We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the end a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dots - experimental Sushi

Dots - experimental Sushi
Mariahilfer Strasse 103, Vienna, Austria (Mariahilf)
01/9209980
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,049 of 2,867 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mariahilf
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“in the end a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Sushi was very good, good quality of fish - however, it's not worth the money you spend! Waiters are very unfriendly, service takes ages and if you make the mistake not to ask about the price for your small glas of Veltliner (a white wine typical for Vienna) you are asked to pay 7 Euros for it in the end plus the 2,9 service charge per person :(.
To all Sushi lovers: I recommend choosing another place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    24
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Kildare
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food not the smoking waiter.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate here on Mon 8th July which was our last night in beautiful Vienna as it was close to our hotel. The service started off pretty bad one of the waiters spent most of his time smoking which is very off putting I was not keen on his hands carrying out my food but thankfully the other waiter was lovely. He explained the menu to us and recommended what to try. I loved the food and our bottle of wine was excellent. While our waiter as I said was lovely (he was Serbian) the other guy would really put you off, go and smoke somewhere the dinner guests cannot see you please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ok the food is delicious.
However the service there is horrible. The waiters are rude and one has to wait forever to receive the order.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“EXPERIMENTAL SUSHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

the title says it all! The menu of the restaurants make it all very interesting with the different selection on names they give to sushi and the weird and 'challenging' descriptions they give to the dishes! The sushi I had there was TOP QUALITY! The only thing that initially I found funny but then it bothered me a bit was that the men's restroom has a one way glass that looks into the ladies' room!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Sushi rediscovered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a family event : our daughter in law opted for this already 7 years existing DOTS restaurant.
A rather young clientele in an unconventional ambiente hidden in a pedestrial throughway enjoyed visibly ( and audibly) extraordinary sushi maki sashimi and all similar named japanese rice based fish specialities . The owner- ironically a chinese- invented totally new tastes by introducing different meat , veggies and even sushi style sweets .
We tried a lot of the unconventional courses and found it thoroghly enjoyable .
Friendly and eficient service . We will visit again .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dots - experimental Sushi also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Dots - experimental Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dots - experimental Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.