We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterflies galore.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schmetterlinghaus

Schmetterlinghaus
Burggarten, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
+43 1 533 8570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 310 Attractions in Vienna
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Butterflies galore.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is smaller then you think it will be/smaller then you want it to be... But still, its great to come in and sit down amongst the tropicals and have colourful butterflies flying all around you. It is very humid, so if you're there to take pictures know that your lens will fog up until your camera warms up.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    26
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tropical...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are really enthusiastic about tropical plants and butterflies this is worth a visit. Otherwise it is rather small and unspectacular. The building itself is very beautiful and fits completely in the surroundings of the Burggarten. And it seems to me overpriced for what you get.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was very nice to se the butterflies in the nature in the midle of Vienna but the humidity and heat was to high for my.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for young children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It's a small butterfly house with a few different types of butterflies inside. It was hot and humid inside. There was a German educational film on butterflies, as well. Overall, it was overpriced but small children (younger than 8) will enjoy it for at least half an hour to an hour (adults will last about 10 to 15 minutes). If you don't have children, I would recommend passing on it unless you feel in need of a sauna.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kalmar, Sweden
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not too impressive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visited as a couple in August 2012.

We had a coupon to see this that came with our Vienna Card and when we passed by, we decided on a whim that we'd go inside. I don't really regret it, but I don't particularly recommend it either, to be honest.

This isn't in any way the nicest butterfly house I've been to. Now, I don't know if maybe August is just a bad month to visit - but there weren't a lot of butterflies.
It's a rather small area, with a tiny upper floor. There are a few hibiscuses and other plants - and a lot of silk flowers drenched in honey/sugar water (if I remember correctly) that works as food stations for the butterflies. It's also really hot ang humid, as butterlfy houses tend to be - but you might want to be aware in case you haven't visited one before.

I imagine that this must be lovely in early spring, late autumn or winter - but during a few REALLY hot days in August it felt a bit redundant.
I doubt I'll be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmetterlinghaus also viewed

 

Been to Schmetterlinghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmetterlinghaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.