We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does noone understand the meaning of Italian-American any more?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's American Bar & Restaurant

Frank's American Bar & Restaurant
Laurenzerberg 2 | Nahe Schwedenplatz, Vienna A-1010, Austria
(0) 1 513 78 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #837 of 2,875 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Does noone understand the meaning of Italian-American any more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Does exactly what it says on the tin. This is what I would expect from an Italian-American diner. Steaks, pizza, pasta, ribs, burgers. I have no clue what the people who are saying there's "nothing American" on the menu are expecting!

The service was great, we were warmly greeted and treated with a light but very friendly touch. I got the feeling that I could have asked the waiter for anything and he'd've done his best to accommodate.

If you're after a taste of "home", you can't go far wrong with Franks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    43
    36
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Average Joe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Its all been said, weird but central location. Nothing American except some items on the menu for example burgers and steaks. Staff were very good and the food too. If your on a budget you will love the low (for Europe) prices. Worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Place is alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I went here with my wife for dinner while on vacation in Vienna. It's an interesting place as it's kind of hidden away in a larger building that you wouldn't really notice from just walking by. As the previous poster said, there really is nothing American about this place other than the fact that they have Cheeseburgers on the menu. The beer was pretty good, and the food wasn't bad. The atmosphere is pretty cool as the restaurant is surprisingly larger than you would have thought when you first walk in the front door. The service was pretty good. A bit pricey, though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nothing American about this”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were VERY jet lagged and wanted some easy food - we were not up to having weinersnitzel at the time. We went into Franks and ordered some simple pizza (you cannot mess that up right?). It was really awful. The waiter recommended a few things and we listened - big mistake. My pizza smelled of raw meat - I could not eat it and I was starving. I am not a foodie but I am certainly accustomed to traveling internationally and trying all types of foods, this was just bad. Just an FYI for anyone who may care about this (didn't bother me but I would want to know), the do allow pets inside and they smoke inside as well.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very nice room, mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very nicely appointed rooms, good space (tables not too close together), beautiful fixtures, lots of plants--overall this is a very, very pleasant environment. The menu is fairly extensive though not as particularly "American" as I was expecting. The staff was pleasant but forgetful and probably overworked, as it was hard to get their attention. Though this is typical in Vienna, it seemed a little worse than even in other Viennese restaurants. For this reason, even though we had decided on coffee and dessert, we ended up leaving and going elsewhere as we couldn't get out order entered.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's American Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Frank's American Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's American Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.