We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find in the heart of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DO & CO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DO & CO Hotel to your Saves list
DO & CO Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stephansplatz 12 | Haas Haus, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER SPECIAL RATES
Ranked #40 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great little find in the heart of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was a bit nervous about staying at this hotel before I went to Vienna. The website isn't very descriptive and the room photos don't show much of what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised overall and will definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

The Entrance & Lobby
The entrance is a bit hidden, but is directly opposite St. Stephen's Cathedral, right in the heart of Vienna's pedestrian district. If you're looking for a solicitous doorman dressed in a top coat, this is not the hotel for you. You enter through a rather unobtrusive entry way and immediately board an elevator to the lobby, a few floors up.

The lobby itself is a little small - just a small reception desk at the entrance to the bar. I arrived in the evening and found the staff to be mediocre and not very welcoming. The morning staff, however, were wonderful. They held my luggage (and I left with a very cool luggage tag!) and were quite helpful.

The bar, Onyx, which is adjacent to the lobby, is quite popular with the locals. Seats are reserved for hotel guests and views are to die for. Until smoking is outlawed in public places, however, it was simply too smoky for me (no windows open, so all the smoke kind of just floats there).

Rooms
I had a room with a showstopping view of St. Stephen's Cathedral. Noise was not a factor but light could definitely prove problematic. The hotel solved this issue with blackout shutters that did the job perfectly. The room feels a bit small but this is mainly due to its shape (long and narrow) and layout. The entry way has a closet with the only real storage you'll have as well as a glassed in bathroom. There are shutters for privacy that you can use for the shower, but the sink area is completely open.

You step down into the bedroom area, which is equipped with a desk, minibar, flat-panel tv, couch in front of the window, and bed. You have a choice in most rooms of either one king or two twins. This hotel, with the clear bathrooms, is definitely geared more towards couples.

Decor is contemporary and I did like the nice wood floors. There is quite a nice selection of local wines in the unique in-wall minibar as well.

The hotel's restaurant on the upper floors also has the amazing city views. Breakfast here is very well done, featuring lots of cold options and all hot food cooked to order. There were some really unique breakfast parfaits and pastries and the eggs were very tasty. There is nothing like enjoying your breakfast while seated on a terrace a stone's throw from the majesty of St. Stephen's. It's the best breakfast with a view!

You do sacrifice a little staying at this hotel:
- an on-site fitness center
- a large hotel spa
- the option of connecting rooms (the suite connects to a regular room).

But you also gain:
- great service overall
- excellent prices for a perfect city-center location
- unique setting and buzzy atmosphere.

Strange name - great hotel. Give it a try!

Room Tip: Some rooms (Courtyard) have no view. For the small upcharge, it's worth the view of the Cathedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for having chosen the DO & CO Hotel Vienna during your last stay the the DO & CO Hotel Vienna.

Our doorman crew is also responsible for parking the cars of our guests. I assume that they were parking cars during your arrival. Normally they are welcoming you on ground floor and bring you up to reception.

Unfortunately there was no more space to create a fitness centre. Have you experienced the Holmes Place Health Club which you can use free of charge as an guest of us? This is just 8 minutes walk from us and really an great spa and fitness centre.

I truly hope that you will consider the DO & CO Hotel Vienna in the future again. Please feel free contacting me directly so I can take care on your reservations personally.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    105
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
210
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Do & Co on our honeymoon in August 2012. We decided to 'splurge' on a hotel in central Vienna to make the most of our five nights in this beautiful city. Do & Co did not disappoint - located directly opposite St Stephens Cathedral, this hotel was central to everything and the service was excellent from start to finish.

We booked a city view room and the lovely staff organised a bottle of champagne upon our arrival to celebrate our honeymoon. The little treats left in our room were such a pleasant surprise and the beds in this hotel were super comfortable.

Booking 10 months in advance also meant we actually got a very reasonable rate for this hotel. We enjoyed a night at the Do & Co restaurant on our first night and it was so good we went back on our last night. The service and beautiful views over the city from the terrace of this restaurant were spectacular.

During our five day visit we also booked a three hour walking tour with local guide Georg through the hotel. We cannot recommend this feature enough. George was knowledgeable and showed us some of the hidden historical gems within Vienna that we would have missed had we not taken his tour.

Our only 'dislike' about this wonderful hotel was the breakfast. Yes, it's in the restaurant with amazing views and has a wide variety of options, however at 29 Euro a head (approximately $40 Australian per person) for breakfast this was just a bit too 'extravagent' for us. Instead, we ventured out into the city streets and enjoyed a 7 Euro "Viennese" breakfast per person complete with fresh breads, jams, boiled eggs, coffee and juice! In addition, we got to sit in the beautiful sunshine and watch the Austrians head to work each day!

