We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the flat breads here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tian Bistro

Tian Bistro
Weissgerberlande 14, Vienna 1030, Austria
+43 1 8909510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,867 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Organic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Loved the flat breads here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

After the kunst museum, we stopped for a bite to eat. This is a wonderful restaurant in an ideal setting. It is CASUAL. not formal dining. Most things can be vegan, but that's your choice. We had local cheese, spinach and pear on our flatbread. I'm sure the must have salt, but I did not see any, nor did I want any. Great flavors and a unique stop after Hundertwasser heaven

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tian_Vienna, TIAN Team at Tian Bistro, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear skier003,

Thanks a lot for reviewing our TIAN bistro. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our “tarte flambées”, which are one of our specialities, and the wonderful Hundertwasser setting of our bistro. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best wishes to Los Angeles,

TIAN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,122 reviews 3,122 reviews
1,097 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,056 helpful votes 8,056 helpful votes
“Nice stop for coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Tian restaurant has nice bistro set-up on the ground floor of the Kunsthaus Wien that we very much enjoyed during a recent visit to Vienna.

The Tian bistro is a beautifully decorated restaurant, matching the tastes and style of Friedensreich Hundertwasser, the artist for which the museum is dedicated. The layout of the bistro is organic, eclectic and tastefully colourful. Plant life has been infused into the bistro design to give it life and ambience that is very easy to enjoy and quite suitable and appropriate for this museum.

In addition to the beautiful bistro, we were very pleased with the quality and taste of the coffee and desserts we tried on the day. We tried a brownie like chocolate cake and a slice of carrot cake. Both were slightly moist, just the right texture and very tasty (rating 4.5 of 5). We'd happily reorder both.

Coffee drinks were also very good. A double espresso was bold, rich and flavourful and our melange had a bold espresso flavour, not too milky as is too often the case wen ordering this drink (rating 4 of 5).

Overall, we were very pleased with our coffee and cake stop at the Tian bistro at the Hundertwasser Haus Museum and would recommend this to those who intend to visit the museum during their time in Vienna.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tian_Vienna, TIAN Team at Tian Bistro, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear BradJill,

we would like to thank you for taking time to review the TIAN bistro in the KUNST HAUS WIEN. We are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your “coffee and cake stop” at our bistro. Our cakes are prepared freshly every day and our TIAN coffee is organic and of course fair-trade. Next time you should definitely try our delicious, oven baked tarte flambées and gratins.

Also, thank you for uploading such nice pictures of our bistro!

Best wishes to Hongkong and hopefully we can welcome you again soon,
TIAN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,122 reviews 3,122 reviews
1,097 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,056 helpful votes 8,056 helpful votes
“Tian bistro - Great stop for coffee and cakes at the museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We recently visited the Hundertwasser Haus Museum and had a lovely stop for coffee and cakes at the Tian bistro found on the ground floor of the museum.

Tian bistro is a beautifully decorated restaurant, matching every bit the style and mindset of Friedensreich Hundertwasser, the Austrian artist for which this museum is dedicated. The bistro layout is organic, eclectic, colourful in a tasteful way and well complimented by use of green plant-life. All in all, we very found the atmosphere of the Tian Bistro enjoyable and suitable for this venue.

We were also very pleased with the cakes and coffee drinks. We sampled a chocolate brownie style cake and a slice of carrot cake. Both were slightly moist, moderately compact in texture and just tasted great (rating 4.5 of 5). We would have happily returned for another serving of both.

Equally impressive where the coffee drinks. The espresso was bold, solid and rich and our melange was served with bold espresso flavour, not too milky like is often the case when ordering this drink (4 of 5).

Overall, we were very pleased with our coffee and cake stop at the Tian bistro at the Hundertwasser Haus Museum. We greatly enjoyed the museum and will likely return during future trips to Vienna. A return to the Tian bistro on the ground floor will be on the card as well for the day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tian Bistro also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Tian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.