We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roomz Vienna

Save Saved
You added Roomz Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Roomz Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paragonstrasse 1, Vienna 1110, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Nottingham, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed as part of a package so can't comment on price. The hotel has the look of a modern office block but is given a modern treatment outside and in and I think it gives it a more distinctive and upmarket feel to other budget type hotels, although others in my party thought it a bit characterless. The location is out of town with nothing much to see or do nearby but is right on the U3 metro line which is 5 stops from the centre and very efficient and cheap. You can even hire a 2 seater electric Twizy from the hotel at 29 euro. Our rooms were clean, comfortable with TV and there is wifi throughout. No complaints except rather strangely the maid took the hotel's Dove shower gel from its holder after the first day and didn't replace it!? Couldn't be bothered to complain. Only other issue was our transfer to Austrian GP was at 6.30am and our tour rep had advised us we could have an early breakfast. Whilst cereals etc were out the hotel staff intervened when we attempted to help ourselves and told us breakfast was from 7am. I suspect the rep had misinformed us but it did seem a bit of an unnecessarily rigid policy, especially as we had paid for breakfast. Had one breakfast and it was usual mix of cereals, bread, ham, cheese and warmish eggs, bacon and beans. OK but nothing special. We only had limited contact with staff on reception and at bar etc. The impression they give is of efficiency with little attempt at friendliness. I would recommend this for a short stay and gather it is good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabea G, roomz Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Fuzzbadge, thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We appreciate any suggestions for improvement and would like to mention that the breakfast issue was obviously a misunderstanding. We would like to apologize for any unfriendly service staff which is definitely not a standard of ours. We hope to welcome you soon again, best regards, your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    130
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
82
21
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights recently at Roomz. The hotel is very modern with open plan bar and restaurant, as the weather was very good we were aslo able to utilise the outside dining area on more than one occaision.
Our room was of a good size and very clean, the bathroom was also spacious with both bath & shower. A wide choice was offered at breakfast and the dinners we had there were also good in both choice and quality. Although a little from the centre on Vienna it is only a short stroll to the underground station for links to all that is on offer.We were offered a concession card from the hotel for the hop-on hop-off bus in town and a special rate on the underground, both were very useful. The car parking a short walk away,was only 5 euros per day which was much cheaper than we encountered in other cities on our tour. Should we return to Vienna then another stay at Roomz would probably be chosen. As to the view in the headline, the gasometers have been renovated internally, but still blot the landscape, as do the multi-storey car parks and flats. However that does not detract from all the other good things Roomz has to offer.

Room Tip: All good no problems encountered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabea G, roomz team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear TerryTUk7, thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at roomz vienna and are already looking forward to welcoming you again! Your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our last night in Vienna. The experience was nothing like the other hotel where we had stayed. The room smelled like sewer coming from the bathroom and the safe in the room did not work. After 30 minutes of trying to make the safe work, we finally told them to come up and show us what we are doing wrong. At that time they admitted that the safe was out of order. But they would not give us another room because they said a broken safe is not a legitimate reason to switch rooms. They finally gave in and gave us another room after I stayed in the lobby and insisted. The hotel was no more convenient to get to the airport than the other hotel where we had stayed. The neighborhood is not good and I have no idea how they claim four stars. At best they are like a cheap roadside motel. The only thing they have in common with four star hotels is price. Front desk staff were rude from check-in to check-out. Horrible finish to an otherwise wonderful trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: Do not book a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabea G, roomz Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear MRGATL, thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. After a consultation with our team, we would like to explain that it is the normal procedure, especially in times of a full hotel, that our front office staff asks their management if any changes of rooms are possible. We would like to apologize that you had the feeling that we did not take your complaints seriously enough or that our staff was unfriendly , which is definately not the behaviour we expect from our personel as well. However, we always give our best to help our guests with any kind of service - even though we do not have any stars at all, since we are a budget design hotel, which does not fall into any category in general. Nevertheless, the standards we offer are comparable to the standards of a 3 or 4 star hotel. Thank you again for your feedback, we wish you all the best and send kind regards from Vienna, your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

