We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley fantastic New years-dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skopik & Lohn

Skopik & Lohn
Leopoldsgasse 17, Vienna A-1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)
(0) 1 219 89 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 2,876 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutley fantastic New years-dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to Skopik und Lohn for our new years dinner - not really knowing what to expekt, exept the reviews on TA. This turned out to be one of the best meals I´ve ever had in a restaurant (and I'm picky and really food-interested). We ate a five course dinner, starting with a samlet that meltet in your mouth, a smoked trout boulllion with fishcakes, lobster ravioli with veal sweatbread, saddle of venison with black pudding (outstanding, try it if you get the chance!) and chocolate variations for dessert. The service was kind and fast, and although it took some time between the courses the food made it well worth the wait! The music and light made the atmosphere of a 1920:s restaurant, very nice. The price is VERY reasonable for the quality of the food - great value for money!

It is not many restaurants that I would say that I would like to revisit - but this is one of them! Well done Skopik und Lohn!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    58
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Austrian ambience at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Skopik and Lonh is genuinely classy and as with all places of such kind it does not shout about it. We booked for the dinner of the New Year and we loved it. The restaurant is welcoming in all respects. The ambience is fantastic. The service attentive and discrete (although towards the end of our dinner when the place was full, the standard of the service dropped appreciably). Children had the schnitzel, which was good, but I am sure one can get better schnitzel in Vienna. My wife had the beet risotto, which she loved. I had the oxen's best, which was great. The venison carpaccio was SUPERB. Skopik and Lohn is more than about food. It is about elegance and character. A great ambassador of Vienna. A must visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked our dinner on Christmas day at Skopik & Lohn. The atmosphere was very pleasant, the music nice and discrete, and the service very good. The waiter was very kind and gentle and helped us out with all our questions concerning the menu options. We followed his recommendations and we did not regret it! Food was truly excellent, with very balanced combinations of ingredients and tastes. The Schnitzel was superb, but also "das Beste vom Ochsen" (we recommend!) and the red wine. The prices are fair, and for the wine we daresay even lower than expected. We will definitely book there again the next time we are in Vienna. The only negative memory from that evening comes from a rather strange Italian family eating next to us, with some of them having no manners whatsoever, standing on the wooden bench on their shoes or burping throughout the evening. Not the fault of the restaurant, of course.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have spent an excellent dinner at Christmas Eve . The food was delicious . The first drinks were great ( vodka lemon started cocktail ). You should try the entrecôte with pepper sauce it was marvelous also the red wine from Argentine was terrific. The service was excellent!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place for an easy dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice atmosphere, slightly hot and noisy, but overall ok.
very simple menu
Food of good quality.
Service slow (due to many guests) but very focused on customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skopik & Lohn also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Skopik & Lohn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skopik & Lohn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.