In Norway. BUT at the counter not a smile not a welcome nothing but `We don`t have a booking for you`. Luckily I had confirmation papers and it was found ------ in a huge paper file like an old fashioned audit book!!! but we waited some time for it to be found .

The room was comfortable; the breakfast good but security and service are completely missing.. The building is old and a fine reminder of Norway`s great Turist hoteller but it takes more than that !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic relic of bygone days, so much history within the grand old rooms and restaurants. With the very interesting areas of Winter Olympics past, this hotel would be the pride of Lillehammer with some renovation and a good look at their staff. We arrived after a long day on the bus and when approached, the barman was obviously about to end his shift as everything was a huge problem. A real black mark on such a great visit. Rooms are small but comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel

Address: Turisthotelveien 6, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Lillehammer town centre, the Radisson Blu is a well-situated home base for outdoor adventure. Visit world-calibre skiing, cycling, hiking and rafting sites, then rejuvenate in the comfort of one of our 303 rooms and suites. This accommodation is also ideal for travellers who'd like to simply relax amidst the hotel's lovely natural surroundings. With a grand ballroom accommodating up to 1,200 guests, the Radisson Blu is a picture-perfect setting for corporate retreats and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Lillehammer
Lillehammer Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.