We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fabulous area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Save Saved
You added Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 369 hotels in Vienna
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in fabulous area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Vienna and we booked the Hotel Das Tyrol based on the reviews on trip advisor. The hotel is in a wonderful location - right next to the museum quarter - so everything you want to do in the city centre is within walking distance. The hotel itself is small (36 rooms) and tastefully decorated with original works of art which makes a nice change from large soulless hotel chains. Our room, although on the small size, was well-furnished and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was spacious with a powerful shower and decent sized bathtub and the hotel provided plentiful supplies of good quality toiletries. There was always a chocolate left on the pillow after the room had been serviced which was a nice touch. Given the location of the hotel we couldn't believe how quiet it was at night - we didn't hear a thing - either from inside or outside the hotel.

Antonella who organises the breakfast buffet is amazing and could teach some UK hotels a thing or two about how to run an efficient breakfast service. There was always plenty of choice of fresh fruit, fruit juices cakes, cereal, yoghurts, cold meats, fish and cheese and you could even have a glass of prosecco if you felt up to it! The hotel also offered freshly prepared eggs and omelettes if you wanted something hot.

I would definitely recommend the Hotel Das Tyrol. The staff were always extremely helpful and the service we got from reception on arrival and departure was of the highest standard. If we visit Vienna again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    173
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
100
396
51
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel and it was a highlight of a four-week trip to Europe. The hotel is located in the centre of town, just outside the Ring and is conveniently located for shoppers, museum-goers, and opera and symphony fans. The hotel is spotless and the service is exceptional. A full breakfast is included in the room rate and it is served in a bright dining room. There is a sauna and steam bath spa in the lower level of the hotel and hotel staff made the spa available for us the evening of the day we checked out so we could freshen after a day of touring, before we left for a night train journey from Vienna. We were delighted with his small touch which made all the difference as we embarked on the final 4-day leg of our travels. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite situated at the front of the hotel. Our room was larger than the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor, it was spacious and had a small balcony that we used for coffee in the mornings before heading down to breakfast (a terrific buffet - wait service could be a bit desultory). The young woman who worked the front desk most of the time we were there and checked us in and out was about the best hotel clerk I've ever encountered. Good English, seemed genuinely enthusiastic about helping us with everything, including directions around Vienna, how use the transit system, and booking us for the sauna. The sauna is very nice, but note: it's private - up to a point. There are small windows in through the fishtank from the public staircase. So, depending on your modesty you may want that swimsuit after all! That said, a sauna and steam after a lot of walking around Vienna felt VERY nice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta , georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel in a quiet location by the Museum Quarter. Free breakfast was a plus. Only reason to rate it a little lower was that it did not have a bar at the hotel. Most that we have stayed at have converted the breakfast area to small bars at night. Also, the bed was hard and we had to have them add an additional mattress padding. They were very responsive to all of our requests. They were very helpful on selecting tours and dining areas. Extremely friendly staff throughout the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We are just returning from a three week vacation through Germany, Austria, Czech Republic and Budapest. All the places we stayed were terrific but the Das Tyrol stood out as the best. Close to the sights, close to public transportation, close to shopping and close to good restaurants. What else is needed? Rooms are very comfortable and the owner keeps a close eye on the operation. Service is the best. Breakfast is as good as you will find (I think we gained a couple pounds). Love the typical European tiny glass elevator. The hotel is full of wonderful art. Only improvement we could think of would be to have an ironing board available. Next time we will just bring our travel iron.

Room Tip: Hard to say... don't know what the other rooms were like but we stayed on the 4th floor and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the the start of our stay to the end of our stay; Das Tyrol was an excellent experience! Outstanding staff and very friendly; not to mention great location. The rooms are spacious, and the included full breakfast was a great surprise!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location: near shops, restaurants, and museums. Rooms are very nice & clean, and big for European standard. Breakfast is superb! Friendly & helpful staff. Price is affordable & very reasonable for the comfort & service you get.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Family Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.