Don't think twice about booking this hotel. It is worth the money and we loved the 'arty' design and feel of the rooms. The position of this hotel made our stay in Vienna even more enjoyable and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: City view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review and we are more than happy that you had a great honeymoon with us.

Our buffet breakfast is really exeptional and the costs of 29 EUR are below the average in Vienna's 5 Star hotel industry.

We really hope that you will come back to our beautiful city again and that you will chose the DO & CO Hotel Vienna again.

Please feel free contacting me personally at any time, so I can take care on your reservations.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

At DO & CO one is paying for a clean and refined room, welcoming multilingual staff and the centre of Vienna (with its teaming hoard of tourists like oneself) at the door. The subway is just a few metres too. We liked the wedge of a room with front door at the thin edge, the longitudinal layout and the window to the plaza. Other reviewers have noted that internal privacy is just glass, and there is enough mini bar supply to outlast a short seige.We were impressed that the general manager was regularly seen, with the foyer and reception areas are small. The gym was a 10 minute walk but the full facility inner city complex drew us there three of five days. The restaurant is a bit noisy due to the bar below, and one hopes the Viennese smoking laws change to better segregate the species, but the food was an interesting combination of Asian and traditional European. Worth the splurge.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. For breakfast,go to the local mini mart and get your fresh fruit, pastry and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your kind review and for having chosen the DO & CO Hotel Vienna during your last visit.

We are more than happy that we could fulfill all your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please feel free contacting me personally in the future, so I can take care on all your reservations.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great services, very friendly and helpful personnel. Although it has an amazing view and the urban designed rooms make it to stand out of the crowd in one of the oldest European capitals, it is highly pricy if you consider the size of the room. It was nevertheless an unique experience.

One negative aspect to mention: although the site of the hotel says that for 45 Euros you’ll be picked up from the airport by a Mercedes limousine, what I found in front of the airport was a Mercedes van – not the most comfortable transportation especially that you can find random taxi’s in front of the airport (many of them Mercedes limousines) that will get you to the city center for 35 Euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Diana,

thanks for your kind review and for having chosen the DO & CO Hotel Vienna during your last stay. As you have mentioned the size of the rooms I would like to say, that every room at the DO & CO Hotel Vienna has a minimum size of 32 m². The average in Vienna is around 25 m². Nevertheless you might had the impression that your room is too small as they are cone shaped.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your limousine transfer. This MUST not happen and we will of course clarify that with our limousine service provider.

Please be so kind and contact me personally next time you travel to Vienna and I'll be happy to arrange an complimentary airport transfer for you.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2008. The hotel is situated in the very centre of the city right opposite the cathedral. Rooms are very well appointed although I found the open bathroom a little intimidating but you can recover a little privacy around the shower by using the louvered screen but the separate toilet only has a smoked glass door wall panels around it....and the sink area is completely open. We had a beautiful breakfast every morning overlooking the cathedral, the staff were very attentive. We found walking to the various tourist attractions such as Freuds house very easy. Food everywhere in Vienna was absolutely delicious. We took a train to Modling and enjoyed an afternoon walking around and drinking coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks so much for this great review. We feel more than happy that we could make your honeymoon even more special!

We truly hope that you will consider the DO & CO Hotel Vienna in the future again if you ever plan a trip to our beautiful city.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Situated in the heart of Vienna in Stephansplatz, right on Graben street (the street in Vienna), this hotel is very trendy. The rooms are small but have a great view of the square. The restaurant situated on the upper level, 7th floor, has a great terrasse overlooking Graben street and Stephansplatz. The restaurant is a modern design where we can see the chefs working in the kitchen. The food is great and the prices are fair. 2 things bothered us: you canno't walk up to the restaurant by yourself; you have to wait downstairs for a hostess to come and get you. Why not greet us at the entrance of the restaurant? Secondly, breakfast is not included and if you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, they charge 29 euros per person. Paying $75.00 US or CAN for breakfast is outragous so instead of appreciating our stay at the hotel with all it's ameneties, we end up every morning walking the streets to find a reasonable place for breakfast. I think they should consider including breakfast with the room at a reasonable rate. Last, the personnel is professionnal but never smiles and will not voluntarily come forward to help us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Pierre,

thanks for having chosen the DO & CO Hotel Vienna during your last stay in our beautiful city and we are grateful that you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are welcoming our restaurant guests on 6th floor due to the fact that there is much more space. You have seen the entrance to the restaurant on 07th floor and there is not so much space. Further the 6th floor lobby is our main area to welcoming our guests. For us it is important to accompany all our guests to the room, bar or the restaurant to provide an even more professional service.

