We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing too spectacular, nice though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wien City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wien City to your Saves list
Novotel Wien City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aspernbruckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“nothing too spectacular, nice though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

been there for a business trip.

the room is spacious enough, bathroom new and clean.

bed was comfy, internet was available but kind of slow.

also went to the fitness room they have - nothing special there: 1 cross trainer, 1 cardio bike, 1 tread mill which didn't work) but clean, with tv and towells, so everything I needed for a little cardio workout.

what really was ridiculous to say something negative: the hair-dryer was so powerful, if you just walk around your hair'll dry faster.

location is nice, quite close to the center, some 5 min walk to Schwedenplatz, maybe 7 to Stephansplatz.

breakfast was nice, lunch was good, service attentive and very friendly. I'll probably come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you! For taking your time to write about your personal impressions during your last stay.

We are all happy you enjoyed your stay, felt comfortable and rated the service attitude of our staff in a high level.

Concerning your hair-dryer remark - we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had to face. We always have hair dryers for lend at the front office desk for this reason. But we are following our guest wish for replacement already - new "strong" hair-dryers have been ordered and will be availibly in all rooms in the next 2 weeks.

We would be very happy to welcoming you again in Vienna,
sending our best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    467
    86
    13
    9
See reviews for
340
259
55
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for a 2 nights. What is good: location (12 minutes of walking from Stephan Dome), the rooms is clean and nice, bathroom is good, Internet is free. What is not very: the room is small, the breakfast is average (2 days they didn't have sausages, this is not typical for Vienna), the speed of Internet is slow.
But the advantages are much valuable than disadvantages and I do recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Each teammember was really happy with your highly appreciated feed back!

Your remarks on the breakfast are well received and we will do our best to improve in increasing the fill rate for our buffet breakfast.

Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is just few blocks from the Nestroyplatz metro station or about 20 Euros from the Main Train Station. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the rooms are small but a good size for 3 adults; the décor is modern and simple the shower and the bathroom are separate which gives you some privacy. The Ethernet is included on the price; we did not have the breakfast included. The hotel is about 5-8 min nice walk from St. Stephen Cathedral a must see. They have a very friendly and helpful staff. This is a good choice at an affordable price in Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_Pokorny, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words of praise, and that you have taken the time to share your impressions with the travel community.

Your praise I gladly passed on to my staff and I can assure you your feed back is the best motivation for each of them individual, to go on welcoming our guests every day as a true host.

Together, we hope you had a pleasant journey home and we will be pleased to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vienna.

With warm regards
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Let's not fool ourselves, this is a typical business hotel. I like the size of the rooms and the bathroom, perfect for a business trip. Internet is only on cable when in the rooms, which makes it a bit uncomfortable. The breakfast is good. Staff is very polite.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main street are good. I found them to be not so noisy as expected on first imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for taking your time to post your feed back for the travel comunity.

We are all very happy, that you enjoyed your stay and you felt comfortable in our hotel.

For the lack of comunication concerning the possibilty to use our W-Lan connectivity please take my personal excuse. W-Lan is offered free of charge all over in the hotel.

Finally we hope you had a uncomplicated trip home and we would be very pleased to welcoming you again in the future.

With our best regards,
Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanem
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All is great in this hotel ... very quiet rooms, good bed, good sound isolation, nice bathroom, separate toilet ... very good breakfast with lots of choices ... extremely friendly personnel ... good sauna area, clean, cosy, ... absolutely great location - next U-Bahn at 200 m --- City Center (Stephansdom) at less than 1Km

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Each teammember was really happy with your highly appreciated feed back!

Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,

Linda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel provided good quality accommodation at a reasonable price for such a central location. It was a short walk to two U-bahn stations and so to the very efficient Viennese transport system, or to the city centre.
Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable, with up-to-date bathroom fittings. We had a room at the front above a busy main street, but double glazing blocked out most of the street noise. Staff were really welcoming and helpful- charming, to use an old-fashioned term.
The buffet breakfast on offer was plentiful and of good quality, but expensive. After the first morning we ate elsewhere and I would suggest that the hotel may be loosing some custom for this reason.
A traveler's tip is to look out for good on-line offers. We booked two nights on a two for one basis on-line, which was very straightforward. I then booked a third night through Accor central reservations, which was the opposite. My tip would be just to book directly through the hotel.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for taking your time to share your impressions after your stay in our hotel with the travel community.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Each teammember was really happy with your highly appreciated feed back!

Finally we hope you had a fine trip home and we will be very pleased welcoming you again in Vienna,
with best regards,

Linda Pokorny & the Novotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed for four nights in February 2013. Nice room on the third floor; no complaints. Room was perfectly clean, spacious and comfortable. Temperature was perfect.
I also made use of the business meeting room facilites on the top floor, which were very good, with ample supplies of nice coffee and pastries. Hotel staff reacted very well to all requests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Geschäftsführer at Novotel Wien City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review to your stay in our hotel!

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your business stay including our boardrooms and you rated our service attitude in a high level.

We hope you had a good trip home and we are looking forward to welcoming you - next time perhaps for a leisure stay - again in the future.
With our best regards from Vienna,

LInda Pokorny & Novotel Wien City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wien City

Address: Aspernbruckengasse 1, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Vienna
#49 Business Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#82 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Wien City enjoys a premium location in the heart of the historic city centre overlooking the Ringstrasse. This modern upper-midscale hotel offers 122 airconditioned rooms, 2 suites, 2 exclusive boardrooms, an exceptional restaurant with a bar, agym and sauna. Stephansplatz is only 500 m or 10 minutes walk away. Relax in the nearby Stadtpark (City Park) or on the lively banks of the Danube Canal. Parking is available nearby and there is an underground station right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wien City Hotel Vienna
Novotel Hotel Vienna
Novotel Vienna
Vienna Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wien City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.