We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The simphony of tastes !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Schwarzen Kameel

Zum Schwarzen Kameel
Bognergasse 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
43 1 533 8125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 2,875 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The simphony of tastes !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Loved the place !!!! One of the best in Vienna !
The variety ant quality of food was amazing , the service just perfect , highly professional .
Very elegant and warm atmosphere and what is not less important on this season in Europe GOOD AC !!
Highly recommended , don't miss ( if you are not looking for cheap or fast food) !!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    128
    48
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taormina, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine, elegant, tasteful... excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very refined and elegant restaurant. The Service is cordial and impeccable. The dishes are delicious. Even the famous Wiener Schnitzel has nothing to do with what you find in other restaurants. Everything is fine! For me one of the best restaurant in Wien.
Moreover the owner is very nice and very kind. A real gentleman!
Surely, a place where I want to go back when I am in Wien.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Jugendstil gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Zum Schwarzen Kameel is the he ideal place to round off a day in Vienna spent in search of Klimt and his contemporaries. Gorgeous interior redolent of the age - tiles, lights, panelling and a menu that showcases the best of local meat, produce and cooking styles. Its not cheap (watch out for Hendricks gin at €12 a shot) but really worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durris, Scotland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Austrian cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Slightly old fashioned food, but well cooked. A good example of Austrian cuisine.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, Although Not Mind-Blowing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I ate here on our first night in Vienna. Our Hotel, the Hotel Sacher Wien, recommended this restaurant, so we decided to eat here. The food was good, although nothing special. The decor inside was also a bit old, but overall, the atmosphere was fine. I probably wouldn't eat here again if I ever go back to Vienna, but I did enjoy it enough to give it 3.5 or 4 stars.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schwarzen Kameel also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Schwarzen Kameel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Schwarzen Kameel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.