All rooms have a minimum size of 32 sqm which means that we have the largest standard rooms in Vienna. Maybe you have not had this impression as the rooms are cone shaped.

Our full buffet breakfast served at the roof top restaurant costs 29 EUR since our opening and we haven't increased this for more than 6 years. In other 5 star hotels a compareable breakfast costs around 35 EUR. Of course we also offer the possiblity of our early bird breakfast bag, which costs 9 EUR.

We truly hope that you will consider the DO & CO Hotel Vienna in the future again and please feel free contacting me personally at any time.

With best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As much as I'd like to say that DO & CO exceeded my expectations or that it lived up to the pictures here on Tripadvisor...well, I can't. It's certainly a very good hotel, there were just some shortcomings that I couldn't get past, but a great deal more that I really enjoyed.

The location is as perfect as it gets in Vienna. The hotel is located smack dab in the heart of Vienna's bustling city centre, practically two steps away from St. Stephen's Cathedral and the major shopping streets of Karntnerstrasse and Kohlmarkt. The entire plaza is pedestrians only after 10am, so it's practically like a playground at your disposal—you can literally blaze a path of retail destruction right from the doorstep of the hotel all the way down to the edge of the Ring, and then get a wonderful eyeful of some of the sights that Vienna has to offer as you make your way back up to the hotel.

The room itself was great for the most part—the bathroom was spacious and pristine, a huge shower and decent closet space. My main complaint here was that the sheets gave off this queer detergent smell...they were clean, but they smelled like a sickening mixture of milk and perfume. I couldn't get past the smell, and that made going to bed every night a bit of a dreaded occasion. That aside, the rooms were fine, and the management was fine as well, though like others have said, the fact that the front desk shares a space with a restaurant that allows smoking is a bit problematic. Also, there is no real front entrance to the hotel; you have to enter through a door opposite the cathedral and go up to the sixth floor of the building to get to the front desk.

But the breakfast! The breakfast was probably the greatest part of DO & CO aside from its location. It's located up in the seventh floor, and there's a balcony with lots of seating so you can sit high above Vienna while eating and gaze down at the minuscule figures below or at glorious St. Stephen's right across from you. And the food was great too; buffet-style with delicious croissants and omelettes and yogurts and fruits and a lot more.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for the best location and pretty great facilities, but would advise caution on smelling the bedsheets on account of that weird scent they have...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSpangl, Director of Sales at DO & CO Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks so much for having chosen the DO & CO Hotel Vienna during your last stay in our beautiful city. We feel very happy that you have enjoyed your stay, specially in terms of location, rooms and breakfast.

We have arranged the lobby area on 6th floor to seperate our hotel guests from the croud on St. Stephens Square. This is pretty unusual and due to that some times confusing.

Regarding the smell of our bedsheets we have immediately talked to our laundry provider. Honestly we had this complaint never with in 6 years. Nevertheless we take your comment very serious and will take care that our laundry provider will be even more careful.

We hope that you will consider the DO & CO Hotel Vienna in the future again! Please feel free contacting me personally, so I can take care on all your desires.

Thanks and best regards from Vienna

Michael

Michael Spangl
Director of Business Development
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DO & CO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DO & CO Hotel

Address: Stephansplatz 12 | Haas Haus, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#38 Family Hotel in Vienna
#42 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — DO & CO Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of Vienna in front of St. Stephens cathedral the DO & CO Hotel is the perfect starting point for your stay. Whether being on a business trip or on holidays the hotel is in walking distance from Vienna’s most famous attractions; the Viennese opera house, the HofburgImperialCastle or the Albertina museum. Shopaholics will find themselves in paradise as our boutique hotel is situated on corner to Graben, Kärntner Strasse and Kohlmarkt.The Design Hotel with its 43 rooms and suites offers round the clock personalised service and plenty of luxurious details to make you feel at home.At the DO & CO Restaurant on the top floor of the building you can enjoy a magnificent view to the cathedral while you indulge yourself with the best tastes of the world.On the 6th floor the ONYX Bar is the perfect location to have an afternoon coffee cup and becomes the hot-spot in town at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DO & CO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do And Co Hotel
Do Co Hotel
Do Co Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DO & CO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.