We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference hotel - not for fun....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hamar to your Saves list
Scandic Hamar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vangsveien 121, Hamar 2318, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hamar
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Conference hotel - not for fun....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've stayed twice at the Scandic Hotel at Hamar. It's a 10-15 minut walk away from the railway station/city center. A bit far to walk, and a very short trip by taxi. The hotels main attributes is the adjoining conference center, which is very good and flexible - with a large hall for big meetings, and lot's of different size meeting/group rooms.
The room I got was very standard. OK, but for one thing. It was on the "smokers floor". As the hotel was packed, I was warned that it was the only room available. But I'd recommend redoing the whole floor and make the whole hotel smoke free. All my clothes smelt after one night in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room high up, and make sure you don't get a room on the floor reserved for smokers. It sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamar, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Google Translation
Kjære gjest.

Tusen takk for din tilbakemelding på Tripadvisor.

Vi tar med dine kommentarer for den fremtidige planleggingen for videre utviking av hotellet vårt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
19
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar saba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel is not reliable one, not place to stay!
I stayed in hotel for one day in August 2012 and left in my room the expensive jeans suit.
The same day I called the hotel, a person in the reception confirmed that my suit was found.
I asked to stick a label with my name and wait for a week, then I would give the shipping instructions.
But when I returned home, and called the hotel, I heard that none jeans suit was available, so was it lost or....?
Anyway I applied by fax to a General manager, but he didn't trouble himself to reply.
Terrible service, none respect to the guests!

Room Tip: Never stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamar, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest.
Thank you for your responds at Tripadvisor.

I will follow up your request by telephone September 25th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Clean comfortable buisness Hotel but why so average and dull , zzzzzzz. Average breakfast , below average lunch and nice but dull rooms. Plenty parking but no food and beverage if you arrive on a sunday ?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamar, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for your feedback. We will use this - and all other comments from our guests to conitnue developing our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

As usual, the challenge of finding accommodation for 5 reared its head. I tried to book 2 rooms at a reasonable rate online, but something failed, so I e-mailed them. Imagine my surprise when they offered me interconnecting rooms at a lower rate than that offered online! And with breakfast included. 

The rooms exceeded our expectations, and were both modern and spacious. A surprising feature in the larger room was the ability to adjust the reclining position of the bed electronically. 

The restaurant was good, but beware. We made the mistake of taking a few extra minutes to consider our order. By then a couple of bus loads of tourists had arrived. Their buffet was given priority, and it took 45 minutes for our food to arrive. When they finally served us, the staff were very attentive. I was impressed when the waiter observed me telling my daughter to mind her manners. as we weren't at home, then corrected me, saying that at Scandic they want guests to feel as if they are in their own home. 

The breakfast buffet the next morning was ample, and included pancakes, to the children's delight. 

All in all, I felt that Scandic complied with its motto. 

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamar, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regaring your stay at Scandic Hamar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pleasant staff, good size room, breakfast OK, good bed, spare towels, dinner OK -a handy one night stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you! Please stop and visit us again when you need accomodation in Hamar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel is situated far from the town but there is a few convenience stores located with 5-10mins walk. Room is clean and comfortable. Free internet / WIFI usage too.

Breakfast & buffet dinner is alright with lots of choice for fruits and salads!

What else can go wrong if u choose to stay with Scandic ")

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamar, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate your comments!

Hope we you again - very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Large rooms.
Very comfortable beds.
Good breakfast "english style".
Free parking and internet and also free rent of bicycle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamar, General Manager at Scandic Hamar, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamar

Address: Vangsveien 121, Hamar 2318, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Hamar Municipality > Hamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hamar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Scandic Hamar hotel and enjoy a quiet, central location near Lake Mjøsa. 239 comfortable rooms, 2 restaurants and bar. Spend time in our gym and sauna or do business in 17 meeting rooms in total of 4500m2. An hour from the airport, we have free parking and wireless internet access at no extra charge in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Hamar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.