We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Suites to your Saves list
Opera Suites
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Karntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 107 Vienna B&B and Inns
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Both the location and the staff here are absolutely wonderful. The hotel is right on the main pedestrian walkway, opposite the Opera House. My wallet and credit cards were stolen in Budapest several days earlier and I was still trying to sort things out when I arrived in Vienna. Markus, who owns the hotel, let me use his phone -- which required two hours to sort out -- free of charge until all was settled. He also reconfirmed my flights when I need to rebook because of a cancelation. Both he and his staff are delightful, warm, flexible people -- and fantastic at providing tour information, restaurant suggestions (Plachutta the best restaurant of my entire stay) and directions. The rooms, however, are a bit old, and the ones on the first floor seem a bit isolated, since the main desk and staff are above, on the second floor.
I'd suggest asking for a second-floor room so you can be nearer the staff (instead of having to trudge upstairs for directions, suggestions) if you're looking for some friendly faces before and after you finish your day. (I was traveling alone, so having some warm conversations was probably more impt to me than to others traveling with companions.) Markus was also flexible in letting me leave a day early, in spite of my having reserved for 7 nights, which I very much appreciated. In the mid-range of prices, this hotel is a good value for the location and cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
71
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Opera Suites recently. Our room was very nice and a good size. Nice touches: a bottle of wine to welcome us with great fruit and candy. Such a lovely gesture! We found the staff extremely helpful with whatever we asked them for. I was glad I had read it was right next to Starbucks or we would never have found it. It fronts a pedestrian street and I believe their sign was being replaced because there was only a small placard. Our room had a Built in kitchenette which was nice since breakfast is not included. You have to order it ahead and I thought it was pricey. There is a large shopping area with a nice grocery nearby so we bought cereal, juice, etc., and it worked out well. The location is perfect to just about everything. We walked everywhere and only used the subway (which is across the street) to go to Schonbrunn. You would be hard pressed to find a place more conveniently located. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First, this is not a review of the Opera Suites Hotel, just their adjacent studio apartment. Check in is at the hotel which is around the corner from the apartment. The hotel lift was broken, a continual problem as other reviewers have mentioned the same issue in past reviews over the year. Only one person was working at the hotel upon checkin and she couldn't leave the desk so there was no available help with the luggage. Not fun in the rain!

We were 3 sisters travelling together and walking into the apartment was a disappointment. The flat was very basic with drab, worn furniture and a strange layout. Directly in front of you, as you walk in, is a tiny toilet room. The main bed was fine but the sofa bed was lumpy and soft. Again, the tub/shower room is very small. The bathtub has high sides with a slick finish so getting in and out without slipping is difficult. There's a wobbly plastic half wall attached to one side of the tub that offers no support. I wouldn't be surprised if it hasn't fallen off by now! In one way, it was good having a separate toilet room as you couldn't fit more than 1 person into either room at anytime.

On the plus side the Wifi worked well and if you are in need of a basic kitchenette the apartment does provide that. Since the Opera Suites is a hotel I assumed basic housekeeping would be provided in the studio but it was not. The location is fine and within easy walking distance to many of Vienna's tourist sites. At checkout, we asked to see a hotel room and were pleasantly surprised so if travelling as a couple or single you might consider giving the hotel a try. Would I stay in their studio apartment again? Definitely not!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay at if you are visiting vienna for few days. It is in the center of the city. Close to many attractions, saint stephen's cathedral is few meters away and so the opera house. The ambiance of the hotel is nice. The staff are pro and friendly. The rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at one of the apartments of Opera Suites. Not only is it ideally located right opposite the Opera House (which is as central as it gets), but the apartments are comfortably sized, with a large enough bathroom, kitchenette, etc. and are fully fitted. The best part about our stay at Opera Suites was the warmth of the staff - especially Sigrid - who was always just a call away, ready to help with whatever it is we needed. Highly recommend Opera Suites!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After a bit of a gulp when we arrived in the rain (that was Vienna this spring....) because the elevator was out, we enjoyed the stay immensely. The location can't be beat - right across the street from the Opera House, at the corner of the subway, and 5 minutes walk to every main attraction inside the Ring. They had someone there to carry our bags upstairs and to make up for the lack of elevator, the mini-bar was free. Sigrid at the desk was warm and welcoming and exceedingly helpful - she spent ages trying to help us figure out if the trains were running to Prague (flooding issues) and let me dump all my laundry in their machine. The room was tiny though - some we saw were much bigger, but I hadn't known to ask.

Room Tip: #111 is big, #112 is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Opera Suites. The location is wonderful and great for exploring. It is located across the street from the Opera House, which was very nice because of the large screen showings outside of the Opera House that were provided in the evenings. These are live events brought to those who are not inside for the event. When you step out front, you turn to your right and walk a short ways to the center of town. So, it is close enough to easily get to everything while not so close that you step out into packed streets. If you like Starbucks, you can't get any closer than the one located downstairs.
The metro is one block away and the metro system is very easy to navigate. The room was beautiful. It was clean, tastefully decorated and included everything one needs for a two night stay. This particular room, however, was located right next to the check in counter and if there was anything that I would suggest is to try not to get that room, particularly if you want to take an hour to rest in the middle of the afternoon.
In summary, I recommend the Opera Suites for anyone traveling to Vienna.
Helpful Hint: Although this hotel is centrally located, it is a tad bit hard to find. My suggestion is to face the entrance of starbucks and look to your immediate left. The entrance is not well marked and right next to the starbucks entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites

Address: Karntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Suites is ideally located in the heart of Vienna opposite the Vienna State Opera and Hotel Sacher on Kärntner Straße 47. All Rooms are designed with the guests comfort in mind and feature flat screen satellite TV, radio, direct dial phone, Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, safe, central heating and air conditioning. The Apartments also feature kitchenettes. Our guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access in the rooms and the complimentary use of our guest laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.