We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable hotel, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turisthotelveien 6, Lillehammer 2609, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
north yorks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A reasonable hotel, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed on a short notice ski break, with an DBB deal. It was a buffet for both meals. Average fare, average quality, some of it had clearly been under the heat lamps for a while.
Rooms are average but again nothing special. The whole place could do with sprucing up a bit.
, but at 900NOK per night, not a bad price for Norway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    85
    42
    19
See reviews for
49
63
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on a tour with Trafalgar. This hotel housed the VIP's during the winter olympics at Lillehammer. It is a lovely, posh hotel. The hotel sprawls so we had a long walk to our room.

The rooms were very nice, however there was no coffee/tea service. There was a hot pot so I took some tea bags from the breakfast buffet for our morning brew. Also, there were no bathroom amenities...shampoos, lotions, etc. The Wi-Fi signal was very good, so that was a plus.

The hotel is in a remote area of Lillehammer and probably a 25 minute walk to the town center and quite and uphill trek back.

I would recommend this hotel highly, unless you wish to be close the the action of downtown Lillehammer where all the action is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Blu as part of a tour group. The hotel was located just outside the city center but with easy access though down and back up a big hill. The rooms were average but beds were comfortable. The lobby and bar area were "quaint" with slightly off-beat decorations which made it feel lived in or homey. We had excellent service by the dining staff, but the bartender in the lounge was extremely rude. We went for a drink on a Sunday night. We asked about aquavit which we'd read was a Norwegian drink to be tried. The bartender told us she wasn't familiar with it and couldn't know every drink in Norway. We decided to try something else but she dissuaded us stating that "she was leaving in 10 minutes they weren't going to pay her to stay longer for just 2 of us". At that point, I said forget it. While I understood what she was saying I think she could have phrased things better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When you are paying over 1800NOK = $300 for a night in a hotel, even in Norway, you expect a little more than the Radisson Blu Lillehammer offers. The hotel is showing its age a bit, and everything felt a little run down. Nice beds, a quiet room, and tea and coffee in the room, but with paper cups that were a bit soggy when I fancied a coffee the next morning. The hotel is not really central, but is within walking distance of the centre, if you like a walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Bit of a jigsaw puzzle of a place with bits added on over the years, and it shows. Reception and lounge area is very nice and cosy. If you are unfortunate to have rooms in the 500's or 600's there is a bit of a trek. Rooms ok and clean bathroom small, beds are ok. It's an ok hotel.
As with any hotel in Norway, it is expensive to drink at bar.

Room Tip: Not on 500's or 600's if you need assistance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is not what you would excpect from a Radisson Blu... The Reception of the area was nice.. You can imagine how nice it was back in 1994 gearing up for the Olympics... I ended up with a room in one of the far corners of the hotel... felt like I was in the "armpit" - and sure that is why I got a "good deal" on the room .. - The staff were neither rude nor friendly...

There was nothing BAD about my stay... but nothing that would lead me to choose this hotel again... will try a different hotel next trip to Lillehamar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I agree with the rest who commented about this hotel that this hotel doesn't live up to Radisson standard which is supposed to be a high standard hotel. Me and my two kids stayed there for 2 nights and trips to Hunderfossen park by day. Check-in day we were met by arrogant receptionists, no smiles and not very helpful. The interior is very classic and old. LOng corridors before we got to our room. We were given the room in the lowest floor. THe room given did not live up to radisson standard at all and there's no air-conditioning-You have to open the windows to have fresh cool air. No cabinets to put your clothes but only open shelves that's not even dusted. Two lamps on the ceiling but the other one needed to be changed bulbs, I reported this to the reception and nobody came to fix it. Remote control on TV didn't function as it supposed to, then reported this in the reception as well and asked someone to fix it because I needed to read the information in the TV but no, the receptionist only told me to just ask what information I needed to know. Playroom for kids was even poor. It rained a lot during our stay so half of the playroom area was wet and the staff put buckets on the floor to collect the water from the ceiling.The playground outside is also not tempting for the kids to try since it was so dull. Restaurant for buffet dining was average.It was an elegant looking restaurant but the food did not compliment the place but the check did, it was almost 700 kroner for buffet dinner, just for one adult and 2 kids,so the next evening we went out for dinner which only costed me 300 kroner. It takes only 10-15 minutes to get to the center where you can find many restaurants and shops. During our whole stay, the only staff that were attentive, smiling and service-minded were those in the restaurants and housekeeping but the reception ladies were not at all. They were more robotic like they have to smile only in situations when they needed to smile, but when guests passes the reception they dont say Hi or even smile. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: not in the basement rooms please.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel

Address: Turisthotelveien 6, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Lillehammer town centre, the Radisson Blu is a well-situated home base for outdoor adventure. Visit world-calibre skiing, cycling, hiking and rafting sites, then rejuvenate in the comfort of one of our 303 rooms and suites. This accommodation is also ideal for travellers who'd like to simply relax amidst the hotel's lovely natural surroundings. With a grand ballroom accommodating up to 1,200 guests, the Radisson Blu is a picture-perfect setting for corporate retreats and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Lillehammer
Lillehammer Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Lillehammer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.