We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in the middle of Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Opera Suites to your Saves list
Opera Suites
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Karntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 107 Vienna B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in the middle of Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel was located in a great area. A little hard to find (small sign) but the taxi driver knew right where we were going. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. The hotel room was well taken care of and maintained, a nice size and furnished nicely with super comfy beds. Breakfast was served in your room at the time of your choosing very nice selection and really really excellant coffee (so addicted to it now). I was extremly pleased with every aspect of the hotel it was a great find in a really excellant location. When in Vienna stay here you will be extremely pleased and love every minute of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    47
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
71
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed in Opera suites hotel with my family at July 2012, we stayed there because they had the cheapest room for 5 in Vienna (it was a two- bedroom apartment at Walfischgasse, two minutes from the hotel).
When the nice receptionist opened our apartment's door, we were amazed: the room was huge, the beds were big and comfortable, the furniture was beautiful and the room was equipped with anything we needed (shiny dishes, all the cooking facilities, and even a Nespresso machine and an iPhone docking station.
In addition, the room's location was fantastic! it was 100 meters from the main shopping street and the opera house, but there wasn't noise at night because the apartment was in a quiet alley. The U-Bahn (metro) station was close, but we didn't use it a lot because all the important attractions and museums were in a walking distance.
I recommand this hotel for every individual/family that want to visit Vienna.
The price is very fair, and the room and the service we got were worth every single Euro we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent 5 nights in this hotel on the beginning of July. We were a party of 5 and got two rooms by the reception. The hotel is a gem if you are looking for a small, clean and centrally located one. The hotel occupies some floors of a building right in front of the Sacher Hotel, on Kartnerstrasse, close to all major attractions. The entry of the hotel is inconspicuous and one may not notice it. There is also some work being done on the entry way what can contribute to a first bad impression. But when you finally reach the hotel you will feel like being in someone’s house. During our stay we felt like we were in our won apartments. The impression is reinforced because you rarely sees other guests and you have the keys for the main doors, since the receptions is unattended between 6PM and 8AM. One nice touch is the Nespresso coffee makers in the room, wi-fi (with a ridiculous long password) and the air conditioning with the remote control. The hotel is small (12 rooms) so I recommend booking early.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Kartnerstrasse and we loved to watch the movement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has to be the discovery of the year. It is right opposite the Opera House and in the centre of the action. Karlsplatz U Bahn is about 300 metre walk and other attractions all within walking distance or short underground ride. Don't expect your 'normal' as the hotel is on the 1st and 2nd floor of a beautiful old building. Reception 2nd floor and they buzz you in. Look for Starbucks and L'Occitane for the entrance. There are only 12 rooms. I stayed twice with a gap between visits and it was like staying with family. Staff are outstanding - personable helpful and nothing is too difficult. There is no restaurant but breakfast delivered to your room and there are countless places to eat right outside the door. Hope you enjoy your stay. Music Lover

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

On planning our itinerary we decided we needed to overnight in Vienna and our brief stay at the Opera Suites in Vienna became a surprise highlight. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room had every creature comfort - spectacularly comfortable beds and crisp linen, a small coffee table adorned with fresh fruit, sofa and small kitchen - complete with coffee machine! The hotel is wonderfully located - right in the middle of everything - but the glazing means you can sleep soundly. Would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at new apartments on Walfishgasse, just around the corner from the main office. Our apartment was on the 7th floor. It has a good sized living room with sleeping sofa, dinning table and a small kitchen that has everything. One large bathroom off the hallway. On the opposite side a door opens to one large bedroom with beds next to each other and to yet another room with an additional bed where two children can sleep. The apartment has a washing and dryer machine, dishwasher, Nespresso machine, microwave and a stove. Cutlery, plates, glasses are provided. Marcus the owner was very nice to welcome us with flowers, a bowl full of fruits, water in the refrigerator and coffee pods Nespresso for at least 5 days. Every morning I got fresh croissants and breads from around the corner Billa. Two Nespresso shops are on your way to Billa. We found the apartment clean and supplies, such as dishwasher detergent, were delivered quickly. It does not have AC and we were in Vienna at 90s F outside. In Vienna it's always a breeze and opening the windows on both sides cooled the place. We had three vertical fans to use in addition. We did not suffer from heat.

The location can not be better, close to the heart of the city in walking distance from museums, opera and park as well as public transportation. The restaurant across the street has an excellent wiener schnitzel with outdoor sitting.

From the airport you can hire a limo service on line for €32 one way up to 4 people.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Opera Suites I would recommend to anyone who is looking for something different.  Our stay was marred by the fact that I arrived  very sick, within an hour they had a doctor in my room even though it was a Saturday. Our room was very spacious ,facing the front,, with a settee , desk, table and two chairs. We were supplied with coffee, fruit, chocolate daily. But not only were the staff efficient , helpful but for a a sick person considerate and kind, sending  in a card with roses wishing me better health. Tell me where else you would receive this?
The beds were very comfortable with excellent linens, I know I spent a lot of time in the bed. The room was kept cool by a silent air-conditioner, and yet the bathroom was deliciously warm, with in floor heating .
The only problem for us was that we are both in our 70's and the shower was slippery and had no grab bars and was a poor design. But all the other benefits  far outweigh this small detail.
Thankfully I was in such a pleasant place and they we so helpful to my husband when we had to change plans from flying to a long rail journey .

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites

Address: Karntner Strasse 47, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Suites is ideally located in the heart of Vienna opposite the Vienna State Opera and Hotel Sacher on Kärntner Straße 47. All Rooms are designed with the guests comfort in mind and feature flat screen satellite TV, radio, direct dial phone, Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, safe, central heating and air conditioning. The Apartments also feature kitchenettes. Our guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access in the rooms and the complimentary use of our guest laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Opera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.