We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with famous schnitzel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Figlmueller

Figlmueller
Wollzeile 5 (Original Restaurant) | Backerstrasse 6 (Filiale), Vienna 1010, Austria
(0) 1 512 6177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 2,531 restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Auf die Speisekarte des Figlmüller Wollzeile gehören auch andere Klassiker der österreichischen Küche wie Wiener Tafelspitz mit Schnittlauchsauce, Apfelkren und Rösterdäpfel oder Kalbsrahmgulasch mit Butternockerln. Von den 13 Gerichten auf der Karte wird aber meistens nur eins geordert. Das Figlmüller Schnitzel ist ausschließlich von der Karreerose, wird auf einen Durchmesser von etwa 30 cm geklopft und in Brösel von der Kaisersemmel paniert.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant with famous schnitzel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice place, good food, best schnitzel ever tried and ate... Service was good, not so warm, but austrian hospitality won't be remember as too warm. They must solve a waiting line problem, because I was so uncomfortable sitting and eating with people starring from a line to my plate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    847
    796
    266
    81
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ks
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The atmosphere was great. (I was at the Figlmueller on Backerstrabe.) The food good (potato soup, snitzel, greens and potato salad with a great dressing and the house white wine). The waiters were very nice and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We visited this delightful restaurant for lunch on the last day of our trip to Vienna. We went to the smaller restaurant located in the alley next to the larger establishment. Our waiter, Herr Karl, was very friendly and helpful. We had the classic potato & mushroom soup, followed by enormous Wienerschnitzel and salad. Absolutely delicious. If you want to try the Viennese classic I recommend you go here! Also enjoyed a bottle of Gruener Veltliner from the restaurants own vineyard. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Viennerschnitzel to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Definitely the best schnitzel I every ate. Be prepared for wainting in front of the restaurant but it's worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Figlmüller Schmiglmüller...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Surely this arrogant lot can never get any repeat business? They must rely solely on a constant stream of new tourists turning up at their door, because they care little for keeping their customers happy or providing any kind of professional service. Having been before about 10 years ago, we knew that the food was great but that the waiters (who I think believe themselves to be witty) were not. This time we booked a table for a Sunday evening and arrived on time. The place was heaving and there were clearly no free tables, so the reservation was worthless. Of the 4 or 5 staff scurrying about in apparently foul moods, not one of them was interested in talking to us or the other 8 or so people waiting for attention. In the end we walked out in disgust. There are plenty of other places to get a decent schnitzel in Vienna, and life's too short to be treated like dirt and have to pay for the privilege.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figlmueller also viewed

 

Been to Figlmueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Figlmueller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.