We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with everything right to the point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Kraml

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pension Kraml to your Saves list
Pension Kraml
Brauergasse 5 | Wien, Vienna A-1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #6 of 106 Vienna B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice stay with everything right to the point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed for 7 nights at the Pension Kraml and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were a little dated, so if you're looking for something modern this is the wrong choice for you. The room was very quiet and had a small fridge and TV. The breakfast was incredible, buffet style. Lots of cheese, bread and meat and it really allowed us to cut costs because it kept us full until really late in the afternoon. The location was perfect, really close to some major streets and close to all the subway points. Little supermarket within a block and a great coffee place around the corner.

One complaint would only be that the toilet paper was like kraft paper used in kindergarten play rooms (to wipe up paint etc.) But it wasn't really a big deal.

All in all, we would definitely stay there if we ever visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    70
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
98
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We booked an apartment which is big enough for 4 people. The location is great (near Mariahilferstrasse which is a great place to shop) and you have everything in that area like cinemas, bars, restaurants. The apartments are a newish concept for Fam. Kraml and a very good one too. The apartment we had was the bigger one (72 sq.m.) and it has this great walk-in room where everyone can store their clothes. There is no iron and ironing board but it was mentioned to Stephan, the son of the owner, and he promised to fix that for future visitors. I can only say that we had pleasant experiences when interacting with the staff. We didn't have breakfast there as we were in an apartment but there's loads of places nearby if you fancy having breakfast outside. Tip - if you want to start the day off nicely, go for breakfast at the Palmenhaus which is down on the Ring. Its not the cheapest place in town but it overlooks the wee Burggarten park and is very pleasant first thing in the morning. Breakfast there starts at 10am so its not too early if you've had a late night! All-in all, we enjoyed our stay very much and would do it again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

What a great experience at this cozy family run pension. We checked in late, but the owners were so kind to wait for us and were so friendly when they took us to our room. The room was huge, very clean, very comfortable, sooo quiet and the rates can not be beat! There are a lot of stairs so be prepared. We were warmly greeted at breakfast, which was delicious and traditional Austrian. We had an excellent experience and would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Very welcoming host. Elegant spacious hotel. Located near an excellent restaurant (recommended by hosts) and plenty of other restaurant choices. A 15 minute walk to the museums quarter, and about 5-10 minute taxi ride to Westbahnhof Station. Very spacious room. The room was clean and well maintained, with older style furniture. We chose to have a room with shared bathroom - this was much cheaper in price. The shared bathroom facilities were close to the room and kept very clean. The breakfast (included) was excellent - the best we had during our 7-week trip. Highly recommended. Our friends staying at a nearby hotel wished they had booked this one!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed at Pension Kraml for a week in April and it offered excellent value. I stayed in a single room and paid 35euro a night, which was only slightly more expensive than Viennese hostels. The location is amazing, only two tube stops from the Nachsmarket, very easy to get to the centre of town or go shopping.

The room had a comfortable bed, cupboard, desk, bedside table with sink and mirror. The shower and toilet were on the same floor. My room was cleaned every day and the communal areas were kept very clean. I had a hairdryer in my room, which I didn't expect.

The breakfast is wonderful, a very wide selection of food to choose from, which means a good variety of meals if you're staying for a while. Plenty of good coffee and juice.

The only downside was the service. I had expected a very helpful family from reviews here and elsewhere but experienced the same as another reviewer: curt diplomacy. The main gentleman that runs the pension was very polite but I didn't find him very approachable or helpful. He asked me to always sit at the smallest table for breakfast because I was dining alone which - as other solo travellers will know - is not what you want to hear!

Overall though, I would recommend it, and I would go there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Me and my spouse are currently travelling trough europe. We booked a double bed room for 76 euro per night incl breakfast.After our stay in London a few days ago at high expences, we were totalty excited about our generous, nead and clean room with flatscreen ,the seperate toilett and a private bathroom .
The pension is located at vienna's city center only 2 minutes away from two different subway stations.
From the moment you enter the oldshooled house of pension kraml, you feel a little bit taken on a journey trough time. typical viennese music welcomes you at the entrance as well as during the fabulous breakfast.
All in all we can say that this place is outstanding and we'll try to stay at the kraml family every time we come back to lovley vienna!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton, nj
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We booked the Pension Kraml based on the reviews here. The Pension itself is clean and the breakfast was exceptional. What we were taken aback by was the unfriendly reception we received. We took the night train from Krakow to Vienna and arrived at 6 AM. We were advised that the earliest we could come to the Pension was 7:30 am. So we waited in the train station until then and then made our way over. The man who greeted us took our bags and locked them up and told us to return at 11 for check-in. As we were leaving the building, we sat down on the last step to pull out our map and see how to get to the City Center. As we were sitting there, the man came down the steps and told us "You cannot sit here. It is impossible." We explained we were only looking at the map to which he replied that there was a cafe across the street where we could do that. We asked how to get to the City Center and he again was curt and not very helpful. So we left and found our way. When we returned at 11, he showed us our room which was a nice, small one with a shared bathroom on the same floor. After we unpacked, we looked for someone in Reception to ask a few questions, but no one was around, just 2 maids who only spoke German. Luckily I could understand enough to get by. The next time we saw this man was at breakfast where he again was curt because I had placed my rolling duffel bag next to our table. No one was near us; it was not in the way, but he said it would be in the way. Goodness! So if you're looking for a clean, sanitary spot; this is it. Just don't expect much in the way of service or support for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Kraml? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kraml

Address: Brauergasse 5 | Wien, Vienna A-1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned Hotel-Pension (our family does also live there) is located in a small and quiet by-road. Close to one of the most important business and shopping streets of Vienna (Mariahilferstrasse). Within short distance (15 minutes walk) from the railway station Vienna-West and the historical centre (Wiener Ringstrasse) with its monumental buildings and historical places.Next subway stops: U3/ZIEGLERGASSE (3 minutes walk) or U4/PILGRAMGASSE (5 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Kraml reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kraml Hotel Vienna
Kraml Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Kraml, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.