We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and a Beautiful Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Suites to your Saves list
Opera Suites
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Karntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 106 Vienna B&B and Inns
Miami, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and a Beautiful Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Opera Suites. The location is wonderful and great for exploring. It is located across the street from the Opera House, which was very nice because of the large screen showings outside of the Opera House that were provided in the evenings. These are live events brought to those who are not inside for the event. When you step out front, you turn to your right and walk a short ways to the center of town. So, it is close enough to easily get to everything while not so close that you step out into packed streets. If you like Starbucks, you can't get any closer than the one located downstairs.
The metro is one block away and the metro system is very easy to navigate. The room was beautiful. It was clean, tastefully decorated and included everything one needs for a two night stay. This particular room, however, was located right next to the check in counter and if there was anything that I would suggest is to try not to get that room, particularly if you want to take an hour to rest in the middle of the afternoon.
In summary, I recommend the Opera Suites for anyone traveling to Vienna.
Helpful Hint: Although this hotel is centrally located, it is a tad bit hard to find. My suggestion is to face the entrance of starbucks and look to your immediate left. The entrance is not well marked and right next to the starbucks entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
71
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Opera Suites setup is a little confusing because it comprises the main hotel (most of the photos you will see) and the reception desk on Kartnerstrasse together with a few apartments in 2 other nearby buildings - sort of like annexes. This might help in navigating the hotel's website, which is not very clear about this split arrangement. It might also help in dealing with reception at the booking stage, as there was some comical confusion with us about just what apartment was being booked.

We stayed last October in one of 2 apartments located in Walfingsgasse 6 - the one on the 6th floor (an earlier reviewer seems to have had the larger one on the 7th floor). It ran from the street back to a large private terrace off the main bedroom. It was certainly very quiet, despite being right next to the lift and only half a block from the busy Opera House precinct and opposite a popular eatery.

Pluses:
- bright, clean, airy and roomy
- comfortable bed in the enormous main bedroom (but not so the other bed)
- very central location for sights, metro and a great supermarket nearby (a Billa 'Corso')
- good reading lights, plenty of storage space
- good bathroom, clothes washer and separate toilet with handbasin
- good reception service upon arrival, and following
- good wifi included.

Minuses:
- very basic small kitchen with no oven or dishwasher and poor lighting (the apartment on the 7th floor seems to offer a better kitchen).
- second bedroom is in fact an uncomfortable sofabed in the living room. This is the same open space as the kitchen and the dining table, so there is little privacy and is an awkward arrangement if you are not in the one family.
- shower is the in-the-bath type and rather slippery - an anti-slip mat is needed really
- no clothes dryer, although drying racks worked fine if you have more time
- very tiny lift, but manageable.

Overall it proved a good base for visiting fabulous Vienna. perhaps better suited to a family group of 3-4, rather than a group of friends.

Room Tip: Check if the 7th floor flat is better suited for you - better kitchen but unusual bedroom layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A wonderful time in Vienna was enhanced by our stay at the Opera Suites. The staff was thoroughly pleasant and helpful at all times. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and altogether a wonderful respite from our days of museum trekking. Our focus was the Spanish Riding Academy which was a short walk away, in fact most everything was just a short walk away. We were so comfortable at this hotel, I won't stay anywhere else in Vienna, yes it was that good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel - in a perfect position- opposite Hotel Sacher, the opera house and the Albertina Museum, and about 5 minutes walk away from the Hofburg. Hotel is well looked after and the bathroom looked practically new with a giant shower! Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Have already recommended to my parents going next year to Vienna.

Also entrance not the easiest to find but advice on tripadvisor was excellent - its next door to Starbucks!

Room Tip: Suggest room at back of hotel as very quiet not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The suits are in a perfect location near all the important attractions and museums in Vienna. The staff is excellent and treat you as if you were family. They go out of their way to help you and our overall experience was excellent. The rooms are cozy and beautifully decorated. We couldn't have stayed in a better place! I will definitely stay at these suits in my next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in October, so admittedly the review is a bit dated now. The hotel is on two floors of a building in Kärntnerstraße, a pedestrian shopping district in Vienna. If mobility is an issue, there is a (very) small elevator in the building. I was just as happy to climb up the stairs! It is an ideal location, being just across the street from the Opera House and a short walk to both the Hofburg Palace and St Stephen’s Cathedral. The Hotel Sacher is also directly across the street and it is well worth stopping in for a piece of their famous Sachertorte.

The building has a receptionist available for a few hours during the day but the feel is almost like having your private suite in the city. The staff was unfailingly friendly and the owner Markus went out of his way to help us. I have a chronic back injury that acted up while we were in Vienna and Markus went next door every day to get ice from Starbucks for me.

There room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom looked brand-new and was spotless. Breakfast (an extra expense) was delivered to the room each morning and was plentiful. Coffee, tea, water, and fruit were available at all hours and there was also a well-stocked mini-bar.

The only comment I would add is that Kärntnerstraße is crowded and lively on a Saturday night so you may experience a bit of late night noise, but nothing too bad and it dies down after midnight. I would highly recommend Vienna and Vienna Opera Suites and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel is very well located for those visiting the city, heaving opera tickets or even being there for shopping. It is some 50 meters away from Albertina Museum & The State Opera. In case one needs to go to Pandorf Outlet outside Vienna, there's a direct shuttle that leaves every hour, starting 10 am. You can get it in front of the State Opera.

The thing I loved the most about Opera Suites were it's employees - very kind, friendly and attentive people. We've booked an apartment that was fully equipped for receiving 6 people in good conditions. About the entrance of the hotel... well, I took the time of reading some of the reviews and that helped us. A lot! Look for the address on Google Map or other sites, at your convenience, so you can see were it's located ( the same building as Starbucks and, as you stay in front of the coffee shop entrance, you'll find a little entrance on your left hand - that's it, you're there!). In case you reach the hotel late at night, then call in advance and someone will wait for you at the Reception. Otherwise they close it around 6 pm.

Room Tip: If you book an apartment instead of a room, then make sure that is the one located at the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites

Address: Karntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Suites is ideally located in the heart of Vienna opposite the Vienna State Opera and Hotel Sacher on Kärntner Straße 47. All Rooms are designed with the guests comfort in mind and feature flat screen satellite TV, radio, direct dial phone, Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, safe, central heating and air conditioning. The Apartments also feature kitchenettes. Our guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access in the rooms and the complimentary use of our guest laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.