We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol to your Saves list
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
London
Top Contributor
824 reviews 824 reviews
235 hotel reviews
Reviews in 286 cities Reviews in 286 cities
535 helpful votes 535 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Reception gave us a warm welcome and were very helpful in suggesting sights to see, giving us advice on booking tickets and giving us directions.

Location is wonderful, on one of the main shopping streets in Vienna, a five minute walk from the museums quartier and two underground stations and a short walk from lots of nice bars and restaurants and probably a 10-15 minute walk to the Hofburg, Albertina, Karlsplatz and the market, and Stephensdom. We had a gorgeous room on the 5th floor. It was a corner room and as a result we had a balcony and lots of windows which made the room really bright and airy. Throughout the hotel there are pieces of modern art including in all the rooms and corridors which gave the hotel a really cool feel to it.

The room was very big with high ceilings. Amazingly comfortable king size bed where I had probably the best night's sleep for a long time! Complimentary fruit and one of the most well stocked mini bars that I have seen. A small sofa and desk, free WiFi, air conditioning, great view of the street, TV with a huge amount of channels (mixture of English, French, Italian and German) including an English film channel and the usual news ones. Bathroom was lovely, fantastic, hot and powerful rainwater shower with hairdryer and lots of nice bathroom complimentaries. The room was spotlessly cleaned and each day we got a different little chocolate gift on our pillows. There was a big wardrobe with safe and plenty of hanfers which was useful - I find that many hotels only have 3-5 max. There is also a sauna and steamroom in the basement but we did not have time to use them unfortunately (I am also not sure if they are only open in the mornings or not). In the basement there are also lots of lockers that guests can use to leave their luggage in for example we used them when we checked out since our flight only left in the evening. The lockers are useful since you keep the key and you know that your bags are secure - much better than just leaving our luggage in a room that anyone could access which we have had to do in some hotels.

Breakfast was one of the best I have seen. Huge selection of cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, freshly brewed tea or coffee and a hot breakfast menu made to order with the usual, eggs, bacon and omlettes. Breakfast staff were all friendly and the breakfast room was stylishly decorated with modern art scattered around the place and cool designer crockery. There was also music playing while we ate breakfast which I liked.

The hotel was expensive but cheaper than a lot of other 4 star hotels. We had a fantastic and faultless stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — the fantastic room
  • Disliked — the lift could be a little bigger
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    194
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
125
483
62
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

The hotel was very clean and appeared to be only a few years old. While the rooms are small for US standards, they are pretty typical for europe. They had a very good breakfast available every morning which is included in the cost.

The hotel staff was always willing to make reservations for us at local restuarants and arrange transportation if needed. he location is only a short 10 minute walk to the center of the city, and only 5 minutes to the local metro.

We had 5 other couples meet us in Vienna, all of them booking at pretty much the same time but through different methods. Our friends from Europe that booked directly through the hotel ended up paying about 25% more than we did. I recommend shopping all the internet travel sites to find the best price.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We found this great boutique hotel after searching through Tripadvisor recommendations.
The hotel is very stylish and in a great location. We felt that it was very reasonably priced. Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive.
We booked directly with the hotel via the internet and our room was lovely, nicely furnished and very comfortable and quiet.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and more than we expected.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Just returned from spending 7 nights in Vienna at Das Tyrol. Very well-situated with close proximty to metro or good position to walk from. It is truly a gem and worthy of the small luxury brand. Room 40 is a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the main street....it is not a nosy street. the room has everything one could possibly want and is sparkling clean. Reception staff are very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast buffet, included in the price, is outstanding with everything from cucumbers, radishes, red peppers, all kinds of cheeses, cereals, many choices of bread (croissants are among the best ever), juices, cold meats, eggs or omelets any way you want them, sausages, etc. Breakfast staff is very personable and again the facility is clean, clean, clean!

Three restaurants to mention that hotel staff recommended: Grotta Azzurra: Italian, located within 3 blocks of hotel. WSaiter Heinz speaks very good English. Not a typical spaghetti, pizza restaurant, but high end, cooked to order dished such as saffron risotto with sea scallops, halibut with chorizo, etc. Best creme brulee!

