We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
You added Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol to your Saves list
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

I stayed there for a week, the location was excellent either to walk around the city center or to take the metro. The room was very clean, with nice view, free internet, good bed, bath tub, bathrobe, slippers, etc, etc. Everything was clean and working fine, it seems they are working hard to make everything impeccable. Breakfast was excellent, staff was very nice. If I had to make one comment I would just mention that is is not very convenient if you have a lot of luggages because there is no parking space for taxis to stop in front of the hotel and there is no bellboy to help you carrying your luggages.

Enjoy your stay !

  • Liked — Impeccable room and service
  • Disliked — No one to help carrying heavy luggages
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

You can not go wrong with this hotel! Everything about it was excellent and I have no complaints. The location is near the main shopping streets and you are easily within walking distance of all attractions and the easily navigable metro system. The decor was fresh and modern. The rooms were of adequate size and super clean. I loved that the hotel was designed to conserve energy, though it was a slight inconvenience when I first arrived and was not aware of the set-up. In order to turn on the lights or TV your room key must be deposited into a controller on the walk near the door. This turned out to be a lifesaver because you never needed to hunt down your key. Also if the window was open the thermostat would automatically shutdown. I loved this and wish I had it at my house! So smart! The one elevator was small, but easily accommodated an average person with luggage. I usually took the stairs to burn off the fantastic continental breakfast. Breakfast was located in the dining room and served by an incredibly nice woman. As soon as you entered the dining room, she would bring a fresh pot of coffee to your table. The menu consisted of fresh breads and pastries, which could be topped with meats, cheeses, and locally made jams (I prefer the Nutella). Fresh fruits and juices, yogurts, and cold cereals were also available. As if that was not enough variety you could also choose from a variety of hot cooked to order items and a variety of coffees! Viennese know coffee (and wine)! This is the place to stay if traveling to Vienna. I know I will be back soon...

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — No complaints here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

I have just been staying at the Hotel Tyrol for three nights. It was a birthday gift to me. Since I have never been in Vienna before I was looking forward to enjoying the city.

I have stayed in many hotels in my life but this one was the best!!!! Definitly worth spending the money if you want to treat yourself.

The room was exceptionally nice. Very tasteful interior. The bed covers were so soft and cozy. Even my covers at home are not that nice! Flatscreen TV with Premiere (our HBO) Nice size bathroom. Spotless clean. Bathrobe... I uploaded some pictures for you to see for yourself.

In the evening I enjoyed the sauna at the basement.

All the people who worked there were very friendly. Especially Sabine at the front desk was always very kind and helpful and could answer every question, also made a reservation to a restaurant for me. Thank you again.

The breakfast was delicious. Everything you could possibly want to eat was there. Omlettes made to order, coffee specialties, homemade muesli, different kind of cheese and sausage, pastries, different juices, Kombucha, Perrier water. Nothing but the best quality. Ronnefeldt tea (I can always tell the high quality of a hotel when they offer the big bags of Ronnefeldt tea).

Location, location, location.
I can say that the location could not be better. Just a minute from Museum Quartier and close to all the other sights, Naschmarkt, Sezession, Hofburg etc... Even the U-Bahn is only 200m away. The great Cafe Sperl is just around the corner.

Really, and this sounds corny, there was not one little thing to complain about. The stay at Hotel Tyrol was fantastic!!!! I had such a great time. I am spoiled now.

  • Liked — The great service, room, breakfast
  • Disliked — Could not name one
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

I spent three nights at the Das Tyrol in early January on a three-country trek (Czech Republic, Austra, Germany). I had both a great and terrible experience at the Das Tyrol, which is why I am rating it above average; I was planning to rate it at excellent.

First, the good:

-The rooms, while small, are very clean and well-equipped. There's a nicely stocked mini bar (in case you want a drink), a very comfortable bed, and a nice, clean bathroom. In the bathroom there was a heated towel rack which was a nice touch - who doesn't love warm towels? - but which unfortunately made the bathroom exceedingly hot.

-The breakfast buffet, which was included in our room rate, was out of this world! Wow! Such a great selection of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, and then you have the opportunity to order eggs, omlettes, bacon, etc - all at no charge! It definitely is a plus!

-Location, location, location!!! Das Tyrol is no more than 500 or so feet from the Museumquartier and the mass transit stop at Museumquartier, which means you have easy, relatively direct access to anywhere in greater Vienna. You do have to ride one stop to Karlsplatz to make most transfers, but it is still easy and convenient to get just about anywhere in Vienna. It also is walking distance to Hofburg Palace and Staatsoper (especially in nice, warm weather)!

-Local restaurants. There are fabulous restaurants right near the Das Tyrol - ask the front desk staff for recommendations. We ate at a GREAT Italian bar / lounge that was literally just 200 steps from the entrance, and an amazing Viennese restaurant that was just a few blocks away.

