We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Save Saved
You added Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 370 hotels in Vienna
London,UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Superb location, fairly small but very comfortable rooms with exceptionally good beds and Nespresso machines. Really nice staff, helpful in every way. And all for the cost of a very mediocre chain hotel in say Paris. Will most certainly return if I am in Vienna again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    173
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
101
398
51
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Much nicer than I expected so was pleasantly surprised. Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed every one. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom luxuriously spacious . Nice touch was the "Nespresso" machine. Breakfast was a delight. Staff were charming.
Very well located.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The tastefully decorated room oozed comfort and beckoned my travel-weary body to relax. The staff was extremely accommodating, even printing an email for me that I needed for work back home. The breakfasts were good and the location is excellent in Vienna, on the shopping district street, and one block from the museum quarter. Could use more than one piece of chocolate on my pillow each day! :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in das Tyrol for seven nights, and enjoyed the comfortable ambience of the hotel. As others have already commented, the central position in the Mariahilfer Strasse makes any trip by foot or U-Bahn very simple, indeed the whole city is at your feet!
The staff at reception were always most helpful, and we did appreciate having a restaurant table booked for us on our first evening. Likewise the breakfast staff were always eager to cook us a hot dish, although there was so much to choose from that we never needed this option.
The artistic décor in the rooms, corridors and breakfast room make das Tyrol stand out from the large hotel chains, where each room is the same. I also like the lift, as I could imagine Harry Lime using it to avoid his enemies!
Our only sadness was in having to leave after a week and return home!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the Mariahilfer Strasse are large with balconies (apart from the first floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was lovely from the room, decor, breakfast to the helpful and kind personnel. We had a very quiet corner room, facing the back two small streets with NO noise. The breakfast was amazing with a great selection and even eggs cooked to order, if desired. The Room decor and amenities were perfect. I love having the Nepresso machine in the room. The public rooms and hallways were decorated in a whimsical, but tasteful fashion. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: When you reserve please designate NON smoking if you desire. the corner rooms and upper floors are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I love some hotel chains but I love boutique hotels even more. Das Tyrol is one of the best of the boutiques! Its location is spectacular right near the Museum Quarter, Kunst, Hofburg, shopping, etc., etc. The rooms are comfortable and filled with all basic amenities as well as original art. The breakfasts are substantial and served in a sun filled room that is also an art gallery filled with contemporary treasures. The lift/elevator has probably one of the oldest and most charming "cages" in all of Vienna. And the sweet staff surpasses the variety of treats left on the pillow each day. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. However, if you are looking to be "royalty" you might want to go to a less intimate establishment where they will take your bags and pamper you in a number of superficial ways. For me, my heart is at Das Tyrol, an engaging hotel filled with treasures and that includes Bethne, Catherine, the owner and everyone else! Thank you all for being nothing less than delightful!

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room but the windows are among the best made and cut down on noise. Single rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are so helpful and the rooms are decorated with such artistic thought and care. It is close to the centre of town without being in the bustle. It has a sauna and steam room and the most fantastic bathroom I have ever seen. The breakfast was excellent and can only highly recommend Das Tyrol. While we waited for our taxi to take us to the train station we were offered a complimentary glass of wine while we waited which was very nice. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: WE had a corner front room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Family Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.