We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relief” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karntnerring 8, Vienna A-1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a relief”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When I entered the lobby of the Ring Hotel my heart sank and I actually started to feel ill. "Damn", I thought, "what a dingy, dirty dump." My disappointment soon disappeared when I saw our room . . a huge, clean, updated jr. suite with a great layout. Big windows, lots of closet space, well designed bathroom and water closet. There was a little broken table in our room however. The fitness room exceeded my expectations - modern, clean well thought out. The front desk was very kind and helpful, although we weren't too pleased with restaurant they sent us to.
My advice to the Ring: UPDATE YOUR LOBBY!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear 'enlightenedtraveler1', thank you for your great review and corresponding comments on your recent stay@The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury. You must know that the lobby of The Ring is pretty small, this is due to the size of the hotel, it has a U-shape, so when building the hotel in 2007 we had no more space as we wanted for our lobby. Perhaps you can tell us what you would like us to change, despite the size....thank you also for your comments on the Cosmopolitan Suite and the staff, much appreciated. Looking forward welcoming you again@The Ring in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    128
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
277
48
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pros:
Location - fabulous! -- directly on the Ring and an easy walk to all attractions.
Room - the bed is extremely comfortable and the room very clean. There is turn-down service (with a chocolate) and the cleaning staff provides plenty of toiletries as soon as you use them (shampoo, conditioner, soaps, shower cap, etc). There are TONS of towels in the room which was very nice.
Room service - room service is quite nice if you have to get out early in the morning, although we preferred eating in the cafes.

