We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel in Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol to your Saves list
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here for only two nights, but our stay was great. The hotel itself is beautiful and almost like an art museum. We loved our room as it was comfortable and the Wifi was strong. The breakfast was exceptionally good, and if you got hungry they would usually have a few snacks out in the lobby. The wellness center with sauna was definitely an added bonus that we took advantage of nightly! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or stay here again myself.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    181
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
115
452
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I've been 2 times and I like the hotel. Rooms, superior, is small therefore in 2 the space is very limited.
Breakfast could be improved, but nevertheless is good enough.
Not really in downtown and this could be a killer if you need an hotel, as I do, that does not require taxi, you have to walk around 15-20 min to get to Main Street.

Suggested.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Alberto C,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share the experience of your stay at Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol and for suggesing our hotel.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. We will review our breakfast and optimize where possible.

Regarding our location we would like to comment as follows: If you specify St. Stephen's Square, Kohlmarkt and Graben as „main street“ you are right: The distance from Das Tyrol to these areas is aproximately 1,7 km (1,056 miles) and 22 minutes walking. If you specify Ring Road (Burgring) as „main street“ like we do, the distance is 500 m (0,31 miles) and 7 minutes walking.

My team and I would be very happy to welcoming you back again to our Tyrol Hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards from Vienna,

Helena Ramsbacher & her Tyrol Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here with our family in June, 2014. We are a family of four with two teenagers and it was the perfect location. Lovely boutique hotel with great service, great location, great breakfasts and wonderful rooms. Short walking distance to most sights. Would stay here again when next we visit Vienna!

Room Tip: Would imagine all rooms are good since only 30 rooms here and the elevator is one of those lovely ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I spent three nights here and have only great things to say about it. Absolute nicest staff, a lovely, clean room, complementary breakfast, great shower pressure, free WIFI-just an ideal spot to spend a few days. I would gladly stay here if visiting Vienna again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel in Vienna. The location was terrific - a short walk to the Ring attractions. The rooms, although small, were very comfortable. We were especially impressed with the bathroom. The shower had great water pressure! Breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of breakfast foods. Eggs were cooked to order. The staff was exceptionally helpful with advice about tours, restaurants, etc. We arrived early (and tired) and were given coffee in the lobby. It helped revive us! Any future visit to Vienna will definite mean a second visit to Das Tyrol.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is on a main street, the rooms are very quiet. Our room faced the street and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel. While on a Munich Vienna trip. This hotel is of very high standard and very clean . This is a small boutique hotel with a personal touch, the rooms are very nice and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful in everyway. I also had the breakfast buffet with my stay and found it to be of very high quality and one of the best breafast I've had at any hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommed to anyone traveling to Vienna . Great hotel in a beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here July 2014. Initial hiccup with hotel assigning the wrong kind of room for my stay. This was fixed after the first night and I was moved to the balcony studio I reserved. The extra cost for the balcony studio is well worth it as the room is larger with a sofa bed and the balcony overlooks the shopping street for a good view and a good place from which to catch a night breeze. The corner location of the room also gives windows on two sizes with plenty of light.

The wellness area is small with only two loungers but on a hot summer stay, that was not really a factor as no one was using the sauna or steam room in this weather. The breakfast buffet was very good - large selection of cold cuts for such a small hotel, eggs to order and two servers and one cook making breakfast service very attentive and efficient. Internet access is good and I had no trouble with my iPad for casual web surfing, blackberry for e-mails or laptop for access to my office network.

Location is very convenient for museum quarter and Hofburg, right on a shopping street and a short 15 min walk to St. Stephens. After the initial mix up with rooms, service was excellent. The front counter person could not be more friendly and helpful. It is a small boutique hotel and therefore does not have the facilities of a large chain hotel or huge rooms but it is a very good boutique with a great location and good service and value and so I can certainly recommend it for a stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.