The bad:

-We had one particular incident that really wrecked my trip to Vienna. On the last night, we had tickets to see a performance at Staatsoper and I sent my clothes in for ironing. I was told by the morning receptionist that the clothes would be back in plenty of time for the show; they weren't, and we ended up being 25 minutes late to our performance. I was really upset at the time, especially because the evening receptionist didn't do much to help (i.e. we had to suggest we rebook a taxi, we had to ask her to call the Opera and see if they would still give us our tickets since we don't speak German, and then she had left the front desk when our clothes arrived and the guy refused to give them to us until he checked them in with the receptionist!). It really had me upset. Then, the next day when I went to check out, I was hit with the tab for the ironing ($70+ U.S.!). I will note that I e-mailed the hotel and they refunded the cost of the ironing and shipped me a Viennese cake to apologize - the gesture was much appreciated and really all they could do after the fact. And, once we got to the Opera House, we had a lovely time, but I spent a better part of an hour crying and hysterical in my room because I had spent a small fortune on tickets and everything had fallen apart. I would have appreciated the evening receptionist doing more to try to appease me at the time, but perhaps they handle thigns differently in Europe. I guess the lesson to be learned there is - turn your clothes in for dry cleaning / pressing at least a day before you need them back!

With the exception of that one large problem, the Das Tyrol was a wonderful choice. I was really pleased with the location and absolutely raved to everyone about the breakfast, which was sensational. I'd absolutely recommend this hotel to individuals looking for a good location and a nice stay - just plan further in advance then I did to spare yourself the potential problem I encountered!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

If you book this hotel - don't assume that you will be staying here. Booked a 3-night stay starting from Dec. 31 four months in advance. When we arrived we were told (by the front desk clerk while he was having lunch) they were overbooked (we booked on their own website) . No one called to let us know in advance even though they had our contact information and they had sent us a second confirmation mid December.
They simply said they had arrange for us to stay at a nearby hotel for the night and to walk there (no apologies, no offer for help or call a taxi). They asked us to come back in the morning for the breakfast (breakfast was not included in the other hotel...on January first) and promised there would be a room the next night
The hotel that we were transfered to was very nice but less stars than this one. I was very disappointed in this service and I am still waiting on Tyrol to contact me regarding this.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines_Weissensteiner, Sales & Marketing Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
Google Translation
We are awfully sorry about the problems during this stay in Vienna last New Year Eve and the overbooking we had in our hotel. We had this overbooking because of urgent tecnical problems in two of our guest rooms and so we were not able to communicate this to Ambriole before the arrival at the reception. Therefore we arranged an adeguate hotel room nearby which is by the way international custom in this situation. We did offer to call a taxi and we did apologize for the inconveniences of this translocation, and: It is not true, that we arranged a room in a 3 star hotel. We selected a 4 star hotel in adequate location. And it is not true that we did not try to contact Ambriole: Infact we sent 3 mailmessages within the tripadvisor-mail-system and did not get any answer. We still try to get in contact with Ambriole to find a way of compensation for the anger and inconveniences caused by this matter and hope to clear this disagreeable situation. The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

I was very pleased with this hotel, not knowing exactly what to expect from a small sized boutique hotel in Vienna. My room was ample with a very comfortable down bed. The bathroom was quite large with all modern fixtures and amenities. The room itself was very quiet with a beautiful TV and quaint desk and sitting area.

The room had some funky modern art, and there was a lot of different artists and styles represented throughout the hotel. Some quite intriguing, some bordering on commercial kitsch.

The hotel was outfitted beautifully for the Holidays with trees and decorations in the lobby, on the staircases, and in the breakfast area.

The location is fantastic, as it sits on the Mariahilfestrasse just doors away from the Museum Quartier and easy walking distance to the Ringstrasse, a number of major museums, and the Hofburg Palace.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding, featuring a great selection of pastries, Austrian breaks, cold cuts, cheeses and a great fruit salad.

The service on the whole was outstanding. However, the main receptionist I found to be curt and unfriendly, while all of his colleagues were exceptionally friendly and helfpul.

The only downsides to the hotel are that the elevator is super small and the automatic window shutters are quite noisy.

I did not take advantage of the spa offerings, which I believe make this facility even more of a bargain.

  • Liked — locaiton
  • Disliked — main receptionist
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

We read all the reviews on trip advisor and decided to book this one from the review. We were not disapointed we loved it there. The staff were helpful the breakfast was beautiful. The rooms were lovely as well. When we were there they were renovating, we didn't hear any noise during our stay but they did have a complementry bottle of wine and cake waiting for us to apologies for any inconvience. We had a great time here and would definently recomment it!!

  • Liked — The Rooms and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.