We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Asian Vegetarian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vegetasia

Vegetasia
Ungargasse 57, Vienna 1030, Austria
004317138332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 3,012 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Asian Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For some reason, I was skeptical about this place but was very pleasantly surprised. The service was fast, the decor was modern and clean. In fact, the place was packed and we barely got a table without a reservation. Most importantly, the food was excellent and a great value. We had appetizers, soup, a platter of main courses, and drinks and spent much less than at other places in Vienna that were not as good. I normally would not come to Vienna to eat Asian vegetarian food, but this place was excellent and I'll eat here again for sure if in Vienna.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“more than just good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Vegetasia is my favourite vegetarian restaurant. The variety of food is pretty high. From tofu to seitan and vegetables - the dishes are excellent! I brought some meat-eating friends there and they couldn't beliefe how good it was - even though there was not a slight trace of "something that once had eyes".
The outdoor seating is located next to the road, but it's quite comfortable.
The personnel is very nice, and the atmosphere is pleasant.
For me this restaurant is always a highlight, and (in combination of meeting some friends) a reason to go to vienna every once in a while!
I just can highly recommend this restaurant to either vegetarians, meat-eater who want to explore what "vegetarian food" actually means and everybody else, who eats every now and then too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Definitely different...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ended up in the above restaurant pretty much because it was raining and seeking shelter!
Staff friendly and approachable , explained the unusual meat substituted menu....initially sceptical but decided to give it a go! And were pleasantly surprised- our only grumble is that they have no wine menu only beer and sake.
Meals didn't feel vegetarian and were tasty.
Felt a bit strange to be in a restaurant not serving meat but whose customers kept bringing their dogs in......but obviously popular as it was full. The only thing to avoid is the pudding.........

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tastless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This palce was highly recommended but failed to meet my expectations as a vegetarian. The food was overpriced and generally without flavor. Better noodle dishes can be had at the street stands for half the price. Try to Nascht Markt for good soups and noodles.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian-Only Option in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This restaurant slightly off the beaten path east of Stadtpark has many, many options to choose from - soy versions of many traditional Asian dishes and some new twists, as well. The almond crusted schnitzel was unique and delicisious. The platter primarily consisted of deep fried items (heavy), but it was still good, with the peanut balls being of special note.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetasia also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Vegetasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vegetasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.