Glacis Beisl: located within 3-4 blocks of hotel and serving traidiotnal austrian fare. Excellent local restauarant that serves weiner snitzel, goulash, wonderful mushroom ravioli, pork chops, traditional boiled beef, etc. Desserts are great.

La Boheme: Within walking distance on a side street. great daily special for lunch at Euro 8.50 for 3 courses. Some of the best mushroom ravioli with cream sauce ever......many traditional Austrian dishes.

Enjoy Vienna!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

I stayed there for a week, the location was excellent either to walk around the city center or to take the metro. The room was very clean, with nice view, free internet, good bed, bath tub, bathrobe, slippers, etc, etc. Everything was clean and working fine, it seems they are working hard to make everything impeccable. Breakfast was excellent, staff was very nice. If I had to make one comment I would just mention that is is not very convenient if you have a lot of luggages because there is no parking space for taxis to stop in front of the hotel and there is no bellboy to help you carrying your luggages.

Enjoy your stay !

  • Liked — Impeccable room and service
  • Disliked — No one to help carrying heavy luggages
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

You can not go wrong with this hotel! Everything about it was excellent and I have no complaints. The location is near the main shopping streets and you are easily within walking distance of all attractions and the easily navigable metro system. The decor was fresh and modern. The rooms were of adequate size and super clean. I loved that the hotel was designed to conserve energy, though it was a slight inconvenience when I first arrived and was not aware of the set-up. In order to turn on the lights or TV your room key must be deposited into a controller on the walk near the door. This turned out to be a lifesaver because you never needed to hunt down your key. Also if the window was open the thermostat would automatically shutdown. I loved this and wish I had it at my house! So smart! The one elevator was small, but easily accommodated an average person with luggage. I usually took the stairs to burn off the fantastic continental breakfast. Breakfast was located in the dining room and served by an incredibly nice woman. As soon as you entered the dining room, she would bring a fresh pot of coffee to your table. The menu consisted of fresh breads and pastries, which could be topped with meats, cheeses, and locally made jams (I prefer the Nutella). Fresh fruits and juices, yogurts, and cold cereals were also available. As if that was not enough variety you could also choose from a variety of hot cooked to order items and a variety of coffees! Viennese know coffee (and wine)! This is the place to stay if traveling to Vienna. I know I will be back soon...

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No complaints here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

I have just been staying at the Hotel Tyrol for three nights. It was a birthday gift to me. Since I have never been in Vienna before I was looking forward to enjoying the city.

I have stayed in many hotels in my life but this one was the best!!!! Definitly worth spending the money if you want to treat yourself.

The room was exceptionally nice. Very tasteful interior. The bed covers were so soft and cozy. Even my covers at home are not that nice! Flatscreen TV with Premiere (our HBO) Nice size bathroom. Spotless clean. Bathrobe... I uploaded some pictures for you to see for yourself.

In the evening I enjoyed the sauna at the basement.

All the people who worked there were very friendly. Especially Sabine at the front desk was always very kind and helpful and could answer every question, also made a reservation to a restaurant for me. Thank you again.

The breakfast was delicious. Everything you could possibly want to eat was there. Omlettes made to order, coffee specialties, homemade muesli, different kind of cheese and sausage, pastries, different juices, Kombucha, Perrier water. Nothing but the best quality. Ronnefeldt tea (I can always tell the high quality of a hotel when they offer the big bags of Ronnefeldt tea).

Location, location, location.
I can say that the location could not be better. Just a minute from Museum Quartier and close to all the other sights, Naschmarkt, Sezession, Hofburg etc... Even the U-Bahn is only 200m away. The great Cafe Sperl is just around the corner.

Really, and this sounds corny, there was not one little thing to complain about. The stay at Hotel Tyrol was fantastic!!!! I had such a great time. I am spoiled now.

  • Liked — The great service, room, breakfast
  • Disliked — Could not name one
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.