We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plachutta

Plachutta
Wollzeile 38, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
01 512 15 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $24 - $30
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

A few friends recommend this restaurant. We showed up at around 21:30 on a Saturday night without a reservation. We had to wait at the "bar" for 20 mins for a table. There was no proper queuing system and several couples who arrived after us were seated before us.
The food is traditional meat dishes. The waiters seemed to be rushing around and we had to call them over a few times for services.
Compared to other "tourist trap" restaurants in other cities, the price was reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    625
    203
    80
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We wanted to try something authentic and had done the sausage and schnitzel thing. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the service was great. We enjoyed the boiled beef dishes and had fun with the coursing that came out of one pot. Marrow on toast - yum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finest Weinerschnitzel in Austria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were told this by a couple from Bonn while we were touring Istanbul, so we had to try it. It was somewhat overpriced, but still reasonable, and it was a bit loud and crowded, but the service was excellent and the weinerschnitzel was indeed fantastic. The tafelspitz was much, much better!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Wiener Schnitzel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ate twice here during our 2 day stay in Vienna, which eating twice in the same restaurant is something we never do. Really looked forward to trying the Wiener Schnitzel and was not disappointed! It was delicious, crispy and tender! Best I've ever had! Had to go back and see what all the production was over the Tafelspitz! Several waiters descend upon your table to set up the experience! Everyone was eating it! It's a boiled beef dish served in pretty copper pots with so many side dishes and it's quite yummy! You eat the broth first, like a soup, then you eat the tender beef and veggies. We had the same waiter both days and he seemed more relaxed the second day, like we were regulars! They serve a great basket of delicious bread and the outdoor patio is very relaxing. We were there on a Sunday and it was so cute to see so many locals dressed up in their Sunday best enjoying a great lunch. It's always good advice to eat where the locals eat! I did see many locals celebrating special occasions both time we were here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peter Lugar's of Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My favorite restaurant genre is the Steakhouse typically found in New York City or Chicago. I never had Tafelspitz before and I wanted to try a "signature" dish from Vienna that wasn't Wienerschnitzel or Bratwurst. (Nothing wrong with those, but not new to me). I had low expectations of "boiled meat". Was I more than pleasantly surprised! The Tafelspitz was outstanding, the spinach and potatoes and side dishes were terrific. The service had the NY Steakhouse feel. Professional, brisk and friendly. It was "fairly" priced, that is what I expected or marginally less expensive than I thought. It is a great way to end our stay in Vienna. Best meal of the trip thus far. Absolutely a "must".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plachutta also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Plachutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plachutta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.