We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnes Hotel Vienna

Save Saved
You added Arnes Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Arnes Hotel Vienna
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnes Hotel Vienna
Quellenstrasse 120, Vienna 1100, Austria (Formerly Pension Wildenauer)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 103 Vienna B&B and Inns
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room in something of a hurry and didn't check TA first, because if I had and read the reviews there would have been no way I would have booked this place. When I eventually sat on the train between prague and vienna and read the reviews of my next stop my heart sank; however on arrival I was pleasantly surprised.
All of the renovation work that was being done is now completed and the rooms are really rather nice, albeit still basic. The beds were comfortable, built in wardrobe with minibar and the bathroom was functional with an amazing shower! The cleanliness issues appear to have been resolved and the whole place was spotless.
Breakfast was in their new cafe and was delicious and looked really modern and upmarket; that's the cafe not the breakfast.
The area itself was superb. I've heard people slating district 10 because it's full of immigrants etc and that may well be te case, but we drank in several bars there, walked around at night and people were nothing but friendly. It was also close enough to the centre for easy access but also allowed a break from the tourist hell which I was particularly grateful for.
The tram stopped right outside the front door of the hotel, which at first I thought would mean sleeves nights again like prague because of the noise, but you couldn't hear it at all.
All in all, this place was great. Friendly service, people and a nice place. No real negative points and of course it was great value for money. 2 nights here with breakfast was only 93 euro which is good for vienna.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with another couple. We did not choose this hotel. The smell was the first thing I noticed and the fact that they only accept cash. Red flag. The lady at reception is nice enough and gave us the "honeymoon suite" since we were actually on our honeymoon. The room is the one in the picture, second floor balcony overlooking the street. In one word: gross. The carpet was filthy and with dreary, dank curtains and a box of a shower. It's a dive and not sexy for a honeymoon. My husband slept with his clothes on and didn't actually use the bed linens. Also, the pillows were completely flat and there is no fan or a/c so it was nearly impossible to sleep with the traffic and hallway noise. I would NEVER stay here again, just to save a few dollars, it is not worth it. The location is terrible in District 10 too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a cheap hotel, and for this kind of money it was more than perfect.
Rating cheap hotels is always tricky so i'll try to brake it down:

Room:
Room was very clean, mattress looked brand new, sheets and towels clean.
Floors were laminate wood and was and very clean.
Some furniture was older, but large wardrobe with build-in fridge was brand new. (no mini-bar content in it)
Room 106 we used was quite spacious, but was facing main street and we could hear trams going by all night. Light sleepers should ask for a room on a less noisy side street.

Bathroom:
It was clean and properly disinfected, shower cabin was ok, but enamel on the bathtub was scratched, and general sensation was that it could use renovating.

Hotel:
Not so good. Restaurant in ground floor is demolished and you have to enter the building trough a side door. Front desk is located on improvised location two floors up the stairs. Everything looks as if a construction zone was cleaned up to make it usable, but it was far from complete.

Staff:
Girl who greeted us was very nice and friendly. Spoke good english, and from what i could figure also German and Turkish.
Staff doesn't seem to be available in the hotel at all times.

Surrounding:
Hotel has no parking, however there was plenty of parking space on the streets arround it.
Area is close to southernmost attactions: just 15min walk to Belvedere palace.
Bear in mind that this is not a perfect location for everyone. I felt safe enough, but this is area of Vienna populated mostly by nations from Balkan areas. If you are a rasist, xenophobic, or generally a person with that sort of wrong attitude, you may want to consider a different hotel.

Conclusion:
I would stay for a night or two in this hotel again.
And i hope it will look much better when it's fully restored.

Room Tip: Clean rooms, but not much more. Light sleepers should ask for a room facing the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphi, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just next of the tram station and very quiet. The location of the hotel was perfect for my needs and price range. The cost was fair and I would recommend it to everyone. The room was great size and extremely clean. The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful. Very comfortable Beds , very warm at Night, very quiet (Has very soundproofing windows). The hotel has an excellent value for money. OLD REVIEWS MAYBE ARE TO OLD.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I would not rate this place with the lowest mark, however I also know I will not return there, if I have a little bit more money than nothing to travel to Vienna. And I will make sure I have before traveling. :)
I think you get what you pay for in rather expensive city as Vienna is. So do not expect much. Our room was rather clean, towels were changed most of the time, although sometime we had to ask for that.
The building is old (beginning of 19th century), and undergoes renovation.
The carpets in the rooms are old and stinky. So you are better off if you get a smaller room with laminate floor. Each room has a fridge.There is kitchen with all the basic tools, so you can cook your own breakfast or lunch. The only thing, if you eat in your room, and you drop something on the floor, better make sure you let somebody know to clean it up, otherwise it will stay like that.
The water pressure in the shower was great, and although the shower door were hardly hanging in, it was fine (again - remember, we did not pay that much).
Prior to going to that hotel, some Vienese people suggested us to change the booking, saying that is not a good neighbourhood. Well that is neighbourhood mainly inhabited by immigrants, mainly turkish and muslim people. It was not one of the richest neighbourhoods, but certainly we never felt in danger or insecure. It was just fine. A feeling like in some town in Turkey.
The transportation with Vienna Centre was almost ideal, the tram stops in front of the door, U-bahn 2 tram stops away, taxi station is on the nearest intersection, and grocery store, as well as bakeries are just a few steps away.
I think this is a good enough place for students and low budget travelers.
I think the owners should invest a little money in each room, like, repairing/replacing shower doors, change silicon isolation in bathrooms, which were quite moldy, install at least the cheapest baseboards in the rooms, and that will make the appearances much more attractive.

Room Tip: You are better off if you get a smaller room with laminate floor. If you eat in your room, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

During last 4 years I spent 3 or four nights in this pension. My advice to all of you guys, which were unsatisfied, is: try another hotel, For Seasons, Holiday Inn, etc. are good enough for you, for the others, I highly recommend. For such little amount of money: clean bed, hot watter, heating and really good breakfast, bicyclist friendly pension.

MN:o)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Never try this hotel.
I was there one night.
The glass was missing on the window.
The glass also was broken on the toilette's window.
The room was not the "cleanest" one.
There were no shampoo or soap in the bathroom.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arnes Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnes Hotel Vienna

Address: Quellenstrasse 120, Vienna 1100, Austria (Formerly Pension Wildenauer)
Location: Austria > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Arnes Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildenauer Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnes Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.