We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crowded out door seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Demel

Demel
Kohlmarkt 14, Vienna 1010, Austria
(0) 1 535-1717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 2,529 restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Austrian, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Romania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“crowded out door seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

At Demel, the cakes are on my taste, cakes here are more tasty than those from far-famed Sacher Caffe!
Saher Torte in my opinion it become something too commercial (you can notice all over the Saher vicinity hotel, caffe, restaurant, stube etc. everybody eat Saher Torte), and like all that are do at large scale it became - as dozen. So: do not waste time and pleasure to eat a cake at Saher Caffe!!! go directly to Demel where you will find more delicious, and many choices of cakes.
But if you can not find a place to Demel outdoor seating, do not make the mistake of going across the street to a humble cafe, I really do not know how it is the name. At this Caffe We wait our husbands to buy and take home cakes, we were treated bad, naughty. It was a rude waitress from Bucharest, Romania, even if she said it's tired, she should not wear with customers like that! A jerk!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    477
    352
    189
    69
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Viennese Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing cafe in the heart of everything. Worth a stop for a great cup of hot chocolate and a pastry. We went back a second time for lunch -- soup, quiche and salad, all excellent. Try and get a seat next to the window where the pastry chefs are making the cakes -- an unforgettable experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Busy but that`s ok. Badly run! The customers have to hunt for a table, be rude to each other (the stronger gets the table), If you`re lucky and tough and you`re finally sitting, a waitress comes (overloaded with duties, so tired, sad and inefficient). The food is so much overrated, not tasty (strudel was dry, chocolate souffle was actually a chocolate cake). Don`t waste your time and go somewhere else.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Agree ... somewhat overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We heard so much about this place from tour guides to fellow travellers. It was very busy during our visit and our server worked very hard in her area. That said, service was very slow. The cakes were good ... not great, but certainly good. The decor was elegant and clean on the upper levels. The experience was somewhat ruined by obnoxious children screaming and running around the area .. worst case of parenting I have ever seen, and of course not the restaurants fault. Price was high, service was slow, food was average. I suppose its the experience and reputation you are paying for ... but it seemed like a bit of a tourist trap to me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Pastries - Highly Over-Rated Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Demel in Vienna is iconic. We watched people listen to lectures about it in tour groups. We watched folks walk up, take a picture of the sign and leave. We were expecting good things when we went to have one of the famous coffees and a pastry. I had a cheese-custard strudel. My wife a multi-layered slice of cake. They were delicious ... and the coffee was good too. BUT ... the place was mobbed, the ordering of the cake, which was done inside at the pastry counter, was chaotic and the outdoor service was the worst we experienced in our 5 day stay in Vienna. The final blow ... $25 CAN - for two coffees and two pastries. Seriously? With lousy service too? I do NOT recommend the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demel also viewed

 

Been to Demel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.