We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bergwirt

Hotel Bergwirt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bergwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Bergwirt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxingstrasse 76, Vienna 1130, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here in July while driving through because as we learned passing through Austria the first time, hotels close around 11/11:30pm. So we booked this hotel in advance to make sure we had a place to sleep. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by a wonderful lady who helped us find parking and check in without problem. The hotel was clean, the beds were okay, but they did their job. The hotel is also wonderfully close to Schroenbrunn Palace. The food at the restaurant was also good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

as soon as we get into the hotel we were welcome by very friendly lady on the reception desk.She provide us with good tips about the vienna city and ave us all direction we need.In general,we didnt spend a lot of time in the hotel,but we were happy over there.They dont have ironing stuff in the rooms,but they did help us with this with no extra charge,nice :-).The breakfast was fine,anything extra special,but it made its job!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent location, easy access to bus leading to subway into downtown old Vienna. Easy to stroll thru Schonbrunn Palace gardens and grounds. Reasonable rates, very nice room, attentive staff for family owned style hotel. Don't expect Hilton or Marriott type rooms or approach and you should be able to enjoy a stay here as a good value, good local experience. Hotel restaurant expensive and not that good, go down the hill instead.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

So close to Schönbrunn Zoo, Park and Palace. Bus station is in front of the hotel. Rooms are big enough and very clean. We liked the place of the hotel and our room so much; how ever there is an air conditioning problem so that the hotel smells schnitzel every time..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

This is an older guesthouse-style inn about 3/4 mile walk from the front gate of the palace and 1/2 mile from restaurants, banks, and subway station.

Our room was clean, but small, and dated.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Never visit this hotel! The staff at the receptions was never at the place. The tripple room is very small, uncomfortable - NOTHING in commom with the photos, given on the site! The parking is free - if you ever find a place where to do it. We would not recommend this hotel to nobody!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is one of the worst hotels ever. The furniture is outdated (70s style) and the rooms aren't really clean. But the worst of all: the mattresses are far from being in good shape. They were so miserable that we could hardly sleep on them. One night we moved to the sofa bed which was in the room - despite the fact that it was blotchy and filthy - but it was simply impossible to fall asleep on a mattress where you can feel every single innerspring.
This is unacceptable - especially for the price of 100 Euro we payed per night (breakfast included).
Positive sides of the hotel: free wifi internet, breakfast OK, charming restaurant (alp style), rather friendly stuff, very good tap water quality, close to Vienna's zoological garden, Schönbrunn castle and Gustav Klimt's grave. Public transport just around the corner (20-30 minutes to the city center).
Conclusion: the hotel could be great beautiful. But it urgently needs a renovation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bergwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergwirt

Address: Maxingstrasse 76, Vienna 1130, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bergwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bergwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergwirt Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bergwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.