A really nice, well designed hotel with great food (even though breakfast gets boring after a few nights) and stylish interior. Unfortunately no wifi in the rooms and the cabled net is not all that great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabea G, roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Liebe/r Zsessler, vielen lieben Dank für diese nette Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, Sie darüber informieren zu dürfen, dass wir in den kommenden Wochen zusätzlich zur kabellosen Internetverbindung in der Lobby auch in allen Zimmern kostenfreies W-Lan einrichten werden.
Wir hoffen, Ihren Aufenthalt dadurch noch komfortabler zu gestalten und freuen uns, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Viele Grüße von Ihrem roomz-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Roomz is nicely suited if you have business around Gasometer in Vienna and it mostly caters to business users as far as I could see. What is also very welcome is the price of nearby Garage which is only 5EUR/day (in Vienna usually 15-20EUR/day) so no worries if you come with the car.

There is also an option to rent nifty small Renault Electric Eco cars for 39EUR (I think) a day if you need to get around the city, otherwise uBahn is around the corner!

Rooms are average, clean and nothing special. Separate bed's (I didn't really like the mattress, but that is personal preference), small TV, safe, no refrigerator and working free Internet (you need Ethernet cable - no WiFi!).

Breakfast average, but plant of space to sit.

All in all good hotel for a couple of days especially for business related things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabea G, Roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear ALiEN2108,
thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also noticed our electric eco cars – our twizys – which are for rent for € 29,50 per day. They are an easy way of getting to know the city and especially fun for summer days to come.
Concerning the internet, we would like to add that we are about to install wifi in all our rooms, so that our guests can browse the internet even more comfortably. Moreover, we are going to replace our current televisions with 40 in flat screen tv's in a couple of weeks time.
We hope to welcome you again soon and send best wishes from Vienna, your roomz-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voronezh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My bf chose this hotel for our stay because of its close location to Gasometer and Ubahn. And indeed it was very convenient to have breakfast in Gasometer and use U3 linie to get to the city center which took us approx. 5 mins!
The hotel was renewed and looks nice. Girls who worked on the reception were friendly and glad to help us. But as for the preference for which we've asked in the reservation such as a double bed was not done by our arrival. And we had to wait til the morning to ask a cleaning lady for it.
The most upsetting thing was no wifi access in the room. Though in the description on the irish booking website it was mentioned! So when you need wifi you have to ask for the login and a password by the reception and it's valid for 8 hours.
All in all it's a good hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina R, roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear vikki90,

thank you very much for you nice feedback to your stay at roomz vienna!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the very good connection to the city center with public transport and the service of our reception team.
That we missed your request for a double bed makes us feel very sorry – please accept our apologies!

Regarding the missing WIFI access in the room we have good news: within the next weeks we will have free WIFI all around the hotel!

So we hope to see you again at one of our hotels & send best regards from Vienna!
Yours roomz-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

That's the most stylish place I've been to in Vienna - very modern, yet absolutely comfortable. Gasometer City is right next to it, so as the metro station. Arriving there from the Highway is also very easy. Good service, good breakfast, excellent place to stay if you're in Vienna for business mixed with a little fun @Gasometer.

Room Tip: Lower floor has the free lobby wi-fi coverage - otherwise you're stuck with the cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettina R, roomz-Team at Roomz Vienna, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear 63Bartek,

thank you for your nice words about your stay at roomz vienna!

We are very happy about your recommendation & we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Yours roomz-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roomz Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomz Vienna

Address: Paragonstrasse 1, Vienna 1110, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Vienna
#118 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomz Vienna 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Roomz Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomz Vienna Hotel Vienna
Roomz Hotel Vienna
Vienna Roomz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roomz Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.