We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Do Step Inn

Save Saved
You added Do Step Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Do Step Inn
Felberstrasse 20, Vienna A-1150 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 156 Specialty lodging in Vienna
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hostel is in good location (our train arrived to and left from the nearest train station). The staff was really helpful. The price rate is fine and the common room area is basic. We got a room from the separate building away from the railway and the road so there weren't any traffic noises. The rooms was, however, really tiny and our was located next to the bathroom so we heard everything that happened there... Everything. The bed, again, was really bad for your back.

All in all, it was ok place for the money paid and with different room location the experience would have been better (3/5) but since the bed would still be most likely so bad I'm giving only 2/5 points to this place.

Room Tip: Away from the front door and bathrooms. The soundproofing is not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    81
    55
    11
    15
See reviews for
17
60
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good points:
- room is nice and cozy, comfy double bed, it feels like home
- facilities are nice and modern
- good wifi in the room
- welcome beer is a nice touch and beer was good too
- free luggage storage in the storage room after checkout
- 200 m from metro station westbahnhof which will take you to city center in about 5 or 10 mins
- there is card key so it's easy to keep
- there is a shop nearby which opens from 7.30 to 19.30. We didn't have a chance to go there because it was closed in Vienna day so didn't know what kind of grocery they have and the price.

Bad points:
- very small towels but at least they are free :D
- not near any attractions

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Starting with nice entrance to the hostel/hotel, continuing with professional ppl at reception,welcome drink,clean common areas(shower etc.),internet connection in the room,kozy rooms,soft beds :-) aand Cheap

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad place really, decent location in between the main train station and the beginning of the main shopping strip that leads you up to the museums and other tourist attractions.

Rooms, service, cleanliness all good without being exceptional but there was one
major issue I had during our stay.

The toilet- I don't know if its an Austrian thing or not but I didn't encounter any toilets similar in design to the ones at Do Step Inn. They are like a standard western toilet in all
other ways apart from the pipe which takes
away your business is at the wrong end
of the bowl. So instead of it landing in the water and flushing away nicely it lands in a trough of sorts half way down and does not go down no matter how many times you flush. I had to use the toilet brush to get
it down which isn't what I had planned when I sat down. The only way this toilet would work is if you sat the opposite way reverse kanga style. Just not a good design and can't see any benefits of putting the pipe the wrong way. Other than this unpleasantness i had quite a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We had just spent 6 months in Asia so our expectations are very low. We arrived at do step inn after a long day travelling from Bangkok. The girl on the desk (Eva I think) gave us such a warm friendly reception and a nice glass of beer. She gave us a map and pointed out the sights. The hostel is a different building around the corner and you need your room card to get in. We were very pleasantly surprised with our double room- it isn't massive but we've definitely had smaller. I was a little disappointed that I had to make up my bed- especially after a long day travelling. Also there is no bin in the room which is a little inconvenient. The kitchen isn't as well equipped as I would expect from a hostel- no oven or even toaster. It was clean however and the free WiFi worked well in there. The bathrooms are spotlessly clean but why on earth are there no fixings for the showers? It was nice and hot though and the heated towel rack was a nice touch- just a shame they only provide you with a handtowel. Location is excellent- right by the train station, alternatively the historic centre is a 30-40 min walk away and the palace a 30 min walk the other way. A couple of small improvements would turn this into a cracking little hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location perfect for the travellor who likes to be close to the metro/subway and regional trains. Comfortable beds, great Kitchen facilities and free use of 4 shared computers made it a nice stay. Almost all staff were helpful and friendly, except the younger male on the front desk in the mornings. If arriving early before check in, i.e.any time before 10 am, you may have to be patient with him. Request a luggage storeage key and provide a passport/ID or pay in full (cash) for your stay right then. He is not very clear, dis-interested and quite rude but will get the job done. Other than that the shared bathrooms were cleaned daily, and there is a folder near the front desk that lists all the recommended sites and eats in Vienna. I reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a good stay at the Do Step Inn for a couple of nights. Relatively easy to find if arriving by train, as long as you arrive at Westbahnhof station which is a 5 minute walk away (we unknowingly arrived at Sudbahnhof from Bratislava, which is a short journey in a tram from the West station).

We were offered a free beer or glass of wine on arrival, which was a nice touch. The receptionist was rather sure of herself but friendly enough. She gave us a free map and talked us through the things that we should see during our two days in Vienna. Our 6 bed dorm was in a smaller building adjacent to the main hostel, accessible via a small outside corridor used as a drying area for linen - other reviewers have mentioned that the hostel is about one block away on another street but this isn't true as our dorm was in the immediate vicinity, right next to the main reception. I suppose it just depends what type of room you're allocated.

The room itself was ok, quite small and the private bathroom wasn't very private (not much consideration given to soundproofing). The room and bathroom were perfectly clean and modern, the bedding wasn't great (rough sheets and very small pillows with massive pillow slip), plus the towel provided wasn't much bigger than a hand towel. The main lighting in the room was very poor and the only mirror in the room was tucked away behind one of the bunks, blocking out the light even more. The only other small grumbles about the room were the lack of somewhere to sit, unless you had a bottom bunk and also having no bin (except in the bathroom).

All other areas of the hostel had obviously been recently renovated, including the exterior, which is no longer blue and yellow! There is modern brickwork throughout and the kitchen area was well equipped and kept clean.

Our main complaint about the hostel during our stay was the lack of atmosphere and somewhere to sit and have a drink. On our second night, after a full days sightseeing, we were looking forward to relaxing in the hostel with a few drinks, however the small table in the communal kitchen was occupied, and the adjacent 'sitting area' with two small tables and about 6-8 chairs at each was scattered with a few other people sitting very quietly at laptops. It would have been intrusive to sit with them so we explored other areas of the hostel in the hope that we might find a "livelier" place to sit. All we came across, apart from the bar which you could only sit in if you purchased drinks, was the computer room, which felt even more like a library than the dining area (besides, all seats were taken!)

A sign in the main reception had advertised a 'chill out lounge' so we enquired about this and asked if there was such a place, or even a TV room, but we were informed that the only communal areas were those that we had already seen. During both nights in the hostel, the atmosphere in these areas was very strained and uncomfortable, except in the mornings when we had the kitchen pretty much to ourselves (no-one ever seemed to use it like a hostel kitchen!)

Overall value for money was good, having paid only £15.00pppn, and we enjoyed our time in Vienna. The Do Step Inn is in a great location for seeing all the sights, a 5 minute walk to the station and then a few minutes on the subway from there to wherever you want to go. All public transport is very regular - you never wait long for trams, trains or metro! Would certainly recommend to others on a budget, if looking for somewhere clean, convenient and quiet to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Do Step Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Do Step Inn

Address: Felberstrasse 20, Vienna A-1150 , Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 156 Specialty lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Do Step Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Step Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Do Step Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.