We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - awesome breakfast and clean spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wien City to your Saves list
Novotel Wien City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aspernbruckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location - awesome breakfast and clean spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Location is just 150mts from the underground - neroyplatz station. Breakfast simply awesome, room was very clean - comfortable beds . We stayed in executive room with two kids 11 & 9 - the sofa bed was a little small just ok - would not suit older kids. Excellent kids area downstairs. Very good access to the city - two stops. Lovely service at the desk and restaurant - would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear valuated guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiance with Novotel Vienna City. Your feedback is very important for us.

We are glad to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Our priority is to satisfy our guest, so thank you for the praise. I will of course forward it to my collegues.

Once again thank you for your positiv feedback and I hope we will welcome you in our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Chudzik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    468
    86
    13
    9
See reviews for
340
259
55
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and enjoyed it very much. It has top notch decor with stylish modern appliances, flat screen TV and rain shower. Good soundproofing that we could appreciate when we openned windows. There's apparently a sauna and a fitness center in the basement that we never got time to enjoy.
Now, a little on a negative side. Breakfast costing €17. You are almost obliged to force feed yourself for that price. The selection is good, but how much breakfast can you really consume? Another thing, even though the hotel is in walkable distance to a city center, after a long day on the town you still wish it was a block or two closer. Also, there's a $100 security deposit, quite a rarity nowadays. And one last, but most important thing for us, overweight americans. :) Mattrasses are a joke there, think of a thin IKEA mattrass. It kept me tossing and turning all night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear valuated guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Vienna City. I am sorry that your expectations have not been completely met; please allow me to express my apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate that you have shared your concerns, and I hope we will get the opportunity to convince you of our service in near future.

Kind regards,
Magdalena Chudzik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatou, France
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is in the right target of the Novotel standing: modern comfort, well furnished, connected, very clean and as new, soundproof.
The welcome is warm, efficient and professionnal.
The breakfast (quite expensive as always in these kind of restaurants) is of good standard, but the room is quite small when the hotel is full; one could have to wait 10 to 15 minutes before having a seat during the most crowded hours.
The restaurant for lunch or diner can be a little bit expensive also, but a large choice of alternative restaurants are in the area.
Just outside the historical center of Vienna, this hotel remains yet well located as the main places to visit are just within 15mn walk. For further places, a U-Bahn station is just next to the hotel.
Ideal for families: 4 people stay easily in one ordinary room, special welcome gifts for children, as well as a corner dedicated to them near to the reception. And the Prater is not far !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Wien City as part of a Easter holiday getaway, and we were interested in the classical music scene that Vienna has to offer.

The hotel is on huge northern side of the Danube canal but comfortably walkable to the centre of the Innere Stadt. St Stephen's square is about a 10 minute walk away, and the tram interchange and U-bahn stations at Schweden Platz about 5 minutes.

We stay at Novotels as we know what to expect. The room was well-laid out and spotless. The reception staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the city. The price we paid didn't quite reflect the value we got but the staff more than made up for it.

My only complaint would be the cost of breakfast. At €17 per head I'd consider this to be eye-wateringly expensive. The quality of breakfast was good but in no way justified the cost of what they were offering. Make sure you eat most if the buffet to get the best possible value.

Overall we we're halt and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The location is good with a team of well trained staff who were always pleasant to interact.The room was comfortable with well designed decor . However, the windows were locked as otherwise we would have preferred to open for some fresh air and ventilation. We felt the room to be stuffy in early mornings. Breakfast was good and delicious. The tray of fresh fruits at the reception desk is a warm touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda_Pokorny, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Wien City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Thomas Fietzke
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Address: Aspernbruckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#49 Business Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wien City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.