We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all: Small Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol to your Saves list
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The name says it all: Small Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent two nights in Vienna, celebrating our 10 year anniversary (and letting the Hotel know in advance), we were greeted and congratulated by a very gentle night staff member who gave us an upgrade to a corner room. We had a fruit basket and bottle of wine waiting for us in the room.
The hotel is full of works of art, hanging in every wall, including your room, which make it a great experience! They have an old but fully restored elevator that’s an experience by itself. Breakfast is wonderful with many options including a-la-carte eggs & crepes. There's a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. Toiletries are good quality and the room is very spacious.
The hotel is located in great area, on a street with lots of shops, metro stations, services, just in front of the Museumquartier and with a very short walking distance to the opera. The best place to go for dinner is the tourist-free VIENNA NASCHMARKT, which is two blocks away.
I would not consider any other hotel in Vienna, my experience was just wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    181
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
115
449
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came to Vienna to briefly renew acquaintance with this lovely city on our way to a flight home.
Our too brief one night stay was made special by the accommodation in this hotel. The staff in reception were all very friendly and informative and nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom and bathroom were very well appointed and thoroughly cleaned. The breakfast room was small but with a pleasant atmosphere, and the breakfast set us up well for a long day leading to a late flight. The location is ideal - two minutes down the road is the Museum Quarter and up the road many shops. We had a memorable dinner in a nearby Austrian restaurant mainly frequented by locals which was recommended to us by the receptionist. We wanted to rest and have a shower before going to the airport and were advised to book the spa for two hours. So, relaxed and cleansed we rather reluctantly left to face a long haul flight back home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel. Found it on Trip advisor and the hotel were as beautiful in person as it was online. Rooms were nice, not large, but do-able for 1 or 2 people. My sister was in the adjoining room, and her room was configured differenly and was a bit smaller. Loved the location, staff could not have been any nicer, breakfast was lovely and the wait staff treated you like family. Walkable to almost anywhere and the hop-on-hop-off bus is a must. It brought you to sights and places that were just not walkable. Overall, great experience and vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

+ Good location (15 minute walk to the city center and 3 minute walk to the metro station)
+ Lovely spacious room (we had standard)
+ Coffee machine in the room
+ Friendly staff
+ Lot of pleasant things

- Poorer breakfast compared to larger hotels
- Dark room (it is not enough enlightened)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at Das Tyrol was wonderful ! This hotel is a gem!
Our room ( junior suite) was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was very well appointed and the heated towel racks were a nice touch Housekeeping in addition to keeping our room spotless, anticipated needs ( eg spare box of kleenex when there was a possibility of running out). A huge plus was there were lots of plugs to recharge "stuff". Internet access was straight forward and the WiFi was very robust.
The location is great, easy waling distance to the major attractions, the metro is close and lots of shopping and restaurants near by.
Breakfast was excellent with a great variety of hot and cold for any taste.
The staff, particularly the front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful.
We chose this hotel partly because of the reviews on this site. We wondered if it was a little too good to be true. In this case not at all. It is everything everyone says it is.
Great value, great experience !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a thoroughly enjoyable four nights in this small personal hotel, at a good location not far from the city centre. We had excellent instructions by Bettina on how to reach the hotel via train, having arrived from Ljubljana, and this was easy. On our return to the station, we walked the distance and it took about 20 minutes, so was also quite easy.
We were greeted by David, a very pleasant young man who also gave us recommendations on nearby restaurants. Our room was on the Donald Duck floor, the artwork was great here. Our room was on the corner so we had sun coming in from two angles. The room was large with a very good sized bathroom, our own Nespresso machine and two very comfortable leather chairs, if you had time to sit....We were able to enjoy some time in the spa and sauna area which has to be seen to be believed, gold, red and black coloured tiles, together with a small aquarium. The whole hotel has been very professionally decorated, I loved the quirky glassware in the breakfast room and on the stairs. Our breakfasts, well what else would you expect in this super hotel, perfect food, fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads etc etc. and such obliging staff and of course Prosecco, which we enjoyed on our last morning. Bettina organised concert tickets for us at Musikverein one evening which we also enjoyed. We also spent one day travelling to Melk Abbey and a river cruise up the River Danube. This was a very long day but the Abbey was fantastic, both inside and outside. We had a good guide, Barbara who shared her enthusiasm for this place with us, particularly the library. Our meals at Boheme and Glacis Beisl were excellent.
Thanks Bettina and David.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and I cannot speak better of it. Great location, best service I have ever had at a hotel, lovely rooms, excellent spa facility, not the mention the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol

Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 15, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our exclusive boutique and art hotel in the heart of Vienna!Make yourself right at home, enjoy the lavish amenities in our rooms and the excellent service of our staff. Fine design combined with contemporary modern art creates a charming blend of tradition and modernity. We renovated our hotel during the summer of 2009: guest rooms, the breakfast lounge and wellness center, with its private sauna, steam bath and light-therapy shower, now exude a brand-new radiance for your delectation!Our hotel is in Vienna, in an outstanding, central location on the longest shopping street in the entire city, the Mariahilfer Strasse! Our always-helpful and very friendly service staff, along with that famous Viennese charm, guarantee that you will be captivated by our establishment. It is our foremost goal to make you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Tyrol Small Luxury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.