Cons:
Concierge - the concierge is not dedicated to the hotel - if you email prior to your visit you hear back from the concierge at the sister hotel (who is quite helpful). During your stay the concierge is just the reception desk - they are nice but not overly helpful.
Room -- the room was quite warm and although the staff indicated that they turned down the heat we were still very warm every night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear 'overpack24', great review, thank you, also for decsribing the 'pros and cons' so detailed. As to the concierge service, you must know that The Ring has no dedicated concierge although the reception staff does handle all possible concierge services. In addition to that the concierge department at the Grand Hotel Wien does assist here very well, here we have 3 concierges who handle all ticket handlings and numerous concierge services. Thank you for staying with us, we are looking forward welcoming you again in the very near future@The Ring, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, MI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My first impression was disappointment. I expected the hotel to be inside the ring, in the pedestrian area, not on one of the busy roads encircling it. Once I became acclimated to the city I appreciated the hotel's location. The lobby, in my opinion, was a bit shabby. The furniture was worn. The help was efficient and friendly. On our reservation we indicated that we were celebrating our anniversary. The room was spacious facing the road with a city view. There were fresh flowers, wine and a torte on the table with linens and china.The lighting was exquisite. The bathroom was large with a tub/shower combination. Bathrobes and lotions were of a high quality. I like sleeping with windows open and this proved to be a problem. The noise from the road made for a miserable night's sleep. When we shut the windows the room became too warm. I suspect the air conditioning had already been turned off even though we had it turned on - the room never cooled. In the morning we asked for a room change and we were graciously accomodated with a room with a courtyard view. Actually it was not really a view of anything - but it was quiet at night. This room was also large and well appointed. It had a separate shower stall. There was a pharmacy and a small grocery store a few doors away - so great to get water and drinks. We had a few drinks at the hotel vodka bar. The bartender was friendly but given the price it was a very light pour. Very nice stay overall.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with a window open ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'klenc', thank you for your kind review. I am a bit suprised that your first impression was a bit disappointing, as you might have seen when looking at our website we are not directly located at the city centre but directly at the famous 'Ringstrasse'.........I do appreciate all other comments on your stay in general, looks like we made your stay to an unforgettable one, and I am looking forward seeing you again@The Ring, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We often visit Vienna for weekend breaks, but we stayed first time in The Ring Hotel. We can definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to enjoy perfect service in the real city centre – all you need is on foot walk distance. What makes this hotel extraordinary is the staff – willingness to help you, in any moment with a smile which is not usual in Vienna hotels. The only issue where the hotel did not match our expectations was the room. We chose so called “X-Ordinary room” which was described as something better the “Superior room”. The room was small on 6 floor without any view - you have only roof window so everything what you see is the last floor of opposite hotel and the sky. We did not use the breakfast possibility as there is no buffet breakfast and to have breakfast hotel menu where the cheapest version is coffee, juice and roll with butter and jam for 23 Euro we feel like a crazy joke! We recommend to use Caffe Shwarzenberg opposite the hotel, classical historical caffe, where you can get for smaller money opulent breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'Jirrka', thank you for your kind comments on your stay@The Ring, much appreciated! Happy to read your positive remarks on our staff. As to your room, we do have some rooms in the category 'X-Ordinary' at the 6th and 7th floor that do differ from the ones at the other floors. As to your comments on the breakfast, we do serve breakfast a la carte as we simply do not have the space for a buffet and the a la carte concept fits to the overall hotel concept. Nevertheless I have taken notice of your comments and we will improve where we can. Looking forward welcoming you again@The Ring, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Ring is simple small hotel, the good thing about this hotel is the location, the service, and the rooms, rooms are specious and luxurious, historical vienna is at your door steps and the service is very good, knowledgeable and helpful staff. it is not a cheap hotel but it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'Wael2011', great review, thank you, your comments are much appreciated, we are indeed small (only 68 rooms and suites), our location is indeed great.......happy to welcome you back@The Ring.....best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just returned from a September vacation in Austria, beginning with 5 nights in Vienna. After extensive research on TripAdvisor and other web sites, we chose The Ring, and from the minute we arrived we were happy with our choice. As is often mentioned here, the hotel staff is superb--friendly, gracious, and incredibly helpful in every way. Our room was very large--a rare thing in most European hotels--thoughtfully planned and attractively furnished in a contemporary but subdued style. The bed was exactly what every weary traveler should find at the end of a long journey. The room was very well lit, and had a large desk and table,good closet space, huge windows, well-stocked mini-bar, and nice bathroom with good products. Everything has been chosen with taste and care. And despite the fact that the ring road is a constant hub of activity, inside the room it was peaceful and quiet, guaranteeing a good night's sleep. The location is perfect for seeing many of the important sights (though you would need to stay for months to do this city justice) on foot, or by public transportation. We mostly chose to walk because it is a great walking city, and one of our favorite things was to just poke at our leisure around the narrow streets of this district, wandering into shops and churches and watching the people, the horse-drawn carriages, and the happy cafe life. Breakfast at The Ring is expensive, so as another reviewer suggested, we ate every morning at the nearby and lovely old Hotel Romischer Kaiser, where the breakfast was of high quality and variety at a much lower rate. That hotel also led us to the narrow little Annagasse, our favorite street, with its small jewel of a church, the Annakirche, and many interesting shops and nice little restaurants. We are glad we began this wonderful trip at The Ring and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'kdmac', this is such a great review, I say thank you! Needless to say that it is so important to read reviews and comment them, we see more and more travellers reviewing hotels, you also did. I very much appreciate your comments on our hotel in general, our staff, the room and other services, many many thanks and I am looking forward welcoming you again@The Ring, hopefully pretty soon! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The Ring was everything it promised to be, a luxury casual boutique hotel. Situated close to the opera house and musikverein it was also a great location. We had one if the best meals we have ever eaten in at eight the Ring's own restaurant and whilst it wasn't cheap it was definately worth the money

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear 'AlisonJG25', such a great review, thank you!! Happy to read that The Ring promised you what you were expecting......looking forward welcoming you back@The Ring, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel

Address: Karntnerring 8, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#34 Business Hotel in Vienna
#52 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of a new Vienna, where art, fashion and design converge, is the ultimate boutique hotel, The Ring, Vienna’s Casual Luxury Hotel. 68 guestrooms and suites, the acclaimed restaurant At Eight, the buzzing bar Drings and The Ring Day Spa overlooking the city: This urban hideaway hotel offers laid-back luxe at its best - elegant, sleek, contemporary and completely welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Viennas Casual Luxury Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.